We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An adequate cheaper alternative”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lugogo Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lugogo Sun
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An adequate cheaper alternative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

If you are not looking for a modern state of the art hotel the Lugogo Sun is adequate. My room was dated, but clean and comfortable. Try to get a room away from the reception area and the lift which is noisy especially on a Wednesday evening (party night). All in all you get what you pay for and it is an affordable alternative.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    90
    112
    30
    8
See reviews for
36
85
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Old, best before dated I asume was pased in around 1970. Mug found in the hallway, curtains dirty and destroyed, landry deliverd 2 hours later than promised. One lift, used the stairs since it allway was a long que. I simply say, avoide.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clas-Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ezulwini hotels

UK
Level Contributor
412 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a large bedroom with balcony overlooking the pool. Very dated - had a feel of hotel rooms in the 1970s. We were away from the lift so had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed.

Dinner was buffet style in a very large dining room and was ok, Very busy - though everything was replenished quickly. Lots of fresh fruit for breakfast - good and substantial.

It was raining when we arrived and continued through the morning of the next day so we were not able to use the pool or outdoor facilities.Because of this the bar was very crowded and noisey and there is nowhere else to go except for reception if you want somewhere quiet to sit after dinner.

An average overnight stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool - away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Visiting Swaziland may make this hotel Hobson's choice, that is there is no alternative. The room was pleasantly furnished but suffered from a wheezy and inadequate air conditioning unit, so was far too hot. The buffet dinner was akin to a scrum with people everywhere and a decent selection of well cooked food if you could get to it. The service from the waiting staff was abysmal, tardy and illogical, if you order two glasses of wine why wait 25 minutes and see one arrive followed by the other 15 minutes later? Carrying more than one thing at a time seemed difficult and the glaring need is for training. The surroundings were pretty and the pool clean and inviting. The staff were smiling and pleasant but unprofessional. Cleanliness was fine and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We only stayed here one night whilst visiting beautiful Swaziland.

As previously mentioned in reviews the hotel is a bit dated but it has all the usual facilities in the room. The food was varied and good. The staff were very pleasant, especially when I went up to the connecting hotel in the evening to meet friends, who were not there, a member of staff noticed I was looking anxious and went out of his way to try and find my friends and then waited with me for the shuttle to take me back to Lugogo Sun Hotel which was very kind. The grounds are beautiful. The combination of the use of both hotels makes this place a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
413 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is strangely configured, with a small elevator servicing a wide area of the building. It is slow and so noisy that I had to request a room not adjacent to it. The entire room shook when the elevator moved. The rooms were reminiscent of strip hotels in the 1960's in the USA, After all, this is a small and poor country, so you wouldn't expect to find really fine hotels. This one serves it's purpose as a base to explore or for some, a resort/golf excursion. The meals are buffet style, noting especially noteworthy, either for the breakfast or evening meal. Of special note is the difficulty in getting coffee at the table. It is not self serve, and the wait person has to service a large number of people. Forget getting a refill! The staff were surly, not like the friendly and helpful staff in hotels in other south east Africa countries, especially South Africa. Perhaps it is a national characteristic to not look at you, and to ignore you as a nuisance, I don't know but that was what we experienced. That also seemed like the US East Coast in the 60's. Anyway, this is a decent and safe place to stay in transit through the kingdom, but not any destination I would pick.

Room Tip: As far from the elevator shaft as you can get, and not facing the parking lot on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel and really liked it...the location as stated by others was beautiful...it is an old hotel, somewhat like a Holiday Inn in the states, but everything was very clean, the rooms and the grounds; had no problems with anyone either at the front desk, the dining room, etc. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good and varied. Went to the "sister" hotel the Royal Swazi located about 30 minutes walking distance if you desire to walk; there's a free shuttle every 1/2 hour in-between the hotels. There is a casino for those who like it and a very nice pool with bar outside. I expected less of this hotel per the reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
2.3 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
10.6 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
0.8 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugogo Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugogo Sun

Property: Lugogo Sun
Address: Old Mbabane/Manzini Main Road | Ezulwini Valley, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugogo Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits visitors to the Lugogo Sun Hotel in Swaziland. Breakfast and dinner is served daily with a buffet lunch every Sunday, complete with live entertainment. For the kids, there’s Kamp Kwena - an adventure of excitement and entertainment. There’s a TV room, jungle gym, sandpit, putt-putt course, tree house and our specially trained staff will take care of the kids while mom and dad embark on their own voyage of Lugogo Sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugogo Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugogo Sun Hotel Ezulwini
Lugogo Sun Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing