We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross”
Review of Lugogo Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugogo Sun
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel smells old, mildewed, and musty. We had a small cockroach crawling under the TV set and a large cockroach just outside our door. There were ants on the toilet seat in the morning. The elevator creaked like it might not make it. All furnishings looked like they were from the 1970s. The two positives were a friendly staff and a large buffet at dinner and breakfast. However, with all the insects and "oldness" I'm not sure how clean the kitchen could have been

Room Tip: Just do not stay here...they need to tear this hotel down and start over
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onconrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    97
    121
    32
    9
See reviews for
39
90
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our baby for a week. The staff is extremely friendly and polite. The rooms are a bit run-down and you can hear EVERYTHING going on outside. You can hear people talking outside late at night and guys doing renovations in the morning. You are not allowed to bring your baby into the bar/restaurant either, which is extremely inconvenient because the othe restaurant is not always open. I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else if you have young children.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've stayed here twice now, both times for business, and up to 2 weeks. It is a comfortable place, I've always had a nice room, with good daily service. Breakfast is a huge buffet and its well done, though when large tour groups come through it can be pretty packed. There is a nice pool and the staff are always friendly. My biggest complaint would be the internet, which you have to buy by the minute and its a hassle. Otherwise, I've always had a comfortable stay and been treated very well by staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here while on a tour of South Africa.

There seemed a bit luck if you got a good room. The room I stayed in was quite nice and may have been renovated with a good shower and nice fittings.

Breakfast was also quite good also had a buffet dinner here was fine. My sister’s room was next to the elevator and she had to change rooms because of the constant banging noise. The replacement room had cigarette smoke but this seemed to dissipate a little after leaving the air conditioning on.

WIFI is not free which is a major problem for me – internet should be free in this day and age!!!

They have a free shuttle to the nearby casino if that is your thing.

Obvious the tour company get a great rate for this hotel, but I would have difficulty paying the rack rate (about US$190pn) for what you get.

Room Tip: Check the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City MD
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was an old Holiday Inn and needed some renovation, especially the bathrooms. Beds were comfortable and it was clean. Breakfasts were good and there was a great dinner buffet. The elevator is slow and overall there is a worn feeling here. You can walk (uphill) or take the free shuttle to their sister property, the Royal Swazi. That property is posher with restaurants and a casino.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived at the Lugogo Sun late afternoon - just in time to see the sun go down. The Lugogo Sun is situated in the prime Ezulwini valley, but the hotel is in desperate need of an overhaul. The foyer is grand, but when you get to the rooms, they are not well maintained - fortunately we did not have any problems, but some of our group did. I ventured out to the swimming pool, but it was not very clean. Service was pleasant but slow, we spent considerable time checking in - probably there were too many in our group. The hotel is adjacent to a golf links, but I did not see anyone playing on the Course. Despite its run down condition, Lugogo Sun does manage to have its house full. I guess there are not too many hotels in this area. Swaziland is a scenic country, worth a visit, but I would not recommend that one stay in Lugogo Sun, unless you have no option.

Room Tip: We choose a room overlooking the swimming pool -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is in desperate need of a renovation - it is looking very tired and the elevator complained on every trip up or down! The first thing I noticed was that my room smelled of a combination musty plus cockroach-spray.

The reservation was made by my business partner who provided his credit card number and he asked that the amount be debited but it wasn't so I, and my colleague, had to pay for our three nights - no big deal but it shows a slack attitude.

I ordered two bottles of mineral water from the bar at lunchtime and I signed the tab. Just before 23h00 the barman phones me to say that he wants to come up to my room to collect the R30 for the 2 bottles of water!!!! I was not impressed as he woke me up with this very strange request so I told him to get lost. I did tell the duty manger about this suspicious behavior but he didn't seem surprised.

The fruit at breakfast was very good and that's the only good thing I can say about this hotel.

I also stayed at the Royal Villas, across the road from the Lugogo and Royal Swazi Spa - MUCH BETTER! Great food, free internet, very nice big rooms, all modern - rather stay at the Royal Villas is my suggestion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ezulwini hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
0.3 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
271 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
712 reviews
10.6 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugogo Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugogo Sun

Property: Lugogo Sun
Address: Old Mbabane/Manzini Main Road | Ezulwini Valley, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugogo Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits visitors to the Lugogo Sun Hotel in Swaziland. Breakfast and dinner is served daily with a buffet lunch every Sunday, complete with live entertainment. For the kids, there’s Kamp Kwena - an adventure of excitement and entertainment. There’s a TV room, jungle gym, sandpit, putt-putt course, tree house and our specially trained staff will take care of the kids while mom and dad embark on their own voyage of Lugogo Sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugogo Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugogo Sun Hotel Ezulwini
Lugogo Sun Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing