We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”
Review of Lugogo Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lugogo Sun
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The only saving grace of the hotel was the food- there were a varied assortments ( local and western) and pretty sumptuous given it was a buffet style for both dinner and breakfast . From there , everything else was underwhelming . The hotel looks like it was meant for the 80's kitsch era , the bathroom and inappropriate shower screen caused a mini flooding on the bathoom floor and there was no safe in the room . although you do need to pay for internet( 30 rand for half hour) , the speed is very slow so one may not want to bother There is a nearby market area circa 10mins walk from the hotel to buy local arts and crafts but be prepared to bargain hard( at least half ) as prices very inflated

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renee080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Big rooms and very comfortable beds. Good food in the Pub although a bit noisy. Nice place to people watch right off the lobby. Good breakfast buffet. Not much local atmosphere but lovely setting next to the golf course.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool area have a lovely view looking towards the hills of Swaziland. Might be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was pretty regular as far as appearance, but the staff is what makes this hotel worth it. The staff was very nice & explained things well & were timely. The breakfast buffet was just ok. Not much of a selection while i was there. The pub was our best option I believe. The casino buffet did not look appetizing. The free shuttle to the casino was a plus, although we didn't stay long. Everyone at the hotel was very nice & made our trip worth it. We even took pics with a worker because he was so sociable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 619miamiluv662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed few nights while attending a convention at the nearby Royal Swazi spa. We were out most of the day only to return in the evenings for much needed sleep, which was quite restful in a calm environment.
The hotel is modern with basic facilities and quality buffet meals in the only restaurant.
Internet facility came at a somewhat steep purchase-price.
Would definitely stay again when next here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Lugogo Sun with a tour group and found it to be very comfortable. It's a modern western-type hotel. Our guide suggested that we take the free shuttle to the casino for our dinner, and we had a great meal at the restaurant there. The casino also has an excellent buffet. We enjoyd our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for four nights & were happy on all fronts - the hotel does cater for tour groups & was busy at the weekend but what impressed us the most was the calm & professional manner that was clear from all areas of service - the room was spacious with two double beds, an excellent air-con unit & a spotless bathroom with a very powerful shower & plenty of hot water & fluffy white towels - the bedding although not new was obviously clean & on passing other rooms could see that new bedding was being brought in on a rolling programme - the only suggestion was that the pillows could be better?! - breakfast & dinner are buffet style but felt they represented good value for money - even when busy the staff worked as a 'well-oiled' machine - dishes were cleared & refilled, omelettes & other egg dishes at breakfast & stir fries at dinner were produced efficiently to order & the atmosphere at both meals was pleasant & relaxed - choice at both breakfast & dinner was wide with both European & African dishes available to tempt us - the pool & bar area was welcoming - no there wasn't a hotel directory & the lift was slow BUT did not detract from a good stay - will definitely come back when next in Swaziland in a few weeks time ...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were shown to our ok room and looked for a service and facility directory. After not finding one, we enquired at reception and were told that the hotel does not have them and we should make a phone call for any enquiries – enough said!

Things got worse. The reception told us that there was only one restaurant and the only option was a relatively expensive buffet dinner. There is a king in Swaziland and it certainly is not the consumer! As we were not hungry, we went to the bar where we found we could order a reasonable toasted sandwich.

As others have commented, lots of tour buses and groups and an inadequate lift service. Glad we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
0.3 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
764 reviews
2.4 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
93 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
349 reviews
10.6 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugogo Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugogo Sun

Address: Old Mbabane/Manzini Main Road | Ezulwini Valley, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range: $81 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugogo Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits visitors to the Lugogo Sun Hotel in Swaziland. Breakfast and dinner is served daily with a buffet lunch every Sunday, complete with live entertainment. For the kids, there’s Kamp Kwena - an adventure of excitement and entertainment. There’s a TV room, jungle gym, sandpit, putt-putt course, tree house and our specially trained staff will take care of the kids while mom and dad embark on their own voyage of Lugogo Sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugogo Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugogo Sun Hotel Ezulwini
Lugogo Sun Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing