We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "ok" place”
Review of Lugogo Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugogo Sun
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An "ok" place”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This place was....ok. I don't believe there are too many luxury options for hotels in this area, and this hotel was....livable. For one night. The pool was nice, and everything else about the hotel was average, including the service, food and location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Lugogo Sun, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Dragonlady 15

Thank you for completing your review of the Lugogo Sun, following your recent stay at the Hotel.
We appreciate the feedback that you have provided.
It is the intention of Sun International to refurbish the Hotel in the near future.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back once again in the not too distant future.

Yours' faithfully

Lance Rossouw
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    95
    120
    32
    9
See reviews for
38
90
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a group. The hotel is very beat up and not updated place. The pool was the best part, but it is very shallow. It has lovely grounds and is part of the very nice Royal Swazi Hotel and grounds. We ate there and enjoyed the casino rather than in the Sun. Breakfast was good and we left with no problem. Beds were horrible and hard, but room was quiet. Bath was really outdated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Lugogo Sun, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Maggie MD

Thank you for your recent review of the Lugogo Sun, following your stay there.
We appreciate your feedback, and frank comments pertaining to the Hotel.

The Hotel should be refurbished in the near future. We hope that you will visit us once again in order that your impressions become more positive than your initial stay.

Yours Faithfully

Lance Rossouw
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ezulwini hotels

Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

++ Nice looking room
++ Shower and bathtub
++ Thermostat is easy to use
++ Nice tropical and mountain view from room
++ Has outlet that will take several international plugs
++ Has free outlets
++ Plenty of pillows
++ An international (European) electrical outlet at desk
++ Shuttle to and from other two buildings
00 tropical art on wall, parrots
00 small television
00 casino at upper hotel
-- No clock
-- No microwave
-- No refrigerator
-- Television selection bad by US standards
-- No way to find what stations TV has
-- No outlet convenient for CPAP
-- No washcloths
-- No room safe

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Hi,

Nice hotel, confortable bedroom, beautiful big swimming pool.
Not far from Mbabane;, and people were very friendly.
The food is correct, specially for the breakfast ...
No free internet connection :(
Nice for a familly trip ... Casino is close to this hotel.
Will go back there next year.

thx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel is fine for one night. Nice pool, shops and dinner outside at the sister hotel. Main problem for us is that everyone kept insisting that we take the shuttle and not walk anywhere.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here on our cross over from Kruger Park to Zululand. When we got the hotel we noticed that we we're the only ones who stayed here for that purpose. The hotel is mainly visited by large groups on tour buses, just like us ;-).

Although the hotel is quite big, it still was a little crowded. The hotel rooms were nice, spacious and clean. We did have a room with views on the parking lot, so I would recommend asking for a room with views on the swimming pool. We didn't use the swimming pool, but it seemed nice.

The dinner buffet was very extensive. The had all sorts of meat, a wok with a wide variety of sauces and a very wide variety of desserts. It did get a little crowed, but the staff kept refilling so no one would miss out on anything.

The breakfast buffet was also very nice providing a lot of choices.

As we left there were 3 buses full or tour groups waiting to leave in front of the hotel. Just to give you an idea on how many tour groups were there on that day. The staff handled the groups perfectly and the luggage as well. You could see the were used to having them.

All in all a good stay, maybe not so suitable for couples travelling alone. Then you might want to try their sister hotel that's more luxurious and only a 10 minute drive away.

Room Tip: We had a room with views on the parking lot. You might want to ask for a room with views on the swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Quite comfortable hotel built in the typical 60s architectural style. The place gets swamped by the tour groups on their shortcut trips across Swaziland.

There is a reasonably-sized swimming pool and well provided shop with good quality souvenirs and T-shirts. Lifts (the building is two storey high) are claustrophobic and slow. Checking out was quite swift.

The restaurant gets very busy for dinners and it is advisable to book in advance – we saw people being turned away. The dinners buffet choice was very extensive and tasty although rather pricey at 300 RAZ. There is a bit of pushing and shoving at both breakfast and dinner due to crowded space.

We went for the evening drinks to the sister establishment The Royal Swazi (10 minutes walk uphill or take a shuttle running every 15 minutes) to escape the crowds and appreciate the opulent surroundings of that splendid establishment.

Room Tip: Our room 234 overlooked the car park so perhaps avoid the even numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
0.3 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
270 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
695 reviews
10.6 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
4.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugogo Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugogo Sun

Property: Lugogo Sun
Address: Old Mbabane/Manzini Main Road | Ezulwini Valley, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugogo Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits visitors to the Lugogo Sun Hotel in Swaziland. Breakfast and dinner is served daily with a buffet lunch every Sunday, complete with live entertainment. For the kids, there’s Kamp Kwena - an adventure of excitement and entertainment. There’s a TV room, jungle gym, sandpit, putt-putt course, tree house and our specially trained staff will take care of the kids while mom and dad embark on their own voyage of Lugogo Sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugogo Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugogo Sun Hotel Ezulwini
Lugogo Sun Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing