We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected comfort in the middle of....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a government owned property. The rooms are very nice. After a week of travel it was great to have a bath tub in the bathroom. The toiletries are for Europe, the towels are nice, bed comfortable. All rooms have a nice balcony overlooking a well groomed lawn. There is a nice restaurant on the first floor and a bar. The menu is European and mixed local. We ordered a pizza (very similar to any US chain ) and vegetarian curry. It was well prepared and tasty. John, the bar tender, was very courteous. If you like white, try local Polkadraai. At $4.50 you get a nice Chenin Blanc from Stellenbosch. The dinner came to $22 for 2, including wine. Internet is free at the bar and restaurant. Make sure to pick up the access code at the bar. There is a gym across the street and a small shopping mall. You can pick up water at the grocery store-$.69 for a 2 l. They have also salad bar and some hot food ( did not look good).

Room Tip: 208 was good. A king bed if you need a room with one bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubu044, Manager at Happy Valley Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you very much for the positive response, we at Happy Valley are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as a guest in our hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

and maybe casino, then this hotel might work for you. First of all the breakfast buffet is very bad. I couldn't eat the food everything seems recycled. Also my room carpet was never vacuum and no iron in my room. The first day upon check in we ordered room service and my food and drinks came in to go boxes.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubu044, Manager at Happy Valley Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We would like to apologize for the unpleasant breakfast, we will make sure it will not happen again, we have spoken to housekeeping about the issue of the neglected room. We hope to see you again in the near future as our rooms are being refurbished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before and had the same complaints which was last year after management got in touch with me and would remedy the situation for those who are to come. the room aesthetics were shocking - the lap was on the floor - the TV was on the dresser which should have been on the wall it seems. There was no HOT water - let alone cold at times and every time we called and raised the concern it was a pipe issue after three whole days....A whole year later. The patio didn't have chairs but at least had a table, the food was recycled and stale, the service was inconsistent. I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel for that price and get water. the check out was a nightmare. The location was great, close to all amenities. My friends also had a shocking experience as well. this hotel has a lot of potential, and i think they should relook their customer experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Portia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi R, General Manager at Happy Valley Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comment which helps us in improving our service and Guest’s experience.

I am disappointed, reading from your comment, that you did not have a successful stay with us in occasion of your last visit. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that every step is being taken to ensure that such incidents, as encountered by you, will not happen again in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Kind Regards

Luigi Rosi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Upon arrival we were hungry and tired. Our room air-conditioner did not work so they moved us to our tour guides room. The second room air-conditioner did not work so they moved us back to our original room. In the meantime, they had us waiting for their repairman. All in all, everyone in our tour group was walking around and dining while we waited and waited for no one. When I called back, they said, oh, I thought everything was okay. We lost 1 1/2 - 2 hours of our time waiting and walking back and forth. Crazy!

Room Tip: The hallway also had a chemical or paint odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineH878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi R, General Manager at Happy Valley Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comment which helps us in improving our service and Guest’s experience.

I am disappointed, reading from your comment, that you did not have a successful stay with us in occasion of your last visit. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that every step is being taken to ensure that such incidents, as encountered by you, will not happen again in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Kind Regards

Luigi Rosi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent 5 days here on a business trip. Had a ground floor room which was more than acceptable. The bed was comfortable, the room clean but there were signs of wear and tear. The bathroom mirror had lost its silvering so was unusable and the grout around the bath really needed replacing. The air con, although working, wasn't efficient. Maybe I should have complained but felt the positives outweighed the negatives. Ate in the restaurant every evening without complaint. The food was well cooked with a reasonable choice of dishes on the menu. Breakfast was also fine. Was impressed with the attitude of the staff - nothing was too much trouble and they were all friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have very easy access to the pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi R, General Manager at Happy Valley Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comment which helps us in improving our service and Guest’s experience.

I am pleased, reading from your comment that you have had an enjoyable stay with us in occasion of your last visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Kind Regards

Luigi Rosi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We did have a garden room. We didn't know it until morning, because we arrived late.

The restaurant is very good. They were willing to cook with olive oil because of my oil allergies. I sat inside. Some of the tour group, started dinner outside with a candle lit under the table to discourage mosquitoes. They ended up moving inside early into their dinner. Mosquitoes are a problem in Swaziland. While they say malaria is not a problem there, getting bit is still an issue.

The only place to plug in my curling iron was low by the side of the desk. My travel iron has a short cord, so I curled my hair sitting down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi R, General Manager at Happy Valley Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comment which helps us in improving our service and Guest’s experience.

I am pleased, reading from your comment that you have had an enjoyable stay with us in occasion of your last visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and assuring you of our best attention at all times,

Kind Regards

Luigi Rosi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We are a retired French couple from Canada (Montreal) and traveled South Africa during 2 months renting 31 different lodgings. This one was # 30. On our arrival, the woman at the reception told us that the room was not paid. As we said yes, she answered no. We repeated yes and she answered «Can you proved it». We had to find our Visa account of the month of January (we were end of March) and showed her that this was paid. This did not satisfy her. Luckily, it was written somewhere on the voucher we had, that it was full paid. So be careful, otherwise you will have to pay twice.
The room she gave us was not nice. We asked for an upgrade and she charged us 205 Rand more. This room came to 130$ for one night. This was not worth the money. Room was simple, so the bathroom, poor room service, AC, cable TV with limited channels, nice pool, pizza at the hotel restaurant not good, breakfast OK.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubu044, Marketing Co-ordinator at Happy Valley Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

I would like to send out our sincere apology for your unpleasant stay at the Happy Valley Hotel. Our garden rooms are currently being refurbished and we hope you will stay with us again when you visit the country, we will make sure that your stay is very pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
2.4 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
302 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
352 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
783 reviews
8.3 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Valley Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Valley Hotel & Casino

Address: Ezulwini Highway, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range: $61 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Valley Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Happy Valley Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Valley Hotel Ezulwini
Happy Valley Hotel And Casino
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing