We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice lodge with very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantenga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantenga Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Certificate of Excellence
Wilhelmshaven, Deutschland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice lodge with very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The lodge was very nicely located. Directly next door to the Swasi Trails adventure place where we went rafting.
The rooms were nice with a big bed. The bathrooms were quite old, but okay. The restaurant served very good breakfast. The service was very nice, with laundry service which is always useful on a long trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    305
    89
    14
    4
See reviews for
151
324
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in Mantenga Lodge for 2 nights. Original plan was for 1 night but we ended up coming back the next evening :) This allowed me to see 2 different types of accommodation - the first night we were given an older room (downhill, by the pool) and the next night a newer room right next to the restaurant. Although the difference in price was about 5 euros, the difference in quality was huge.
The houses down the hill (the lodge is situated on the hill slope) are visibly older and are in need of renovation. The interior of the room was quite worn down, TV had only one color (red), the shower room was a bit dirty etc. As we only needed a place to sleep, we really did not care. The pool was nice and the highlight of the day was dinner at their restaurant. The service was impeccable and the food just magnificient (you have to try their house special!). Breakfast in the morning was perfect - wide selection buffet.
The next night we were given a room that had actually 2 rooms (1 with king size bed and 1 with 2 bunk beds), the room was clean and freshly renovated, it had LCD TV, bathroom was large and with a bath). Everything was just great and we were amazed that the price was basically the same.
I would definitely stay there again. And there is plenty to do nearby - Swazi Cultural Village and Mantenga falls (both well worth the visit) are couple of minutes away.
Tip to the hotel: you really need to fix the road leading to your gate.

Room Tip: If possible then choose a room in the upper houses (smaller room numbers), the houses down the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This intimate and quiet set of cabins and rooms is nestled in the woods with a great view of Execution Rock. I've stayed here twice for business and both times it was quiet, clean and very well maintained. Staff are welcoming, on time and strike me as well trained and experienced. Food is very good and kitchen and restaurant are clean. Management is obviously good. This is an affordable alternative that I'd recommend to the other more flashy hotels in the Valley.

Room Tip: Choose an Execution Rock view room. Make sure your window louvers are shut before going up for dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbird4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I usually stay in branded 5 star hotels on business trips. But this is South Africa and my stay at Mantenga was absolutely superb. You can choose between rooms or what i call chalets on stilts. They were very clean and accomodating. The view towards execution rock is breathtaking. And just down the slope next door is the old cultural village, which is a MUST go experience. For only £8 you are took round and explained how the tribes lived. Then through a wood to a magnificent waterfall. I could of sat there all day. Then a show of dancing and singing. Absoloutely brilliant. Mantenga Lodge is owned by an English lad who is very pleasant and helpful. The food is 1st class. Please try the pork chop, it is massive. The beer is only £1 a pint. The lodge is very cheap too, so affordable to anyone but with the delightful extras. I was there for 2 weeks and was never bored. Also just 5 minutes down the road is a good shopping mall with lots of food options.

Room Tip: Stay in an execution rock view chalet room. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eamonncotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbie_wattjupp, General Manager at Mantenga Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Eamonn,

It was pleasure having you guys staying with us for those 2 weeks, the bar hasn't quite been the same without you.

We hope to see you guys again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

brightly lit rooms, friendly staff. We stayed in the least expensive rooms, Rider Haggard, down toward the bottom of the hill via a separate entrance and so were able to park right outside our room. Noise carried from other rooms, from bathroom and tvs. You won't find a refrigerator in the rooms, but they do have coffee-making supplies.

They have wireless, but you'll find it painfully slow unless you log on in the middle of the night when no one else is on. There's a computer in the office, too, but it is no faster.

The breakfast is fantastic. Fill your plate with breads, hot food, fruit from the buffet and select a table outdoors with a beautiful morning view of Execution Rock.

The pool was not clear, but it was also winter when we were there, so it wasn't in high demand.

It's convenient to the Swazi cultural center. On the main road there is a shopping center with a grocery store and there are other restaurants available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeying_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at Mantenga Lodge for 9 weeks while I was doing some work in Swaziland. The setting of the hotel is quite stunning, not just the view of Execution Rock but the gardens, which are beautifully maintained. The hospitality was great; I was ably looked after by Rob, Paloma and Steve. The rooms were very comfortable and well serviced. The restaurant has a certain charm about it and the food served there was generally top class, even if the menu was a little bit limited for a long-stayer like me.

Being located in central Swaziland, the hotel is very convenient for a whole range of tourist attractions. It is also very close to the Gables shopping centre, which has an excellent supermarket, several restaurants, boutique shops and even a movie theatre complex (the only one in Swaziland in fact).

Compared with other hotels I have stayed in the hotel was all in all excellent value and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is planning to visit Swaziland. The only real downside is, as other reviewers have mentioned, is the poor Wi-Fi connection, which I know Rob and Paloma are doing their best to rectify.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbie_wattjupp, General Manager at Mantenga Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Duncan,

Greeting from Swaziland. Thank you for your nice review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us for those 2 months.

Will hopefully see you soon this side or next time in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family of four stayed at Mantenga Lodge a few weeks ago. It was easy to find late at night and we left early the next morning because of a tight schedule. It is similar to an American motor lodge with simple rooms that open directly to the outdoor porch that is along where you park your car. For some reason I had not anticipated that but it was fine. Once you walk towards dining there is a gorgeous mountain view and we were greeted by vervet monkeys on the roof tops which the kids loved. We ate a wonderful dinner and the breakfast buffet was excellent with many choices. We had a nice stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneK163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
8.6 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
2.3 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantenga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantenga Lodge

Property: Mantenga Lodge
Address: Mantenga Falls Road | Off Mantenga Drive, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Phone Number:
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantenga Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is in the Ezulwini Valley (Valley of Heaven) situated among the beautiful natural surroundings at the foot of Sheba's Breasts Mountains (immortalized by Rider Haggards' "King Solomon's Mines") overlooking the legendary "Execution Rock". The 38 Rooms are tastefully furnished each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning, staellite tv, telephone as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Wireless Internet is also available. We have a choice of rooms at competitive rates to suit your budget. Mantenga Lodge is centrally situated and provides an ideal base from which to explore The Kingdom of Swaziland. Whether you stay for business or pleasure, you can relax at the swimming pool or enjoy the view on our deck while having sundowners or a delicious meal from our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantenga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantenga Lodge Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing