We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A real good stay just a few minutes away from the airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
hk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real good stay just a few minutes away from the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

this is a really nice place for a rest before or after a flight, the room is spacious, clean and the shower works well and it contains air con, the thing is most of the hotels in sri lanka does not offer tooth brush and paste, so is better to bring your own, we ended up not brusing teeth for the whole day haha.
breakfast has a choice of american breakfast or local cusinie, is not a wide range but is good enough to fill that empty stomach.
I do recommed this to everybody!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkkarenhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    106
    74
    24
    8
See reviews for
43
101
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Cristianos, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Take advantage of the train from Veyangoda (providing, if you are white like us, you are ready for how a martian might feel having landed on planet earth - the curiosity is funny) and save yourself hundreds of dollars. We then paid Rs2000 for a Tuk Tuk from Veyangoda to Minuwangoda and arrived a little tired (it has to be said) at the Tamarind Tree. Despite most of the locals having no knowledge that Veyangoda or indeed Minuwangoda was anywhere near the airport, ignore this. Bandaranaike International Airport (also known as Katunayake International Airport and Colombo Bandaranaike International is on your doorstep. $8 away in a hotel arranged minibus.

The hotel itself is an oasis of calm with a good swimming pool, though does need updating slightly. Also the deep clean that one finds in many international hotels is (as throughout much of Sri lanka) absent here. The doors were greyed with fingermarks of many previous visitors.

Beware the foyer too unless you are fully armed with mozzie spray. I was bitten 7 times and that was after killing 8 of the blighters (vengeance?). The bungalows are comfortable and it was lovely to sit reading on the porch, though the missus said we were like the Clampets! The food is good, but beware the prices. The diet coke was Rs490, which is around $4 a can and that was despite a government RRP sticker stating about half the price on the can itself. Also beware what many websites offer as an amazing deal as the 1/3 normal price we were offered of $110 is actually the normal rack rate for a bungalow, so check with the hotel first.

If you're looking for a little calm before you fly then this will do the job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobby132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a hectic day it was. Delayed flight, and once we reached the Sri Lanka airport our expectations level had come down. It was low until we reached this fantastic hotel. The service was as if, we were the Royal family members. We were thrilled with this and when we saw the villa, we were overwhelmed. King sized bed and satellite TV channels. Immaculate washrooms with beautiful flower decoration. The food was not overly priced either. And morning when we woke up, we saw the king coconut served fresh from the tree. Nature friendly hotel, had all the names of the tree available beneath them. The hotel as well had horses if you wanted take a few pictures for thrill. As well the pool was very clean. Lovely collection of paintings in the Business centre. However, it was pretty hot outside, hence just outside the hotel, there is a Cloth Boutique, where you may find some local as well stitched to order clothes. Really a relief for us, as we bought some pure cotton dresses. Beach are clean as well and what is even more amazing is that Wifi was freely available in almost every restaurant. Quick things to buy for gift and memories, shells on the beach. A must visit again place, and hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good, you may look for the one near to restaurant or bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingYUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is very close to the airport and the rooms are very good and comfortable. Nice surrounding with many trees.
Staff service was not great, especially in front office and in restaurants, I believe this could be improved.
The main restaurant is a letdown, ambience is not up to the overall standard of this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for airport transfers, but not for long/ leisure stays.

Room Tip: Good for airport transfers..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iV0yager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had a good time in this hotel. Very close to the airport. Bunglores are very specious and nice. Front Office staff greeted well.
Food taste good in this hotel. Sri Lankan food is so lovely. Happy to say i had a short wonderful experience here.

Room Tip: Bungalores are very specious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a very short stay at Tamarind Tree as we arrived in at Negombo airport after 1:00am and left early the next day at 9:00am. It is a nice spacious hotel with spacious bungalows, a large swimming pool and nice facilities. Breakfast was very nice and the resort was clean and well kept. If you've got an early or late flight in or out of the airport, I wouldn't go past Tamarind Tree.

Room Tip: Very large rooms with living and sleeping area. We stayed with 2 Adults and 2 Children (6&4). We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_D_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my transit hotel before the flight back home so wasn't expecting much!! I was wrong as this is as good as most of the other hotels I stayed in over the last ten days. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, also the rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were in chalet style bungalows and consisted of a lounge with ceiling fan, bathroom and bedroom with ceiling fan and air con. The pool and gardens were well maintained with ample sunbeds and deckchairs. Breakfast and dinner were of a buffet style with a good selection of dishes and all freshly prepared and to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: All rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatiyana
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 40 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 40 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 40 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
3.6 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Property: Tamarind Tree Hotel
Address: Tamarind Tree Hotel 1, Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana 11550, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing