We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarind Tree Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana Minuwangoda 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxed and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a hectic day it was. Delayed flight, and once we reached the Sri Lanka airport our expectations level had come down. It was low until we reached this fantastic hotel. The service was as if, we were the Royal family members. We were thrilled with this and when we saw the villa, we were overwhelmed. King sized bed and satellite TV channels. Immaculate washrooms with beautiful flower decoration. The food was not overly priced either. And morning when we woke up, we saw the king coconut served fresh from the tree. Nature friendly hotel, had all the names of the tree available beneath them. The hotel as well had horses if you wanted take a few pictures for thrill. As well the pool was very clean. Lovely collection of paintings in the Business centre. However, it was pretty hot outside, hence just outside the hotel, there is a Cloth Boutique, where you may find some local as well stitched to order clothes. Really a relief for us, as we bought some pure cotton dresses. Beach are clean as well and what is even more amazing is that Wifi was freely available in almost every restaurant. Quick things to buy for gift and memories, shells on the beach. A must visit again place, and hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good, you may look for the one near to restaurant or bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingYUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is very close to the airport and the rooms are very good and comfortable. Nice surrounding with many trees.
Staff service was not great, especially in front office and in restaurants, I believe this could be improved.
The main restaurant is a letdown, ambience is not up to the overall standard of this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for airport transfers, but not for long/ leisure stays.

Room Tip: Good for airport transfers..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iV0yager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had a good time in this hotel. Very close to the airport. Bunglores are very specious and nice. Front Office staff greeted well.
Food taste good in this hotel. Sri Lankan food is so lovely. Happy to say i had a short wonderful experience here.

Room Tip: Bungalores are very specious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a very short stay at Tamarind Tree as we arrived in at Negombo airport after 1:00am and left early the next day at 9:00am. It is a nice spacious hotel with spacious bungalows, a large swimming pool and nice facilities. Breakfast was very nice and the resort was clean and well kept. If you've got an early or late flight in or out of the airport, I wouldn't go past Tamarind Tree.

Room Tip: Very large rooms with living and sleeping area. We stayed with 2 Adults and 2 Children (6&4). We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_D_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my transit hotel before the flight back home so wasn't expecting much!! I was wrong as this is as good as most of the other hotels I stayed in over the last ten days. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, also the rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were in chalet style bungalows and consisted of a lounge with ceiling fan, bathroom and bedroom with ceiling fan and air con. The pool and gardens were well maintained with ample sunbeds and deckchairs. Breakfast and dinner were of a buffet style with a good selection of dishes and all freshly prepared and to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: All rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Best location as It's close to airport, so I decided to book this one as my flight mid night

It is under renovation so a bit dirty at at lobby.

We paid for one night but we use only half day but for single room. My friend changed flight and join me. They asked for 40$ more for one more person without proper explicit and it costs same as one more room. I asked if it is for breakfast?. What I need is explanation. I felt annoyed.

Room is comfortable and private villa but a bit old. Big bathroom. It is calm and relax after a noisy outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EurasieTravelAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is my luck to stay in this hotel since my flight was delayed for few hours. I was able to relax really well. Rooms were Bangalores, specious and nicely maintained. I was greeted by Ms. Sandamali at the reception, she was very kind and helpful. Though the check in was abit delayed since there were more people joined with me to get the same flight.
After a good nap, we were driven to the airport on time. Very convenient for a layover.
I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Bangalores are better to spend the time comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatiyana Minuwangoda
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 32 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
2.3 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 32 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
2.0 mi away
Pledge 3 Hotel
Pledge 3 Hotel
#4 of 32 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Address: 1 Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana Minuwangoda 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana Minuwangoda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana Minuwangoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana Minuwangoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#