We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice hotel 10 minutes from the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice hotel 10 minutes from the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my transit hotel before the flight back home so wasn't expecting much!! I was wrong as this is as good as most of the other hotels I stayed in over the last ten days. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, also the rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were in chalet style bungalows and consisted of a lounge with ceiling fan, bathroom and bedroom with ceiling fan and air con. The pool and gardens were well maintained with ample sunbeds and deckchairs. Breakfast and dinner were of a buffet style with a good selection of dishes and all freshly prepared and to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: All rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    101
    71
    23
    8
See reviews for
39
101
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Best location as It's close to airport, so I decided to book this one as my flight mid night

It is under renovation so a bit dirty at at lobby.

We paid for one night but we use only half day but for single room. My friend changed flight and join me. They asked for 40$ more for one more person without proper explicit and it costs same as one more room. I asked if it is for breakfast?. What I need is explanation. I felt annoyed.

Room is comfortable and private villa but a bit old. Big bathroom. It is calm and relax after a noisy outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EurasieTravelAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is my luck to stay in this hotel since my flight was delayed for few hours. I was able to relax really well. Rooms were Bangalores, specious and nicely maintained. I was greeted by Ms. Sandamali at the reception, she was very kind and helpful. Though the check in was abit delayed since there were more people joined with me to get the same flight.
After a good nap, we were driven to the airport on time. Very convenient for a layover.
I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Bangalores are better to spend the time comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Well, its been quite along (Last August 2012), we visited this hotel due to our flight was delayed. Still could remember how we were indulged by Mr. Chris & Ms. Sandamali at the reception. Welcomed us with fascinating Sri Lankan smile & was able to give us a very wonderful room to relax until i got myself back to the airport.
This is a perfect hotel for leisure travellers and honeymooners.
Wish A good Luck !!!
Thank You

Room Tip: Bangalores are very clean and spacious. Never tried a suite room in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
348 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The pluses - it is very near the airport, wonderful when you are tired after a long trip. The rooms are quiet and very big. The grounds are pleasant and breakfast was very good. It has a pleasant, laid back feel.

The minuses - rooms need attention, plug sockets were broken, air conditioning was a bit unpredictable and hard to get the temperature right. They played Tom Jones on a continous loop all through breakfast on both days. It nearly drove us crazy. Breakfast was fine though. Dinner was not good at all - some of the worst vegetarian Sri Lankan food we had the whole time we were away. The all day snacks looked reasonable though, though we didn't try any.

The real negatives : when we asked for a taxi they always used the hotel taxi which was expensive. The staff at the front desk were really really slow, and would answer phone calls or deal with other things rather than pay attention to what they were meant to be doing for you. Their attitude was the worst we found in Sri Lanka. Checking in and checking out was a frustrating affair. It was also really hard to book this hotel by email.

For dinner it is much better to get a taxi into Negombo beach. May I recommend Lords restaurant, some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka. A taxi into Colombo can take a long time, depending on the time of day. Friday rush hour was a nightmare!

However, I would stay again because of the convenience. For a one night stay, a really good sleep and a quick getaway it is actually ideal. If management read this - please turn off the terrible music, give the rooms a bit of love, and try a little harder. It could be lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a very tranquil location, just 10 minutes from the airport. Very quiet, just what you need to get a good sleep after a late arrival. The whole place feels very spacious and green.

Chalets are huge, with large bedroom, lounge area, bathroom and veranda. Free wifi is available, although the signal isn't great. Minibar was empty! The pool is a decent size.

We didn't have dinner here, but breakfast was fine and included plenty of veggie options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicam_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a stylist garden resort - peaceful and quiet. It has the added advantage of being only 10 mins from the airport. The chalets where tastefully decorated and it had a great pool. The staff were great - I overslept breakfast by an hour and so a member of the restaurant staff kindly brought a breakfast selection on a tray to our chalet once I had woken up - without me even asking - impressively considerate! Overall a great stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TranquilityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatiyana Minuwangoda
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 35 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
1.9 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 35 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
3.6 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
2.3 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#7 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Property: Tamarind Tree Hotel
Address: Tamarind Tree Hotel 1, Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana Minuwangoda 11550, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana Minuwangoda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana Minuwangoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana Minuwangoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing