We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Place - Great Food”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Rear Garden
Garden
Garden
A bit of flora in the garden
Tropical fruits in the Garden
Tropical fruits in the Garden
Guests
Guests
Lobby
Lobby
Lobby
Lobby
Lobby
Lobby
Quadruple Family room  En suite Bathroom
Quadruple Family room  En suite Bathroom
Quadruple Family room  En suite Bathroom
Single room  private detached bathroom
Dining Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Negombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
sanjeevan...
Stellendam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Matig”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It wasn't what we expected,it wasn't clean at all. The kitchen was dirty,the bathroom was also not very clean, the lady Angelica, was complaining that we were using the washing machine to much..the ac was broke the last day we stay in the house..she said that we never turn the ac off when we leave the door..so in other words it was our fault..Last day of our Day, I couldn't found 2 flip flops..her argument was...we didn't lock the gate.. definitely NOT true..we allways locked the gate..especially because we were with our 4 sons. When we were packing our suitcases, we missed 2 flip flops, my Electric fly swatter, and a bag full of ballpoints we wanted to give to the poor People.. I Wouldn't recommend it to a family with childeren..3 nights is long enough in stead of 3 weeks!! The place is near by the supermarket Arpico, the airport..thats a positive thing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
The main guest ( A local married to a foreigner ) booked us during early 2017 and since then has been talking to us on email every other day and has sent us 62 messages in total . She appeared to be very friendly at the very start and we too did our level best to keep her satisfied as we knew that she was concerned about coming to Sri Lanka with a her big family ( 4 Kids ) after a long time . We did certain things out of the way on her request that now we believe that we shouldn’t have done just because there has been no gratitude what so ever . We organized dinner for them the day they checked in FOC , Arranged a baby crib as a special request and above all extend her an attractive discount with no deposit on the rental . No sooner they checked in we also had to accommodate their local relatives who visited them frequently and slept overnight at the property . She had complained about the cleanliness of the property ,but being a local and thinking like a foreigner the guest was utterly disappointed in her own cleanliness . They failed to keep the rooms and bathrooms tidy. Consumed their food on the beds instead of the dining table . Above all the sanitary wear of the kids where left everywhere in the lounge even when we were accommodating other guests. Loads of garbage everyday ! Truly the most disappointing guests we have ever hosted and her presence made us feel so embarrassing in front of other guest as we knew things were not great with her and her family. Her efforts were very poor in trying to correct things of her own children when they were ruining the entire house with garbage and trash. Last but not the least, she has accused us about her missing things and just wanted her to know that a bag of pens and/ or a pair of flip flops will not bring us lost glory and will earn us nothing , We trusted them to the max and now we suffer today for doing that . Since she had nothing to blame us on she had come up with her own story ………………….. Truly the most disappointing guest we accommodated and wished they never came . WOULD NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing Place - Great Food”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I had the most wonderful experience at the Hermitage Negombo.

Very Clean rooms and an incredible location. Food that was served was exquisite..

Highly Recommended!!!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2016
Dear John,
Many thanks for the generous feedback . It really means a lot to us and we truly appreciate it .
BR Angelica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkc_7
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hostess and Lovely Clean House”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We arrived late in the evening and had a very warm welcome from Angelica. She helped us booked the taxi from the airport and also arranged for the taxi to take us out to dinner.
The house was beautifully clean and cosy. Her breakfast was superb .
One of us left a ring behind by accident and Angelica was so helpful and sweet . We arranged with her to pick it up on our way home as the house is very near the airport.
A very good stop if you want to stay a night to recover from the flight in or to catch a flight out.
Thoroughly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The great service we received from the hostess
Liked least: maybe a little away from the main town but this is quite clear when you check the map.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Dear Mr.&Mrs Cornwell,
Many many thanks for the generous feedback and appreciation and truly it means a lot to us. It was indeed a great pleasure of having you all at our property and hope you all enjoyed it too. We all in Sri Lanka hope and pray for your Happy life's ahead and your good health!

Love
Angelica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyBr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us spent tke hole of March at the cottage and thoroughly enjoyed it! We would recommend it to our friends anytime!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Dear Mr Anthony,
Many thanks for the generous feedback. We really enjoyed your company and looking forward to having you all again.
Thanks a lot a for the lovely memories.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheng Wei...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was the best hostel I stayed during our twelve-day holidays in Sri Lanka . Breakfast was awesome, hostess was awesome , the garden was awesome , the neighborhoods were awesome , everything's wonderful. It's clean and quiet , most important thing is that the hostess Angelica is a very kind person, she really makes you feel like you are staying at your own home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Dear Timothy,
Many many thanks for the wonderful response. It was indeed a great pleasure in having you at our place despite a short period and you are a Gem of a guest whom any one would love to host. Thank you very much for the lovely time and experience. Hoping to see you soon again.

Regards

Angelica F
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakshman1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money and delicious meals”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I was a visitor from Melbourne. Originally from Kandy Sri Lanka and what I liked the best was the well maintained clean room and close proximity to airport as well as Great hospitality of the hostess Anjilica. Her cooking was Excellent. the menu was great with local chemical free vegetables for the village fair. all for a very reasonable price.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Dear Lakshaman.
Many thanks for The generous feedback.

Best Regaards

The Hermitage Negombo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuwaRan
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my wife traveled to the beautiful country late last year, whilst we traveled all around the island of Sri Lanka, this place definitely felt close to home in our hearts.

We received such good care from Angelica, clearly it was evident to us that they were more concerned about us than the money and always ensured that all our needs were looked after. She provided us with the most amazing Sri Lankan cuisine.

Our holiday was all the more memorable thanks to you guys.

Will definitely come back one day with our kids

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2016
Thanks a lot for the generosity . Looking forward to see you both very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing