We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$140
Booking.com$152
eDreams$152
Travelocity$140
CheapTickets$140
Priceline$152
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
235
35
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
235
35
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool peacock villa tuk tuk boat tour sri lanka dutch canal free bikes a small boutique hotel our honeymoon three nights bed was very comfortable perfect stay last stop rain shower prawns stayed here for one night last night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 280 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2019

I spent the last night of a wonderful holiday here with my good friend. The room was spotless and beautiful. The private pool divine and the little hotel kittens that came to visit were really cute.
We had a lovely dinner down on the river and the staff were really helpful and friendly. I highly recommend the place.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank krush69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I8744EImarkn, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Thank you for highly recommending Waterland and for writing about the villa, the private plunge pool, the cleanliness, the dining, and the staff.

We're glad you liked the cats. A happier set of cats you will not find!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019 via mobile

Disappointing. More ‘bling’ than glamour. One night was enough! Staff were the high point, 1st class! Food was overpriced and underwhelming not what was expected for a supposed ‘boutique’ establishment. Only after arrival were we informed that breakfast, again average, would be a makeshift affair
served outside our room as the restaurant was closed on Tuesdays. No prior notice of this. Don’t like giving negative reviews but in this case hard to find something uplifting.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank owenw930
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Thanks for staying at Waterland and for sharing your experiences. We're glad the staff provided you first class service.

We're sorry that your experience was not more uniformly positive. We know that a few disappointing aspects of a stay - limited restaurant hours, a menu that does not meet what you had hoped for, inadequate communication, ... can tarnish an experience.

We very much appreciate guest feedback, perhaps most especially feedback on how we can improve. To avoid similar disappointments in future, we have now expanded our dining room hours so that we are open on Tuesdays. We have also eliminate the breakfast basket that you described as makeshift.

From April - July, we have been closed in order to revamp the kitchen and carry out a wide variety of upgrades to the property. In terms of the dining experience, we now have a talented and energetic new head chef, doubled the size of the kitchen, and added on to the dining room so that we can accommodate all our guests at the same time. We also did a full upgrade of the outdoor dining experience, building a magnificent new outdoor kitchen and doing a number of upgrades to the dining barge including new seating and a a new thatch roof.

Other upgrades made in the past 4 months are 2 new pools, new pool tiles for all the existing pools, larger gardens for the Studio Villas on the Canal, new landscaping, 2 new bathrooms, a new lounge, and a new games room.

Again, we're sorry that you had a disappointing stay. If you do return to Sri Lanka, please let us know. We would love to host you and provide you a more consistently stellar guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

I stayed at Waterland for 1 night with my 2 teenage children, in the 2 bedroom apartment above the restaurant. What an amazing room! My son and daughter loved chilling in the swinging chairs over the water. The beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed. The staff were all super polite and helpful. Would stay again

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Roving546997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Wonderfully different - what an apt description of a stay at Waterland.

We have made a point of creating an oasis and a guest experience that is truly unique. That uniqueness may be found in every element, from the fresh tamarind juice welcome drink to the waterfall faucets in the bathrooms.

We're please that you and your family had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for writing that thoughtful review and for recommending Waterland so highly.

If you do return, you will find the property much enhanced. For the past 3 months, we have been doing a vast array of upgrades including building 2 new pools, building a proper lobby, building a games room, and creating a scenic outlook on the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday in the Peacock Villa and what can I say...... it was fabulous! The standard and attention to detail of the accommodation was second to none. Food was great, staff couldn’t do enough for you and were very proud of their resort. Loved it and will definitely be back.

Room tip: Peacock Villa outstanding.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandGr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I8744EImarkn, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thanks for noting the high standard, the attention to detail, and the excellence of the meals.

Special thanks for recognizing the attentiveness of the staff. Their devotion to Waterland and our guests is extraordinary.

We are pleased that you had a fabulous stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019 via mobile

The Waterland is truly an oasis of calm and serenity in a town, Negombo, which really doesn’t have much to offer. We stayed here just for one night after arriving in Colombo, before embarking on our trip around Sri Lanka but it felt wrong to leave such a fabulous little place after so short a time. If you are going to stay in Negombo don’t stay in one of the hotels on the not-very-nice strip behind the not-very-nice beach - stay here. It’s lovely, nothing is too much trouble and someone in management has real attention to detail. They seem to have thought of everything. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dmncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Thanks ever so much for your thoughtful review and for highly recommending Waterland.

For the past 3 months we have been upgrading the property so that we can offer guests not simply an oasis of calm and serenity, but a truly luxurious oasis of calm and serenity.

Thanks for recognizing the dedication of the staff and our attention to detail.

We hope that your trip to Sri Lanka was a joyous one and that we will have a chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews