We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Booking.com
$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
eDreams$125
Priceline$134
CheapTickets$134
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
236
35
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
35
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool peacock villa tuk tuk boat tour sri lanka dutch canal free bikes a small boutique hotel our honeymoon three nights bed was very comfortable perfect stay last stop rain shower prawns stayed here for one night last night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We stayed 2 nights at the Lotus Villa and came here right after landing in Sri Lanka. It was an amazing experience. The staff welcomed us with a refreshing drink (much needed after the plane) and flowers as a celebration of our marriage. The suite was beautifully decorated with flowers and in the evening they even performed a small ceremony also to celebrate our marriage and it was an unexpected and truly magical experience. The room was perfect: clean, private pool which is cleaned twice a day, gigantic bed with mosquito net and good WiFi. We couldn't have asked anything more, everyone was so nice and helpful. Bonus, there were some very well behaved kittens roaming around our hotel which the staff cares for and they were just so cute!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

It gives us immense pleasure to hear that your stay at Waterland was magical. A honeymoon is a special event and we're keen to help enduring memories.

Thanks for sharing about the various elements of your experience at Waterland including the welcome drink, flowers, decoration, pool, Wi-Fi, marriage celebration, housekeeping, and kindness of the staff. This is now our 3rd year of welcoming guests and it's increasingly clear that it's the staff's warmth, dedication, and attention to detail that distinguishes a stay at Waterland. The cuteness of the cats that we have taken in are a nice plus too!

We wish you a lifetime of happiness together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We booked Elephant Villa and room was very clean and lovely. Calm place to relax !.
Suggestions:
- All prices are quoted in US dollars. It's complicated for local guests. So better to quoted with both LKR and US Dollars.
- And better to show room rates with Full Board and Half Board meal plans.- Like other hotels.
- Menu was complicated and expensive for local guests. Better to have suitable menu for locals quoted with LKR.
Excepts these suggestions others are great.

Room tip: Nice and calm place to relax!!!. Great hospitality..
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sujith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Thank you very much for staying at Waterland and for reviewing your stay. It's nice to hear that the hospitality was great and that you found the place very clean and lovely.

Thanks too for sharing your observations and thoughtful suggestions.

One of the things we discovered soon after we opened is that local guests and foreign guests have very different preferences in terms of cuisine, meal times, ... For a small place such as ours, we realized that by attempting to compromise and serve both constituents well, we were not serving either constituent well. Since the vast majority of our guests were from abroad, we decided to focus on the preferences of guests from abroad. Now, about 95% of our guests are from abroad. Since most of these guests arrive directly from the airport or are at the end of their trips in Sri Lanka, having prices in US dollars turns out to be convenient for our guests. Guests are welcome to pay with U.S. dollars, rupees, MasterCard, or Visa.

Regarding meal plans, half board or full board options are well-suited for hotels with buffets. Our menu, by contrast, presents a myriad of a la carte options of freshly and individually prepared meals.

The expansion of the staff and improvements of the property, meals, and service seem to be appreciated. These enhancements, though, have made Waterland significantly more expensive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Amazing view from Villa Elephant, you cannot compare to anything ! Definetely a must stay while in Negombo... Perfect service and atmosphere, you will not want to leave your villa, it is like a floating paradise taken out from a dream!

Room tip: villa Elephant
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank violetat936
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Sometimes, a review is so artfully presented that it causes one to see something in a new way.

Your eloquent review is one such review. The imagery of a floating paradise taken from a dream is beguiling.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to write so evocatively.

Thanks too for recognizing the efforts of the staff who provide such good service. Their skill, warmth, and dedication ensure that Waterland is not simply a beautiful place, but is a beautiful place to stay.

We hope we will have a chance in future to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

It was a great pleasure staying at waterland hotel. We went there for our honeymoon and it is a great place for romantic experience.

The staff especially Mr. Mark was so nice to us.
We would recommend this place for anyone who need to have a wonderful experience.

Nizam and Madhu - Sri Lanka

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 5niz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay and for the kind words about the hospitality.

A honeymoon is a once-in-a-lifetime occasion. It is of immense importance to us that honeymoon couples have a memorable stay.

We are honored that you chose to stay at Waterland for your honeymoon and hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back in future years when you celebrate your anniversary.

We wish you a lifetime of happiness together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

We booked Lotus villa for our honeymoon :) Out of whole Negombo this little villa took our heart ! We were so happy during our stay ! Without doubt one of the favorite hotels we stayed so far in srilanka.A true sample for great hospitality ! The whole team members are willing to help & They made our stay memorable :) Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff and The owner Mr Mark ! A kind gentleman & Always smiling and friendly towards all guests :) Very romantic setup ! Of course a private plunge pool ! We loved stayed there. Colourful lighgting and cute lake ! What should you need more ! The scenery was beautiful and it was a relieve to walk in such a quiet and peaceful environment.Food is amazing ! atmosphere is so special that it really felt like home to us. All respect for the Mr Mark and the whole team who does a great job here! Highly recommend ! Of course the price was reasonable :) We will return soon ! Thank you so much for everything !

Lots of love from,
Rajika & Thilina
Srilanka

Room tip: All villa is unique :)
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rajika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, Owner at Waterland, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

We try to look after each of our guests to help ensure that each one has a special stay. When honeymoon couples come to Waterland, we have an even greater opportunity to help make memories that can last a lifetime.

Thank you for choosing to start your honeymoon at Waterland. It was marvelous to see the joy that the two of you seemed to take in the place - and in one another. We wish you a lifetime of happiness together and hope that you will return for some of your anniversaries!

Thank you for your gracious and extensive review. We are most appreciative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews