We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our vacation”
Review of Hotel Silver Sands

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Silver Sands
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent our first night in Sri Lanka here at the Silver Sands. Having arrived on an early flight and were very grateful to be allowed an early check in at 9:30a.m. The room was basic, but clean and tidy. As a tripple room, it comprised 3 single beds pulled together under a large mosquito net - it felt a bit like posh camping !!

Our balcony had a great view out over the internal garden and over the hotel roof top to the sea.
The food was fine and the staff were friendly and helpfull. Because we had an early start in the morning, they even provided us with some packed sandwiches in lieu of breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_Rab_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Silver Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spended a few days at Silver sands with friends. The staff are very friendly with helpfull for all guests. Only some off them don't understand English. The rooms are clean and with equipment what do you need. The beach is big and swimming it's safety for non-swimmers. They have only few sun beds , not for all guests.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank dali_krejci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Like most, we stayed here for our first night in Sri Lanka straight from the airport. We were looking for somewhere to lie our heads, decent value and on the beach. For what we paid, although 'ocean view' was a bit of a stretch (not direct view from the room), we found Silversands to be good enough value for a simple first night - mosquito net and fan but quite dimly lit. It had more of a guest house feel and friendly, helpful staff. Overall, I'd recommend this for a quick, budget-friendly easy one/two night stay with the airport in mind.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a really good place to stay for one or two days when you arrive at Sri Lanka or just before you leave. You are quite close to the airport and don't have to make all your way through the Sri Lankan traffic.
The hotel has a very nice atmosphere, and so do the rooms. They are clean, and you sleep well in the beds. Depending on the room you get you have a beautiful sight on the beach or in the garden, but there are also rooms where your balcony just shows to the patio. There is also a nice restaurant where you can eat luscious food. The nice garden has some great palm trees and some sun-loungers which are quite old but ok. The value for money is in sum really good.

The beaches are not the best, the sand is partially black (I don't know if that is oil) and there is quite a lot of trash in some parts of the beach, so I cannot recommend to spend several days or weeks there as I have seen much better beaches in Sri Lanka. But if you want to relax the first days after your arrival or the last days of your holiday, this place is a really good choice.

Room Tip: There are different rooms who show to different places and which have, depending on the sight you ha...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had pre booked a room as we were flying into sri lanka that day. We had requested the cheapest room but the booking kept taking us to the second cheapest room. On our arrival there was a cheaper room but the didn't give it to us, instead giving it to another couple. The room was small for the price, with broken flyscreens/ and no fly screens on the windows. no hot water, no wifi in the room and a view of a water tank off our tiny balcony with one broken chair. When we asked if we could change rooms or get a discount they did not try to accommodate us. How ever it did have nice access to the beach and a nice are for sunbathing and a nice restaurant.

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor have a large grass area infront of their rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We’ve stayed at Silver Sands 6 times (3 visits to SL), each time on arrival and departure. Always basic, it now seems tired and could do with a few coats of paint in the rooms. Some of the staff – not all - seemed quite surly at the beginning although they loosened up after a while. Having had that whinge, they did a good job of arranging transport and accommodation for multiple arrivals and departures at different times for a group of 12 people. Would stay there again as it was pleasant in the end but hope the management will talk to their staff about keeping a smile on their face.

Room Tip: A/c rooms are nicer
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The silversands was our first stay in Sri Lanka. We had a clean room with A/C. The mosquito net was also very good without any holes in it.
The food in the restaurant was very delicous, actually the curry was one of the best for us in Sri Lanka.
Compared to other cities we travelled the room had a quite high price (4600) but I think for Negombo it's average / a little below average.

The one thing which annoyed us, was the following: We reserved the room via e-mail and told him that we didn't need airport-transfer, he still wanted to know with which flight we will come in, so we told him that (also via email) and wrote again that we DONT NEED transfer.
When we arrived at the hotel (with our "own" taxi), he blamed us that he had a driver at the airport and we weren't there...we tried to explain him that we told him we didn't need one - he acceped it grudgingly and then he was not happy with us for the rest of our stay...but apart from that the other staff was friendly and okay to us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Araliya
Villa Araliya
#16 of 43 in Negombo
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#33 of 43 in Negombo
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breeze Residence
The Breeze Residence
#25 of 43 in Negombo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#26 of 43 in Negombo
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#21 of 43 in Negombo
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#27 of 43 in Negombo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Sands

Address: 229 Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Number of rooms: 317
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing