We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ayubowan Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 252 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Ayubowan Guesthouse was the most meticulously maintained and scrupulously clean lodging that we stayed in during our 3 months trip in Sri Lanka and southern India.
We stayed here 4 times and each time appreciated our cosy, air conditioned room (it was hot on the coast); wonderful, generous breakfasts; shady lower verandah with comfortable chairs and chaise lounges, cooling swimming pool and nice garden.
Our friendly and welcoming hosts, Ron and Brenda, were knowledgeable and most helpful, e.g. arranging airport pick-ups.
We highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElderTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

thank you for your review and so sorry it has taken so long to reply,we at ayubowan are glad you had a great time with us it makes it all worth while.we do find as the only English owned and run guesthouse in negombo we are open to bad comments from certain guests even if they have had a great stay. some guests do not understand we have a high season and a low season from end of april-oct is the low season so guests are few and far between.once again can I thank you for your review and hope to see you at ayubowan once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for The Ayubowan Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 237 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Ayubowan to round off our honeymoon before our outgoing flight. Ron and Brenda have a fab place - just the final bit of style and comfort we needed to complete our travels. Nicely secluded location, set back from the busy strip. We were warmly welcomed with a cold drink, before taking a hot shower (much needed after train and bus journeys from Galle) - proper hot water and decent water pressure! We headed out to the beautiful gardens and the pool to catch the last of the days sunshine. The whole place was sparklingly clean, and Ron and Brenda were on hand with some local recommendations, airport tip offs and good early breakfast before our flight. Be warned about the early morning call from the local temple - but we actually rather liked it (perhaps a bit more than Ron does!). Lastly, keep a look out for Lulu...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi, we were so pleased you chose to stay at Ayubowan to end your honeymoon , we can just hope that the future holds a bounty of good cheer to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ayubowan Guest House

We were planning a tour of Stri Lanka and this place was the perfect start to our holiday. The owners Ron and Brenda arranged for one of their drivers to meet us at Colombo Airport after our long flight. Their guest house in Negombo is only 20-30 minutes from Colombo Airport. We stayed for two nights at the start of our holiday and loved it so much we booked to stay there for our last two nights before flying back to the UK. The guest house is beautifully furnished and the garden is immaculate with a great swimming pool. The food is great too. Its been said before but Brenda and Ron are the perfect hosts, knowing exactly how to deal with their guests, not too familiar and not at all intrusive. In fact everything was perfect there. If we return to Sri Lanka we shall certainly ensure that we again stay at the Ayubowan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

thank you for such a positive review we were happy you chose us for the start of your vacation and even more pleased when you decided to stay longer at the end,we even look to the future to see you again.again thank you from the management and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the perfect place to start or end a visit to Sri Lanka, close to the airport and yet a million miles away! We had a lovely clean and comfortable room, the garden and pool are just perfect. Brenda and Ron are the perfect hosts and were very helpful in arranging a car and driver for us.
Food was good, we had intended to explore local restaurants but it was just so comfortable at the house that we took the lazy option and stayed in, Ron had been to the fish market and made us a delicious dinner. Airport transfer was efficient and easy. Certainly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's not very often you find a gem when you are travelling but this is one, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, immaculate gardens and most important of all owners who genuinely care about there guests.
The breakfasts are fantastic with enough choice to satisfy the most picky guest.
For a short or long stay look no further.
We booked through a local agent but in future would book direct on brenda_cornelius@hotmail.com for a better price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LincolnUKAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

thank you so much for an honest review from an honest couple .we are so pleased that you had a great time with us, we will certainly be pleased to see you on your return, oh by the way the e-mail address is brenda_cornelius0@hotmail.com and the phone number is 0094312238673. kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent 2 nights with Ron and Brenda at Ayubowan Guesthouse recently. They have a lovely home with beautiful outdoor gardens and a pool. Very relaxing environment, well appointed rooms with everything you need to enjoy your stay.
Very, very clean!
Location is down a quiet lane so you are away from the main strip which can be quite noisy and busy.
Ron and Brenda are always on hand to help out with what ever you need and are a wealth of knowledge about where to go and what to see while in Negombo / Sri Lanka.
They put on a great breakfast as well :)
I can highly recommend Ayubowan and will return if i find myself in Negombo again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is our third stay at the Ayubowan, this time my wife and I stayed for 9 days. The owners are an inspiration in the way they run an efficient business with a very human touch. They seem to be focused on improving the service and quality of their product on each visit over a two year period. Ayubowan boutique guesthouse would be a more appropriate title for this location . They provide many added little benefits to make your stay more enjoyable, like when you are the only guests on a particular day enabling you to have your breakfast in their garden setting. They also provide an opportunity to have a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast. Each day you are asked what you would like to have for breakfast the next day. In house lunch is available and it is worth spending the evening in at least once and letting them provide the meal, the lighting innthe garden provides a delightful backfrop.Their staff are also very courteous and helpful. Your rooms are cleaned and made up each day. This "guesthouse" is a welcome break from much of the chaos and anything will do approach that is endemic to much of Sri Lanka. We look forward to our next visit. Can't understand why they don't have the the number one ranking in their category.

Room Tip: If available ask for the poolside room and let Ron organise your pickup and delivery to the airport...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
2.1 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
517 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Kapuru
Villa Kapuru
#2 of 222 in Negombo
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Serendib Guest House
Serendib Guest House
#6 of 252 in Negombo
478 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ziegler Cottage
Ziegler Cottage
#10 of 252 in Negombo
103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 252 in Negombo
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayubowan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayubowan Guesthouse

Address: 47/55 School Lane | Ettukalla, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $57 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is situated in Negombo on the west coast of Sri Lanka.2 Double ensuite rooms on the ground floor.2 Double rooms on the 1st floor with shared bathroom, private eating area and balcony All rooms have A/C, ceiling fan, hairdryer, bathrobe. This guesthouse is suitable only for adults, Weddings can be arranged at the house. We also provide airport transfer,free wifi is available. Lunch and dinner is available in the dining room and in the garden. Tourist board approved grade A now 4**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ayubowan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayubowan Guesthouse Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing