We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avarage”
Review of Hotel Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sunset Beach
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I went there with my office friends for party & we stay over there one night. Rooms little old & furniture too old, but the rooms have a nice view of Negombo beach,dinner is average & breakfast not worth for the price. This place good for arranging the office party. But not worth for the price to stay in full board

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anushke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were this Hotel in 16th. Hotel was poor. Old Rooms. AC not enough for the Heats. Staff are Good & Honest. But for the Price of foods in restaurant was so expensive compare with others Places. not Recommending as a local for anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daminda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Horrible and pathetic hotel staff. We had paid 5k advance while booking it online and the bunch of jokers at the front desk insisted that we should pay the full money at the time of check-in! Then called some manager and said we need to pay during checkout! While location of this building is good, all other things- food, front office, room cleanliness are terrible. Please stay away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudhi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days after a trip round the eats and north of the island. We had Sri Lankan friends to visit and we all had a great time. This hotel is probably about 3 stars and a bit tired but we were very comfortable. Most people only stayed one or two days when coming or going from the airport .We found the rooms comfortable and clean . The aircon was good. Internet a bit slow . We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We ate out sometimes as the hotel is on the "Negombo Strip" so it is an easy Tuc Tuc ride to a range of restaurants . We also ate in and enjoyed the Sri Lankan curry and rice . This is not the TAJ but a good experience

Room Tip: Best on the ground floor as you walk straight out on to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Right on the beach in Negombo and away from the vendors this is a nice place to stay if your standards re a little flexible. Rooms are dated but the price is right and staff is friendly. Breakfast is provided and it is right on the beach as well.

Room Tip: Ocean Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddiPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

the most shabby rundown hotel….not money put into it… food terrible….
overpriced……avoid at all costs its awful…..got bad stomach cramps after eating there…
pool is tiny and not deep, chairs around pool all broken..no money put into the place
just there to take your money….run down….awful awful awful

Room Tip: would not even rate this hotel its awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Although rather run down the basic needs of a stop near to the airport are here. A good pool, air conditioning, tv , good beach and food and drink. The rooms are ok but the shower tiles need re grouting.
If you are paying about £33 it a fair deal and on the same stretch as many hotels four times the price.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#35 of 43 in Negombo
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#14 of 43 in Negombo
1,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 43 in Negombo
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 43 in Negombo
911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 43 in Negombo
1,500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunset Beach

Address: No. 5 Carron Place | Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: $51 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunset Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing