We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location - Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camelot Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Lucca, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The location - Wow”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We ware there just to spend the day with my family and friends. So my review EXcludes hotel rooms and room services.

I'd give 10 stars for the location. The beach and the sea is right IN-FRONT. Difficult to make the decision on whether go to the sea or stay in the pool, Great setting.

Child friendly atmosphere, baby/ Kids pool available. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The changing rooms are spacious and the land was well maintained.

The hotel is lack of large parking space (10-15 slots max). But the security personnel helped us to squeeze our car in to tight parking slot.The buffet lunch was limited. But many Sri Lankan cuisines ware included. Once again the sun set, the beach and the pool are unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    228
    156
    51
    35
See reviews for
141
235
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spend the last day of our three weeks in Sri Lanka here, and honestly: We had a wonderful day reading and resting in the shadows by the pool and taking a last swim in the ocean. The location is splendid, right on the fine beach. The hotel itself though is a bit run-down. The aircon in our room was defect and made a terrible noise. It all reminded us of a budget-offer on Costa del Sol, including sunburnt pacage-tourists. And the breakfast is horrible! But then again, the service was very good, and we felt welcome. What to say? A good spot to land for your first night after a long flight - og last night before going home. Northing more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuneN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The location was wonderful, with direct access to the beach. The garden very beautiful with palm trees and flowers, and pool area was kept clean. The staffs, especially the daily managers, were very friendly and help some in any matters. The restaurant was good and some days there were surprises regarding fresh fish and lobsters. The breakfast buffet was also good with a great selection of dishes. The room was clean and had an excellent view over the beach and sea. The prize level of food and drink was rather cheap. We will for sure come back to that wonderful place. We can fully recommend the hotel both for short and longer stay. Maria and Joern, Denmark

Room Tip: The rooms in the new section are better and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for a night at Camelot on December 13. Although reasonably priced and well located, the room that we stayed in was not very well maintained. The mattress was thin and spongy, while the room and toilet had a shabby feel. The pool is really good though, and the beach is right on your doorstep. Good enough to spend a night in, but not too much longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Summer_Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for xmas 2013. Great location, right on the beach and superb sunsets.

Good: very friendly, superb Sri Lankan staff who are always willing to help and very friendly. Lovely pools, good beach bar, outstanding private beach. The food is all buffet, very varied and plentiful. Al le carte menu is varied and cheap. Lots for vegetarians to eat. Tuctuc on tap for small journeys, and available taxis for longer trips and tours. Very baby friendly, our 16 month old has never been so spoilt. Good, cheap and proper Sri Lankan eateries on the doorstep.

Best thing, feeling like you are somewhere different, not a global chain hotel that could be anywhere.

Even better if: bit shabby in places, but so what, doesn't affect your experience. Can be hassled by beach sellers, but where are you not. And they are really nice guys who give you best price.

Would definitely stay here again, some reviews mention planes, think I heard 5 in 7 days....

Come and stay here and enjoy Sri Lanka....

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Muggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've stayed at Camelot on more than one occasion as it's a safe bet in Negombo. The rooms are newly renovated and quite nice. All the room face the back of the hotel so it's quite silent as well. There's two nice pools with a bar next to it and the lounge chairs are separated from the beach with a small fence, which keeps the peddlers at a comfortable distance. The buffets are quite nice.

My only complaint is that internet only reaches the restaurant and lobby, not the rooms.

All in all, at the low end of Negombo prices and with a good standard, Camelot is a bargain.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies facing the beach. This is very nice if can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohannesBrodwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spend two weeks in Camelot Beach Hotel and the general impression is about FINE, nothing terrible happened and also nothing fantastic.

THe things i didn't like about the place:
- the smell in our room (we lived in a two floors building, as we later found out- the old one). So i personally had a great issue with the smell problem during all 2 weeks although my sister didn't at all.
- i also didn't like a bunch of people near the hotel territory trying to sell you any kind of stuff and bothering you with "HALO" like a thousand times a day.
- they have a huge problem with crows that literally stole from tourists whenever they leave bags unattended, poop on your bedstone if your are not carefull enough and make so loud noise talking too each other....

Nice things:

-the place is calm and the have a guarding at the front door and at the border territory with the beach
- houskeeping works good, they cleaned our room every day although it might be because we left dollar tips=)
- i liked the food, but i'm not too picky
- staff were pretty good and freindly

In the conclusion i would say that we chose the hotel coz it was the only one with vacancy and it was good enough to relax, warm your bones, sweem in the nice pool and go to several excurtions.

P.s. our room number was 117

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Мария Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#14 of 43 in Negombo
1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Beach Hotel

Property: Camelot Beach Hotel
Address: 345 Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#8 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the tourist zone of Negombo, Camelot Beach Hotel is an excellent venue to bask in the sun lazing around the beach all day long. With its close proximity to the airport, the hotel boasts of International styles with a Sri Lankan touch and unforgettable hospitality. Comfortable accommodation units are offered while guests can enjoy a range of facilities at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Camelot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Beach Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing