We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms & Service But noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House
Ranked #55 of 250 Negombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 boys and rented the family room. This seemed small in the pics but was enormously spacious when we got to it. There were 2 massive double beds a table with 4 chairs, a TV which we didn't test and 2 more chairs to watch it. The shower had hot water and we sat out on our a nice roomy balcony every night from which you can see the ongoings of the street.

The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was simple but delicious. My sons both really liked the staff and were even given presents from the shop to remind them of Sri Lanka.

We felt very comfortable and would definitely stay here again if we stopped in Negombo.

The church noise is indeed quite unacceptable, god knows why it has to be so loud (pun intended) but if you are staying only a short period (2 nights in our case) then it's not a problem.

On the plus side there was no church music on Christmas Eve morning!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Groovybaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 82 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Alas this place wasn't so bad. The rooms were nice, the staff were very nice. Only thing was we arrived at 5am, exhausted off a long haul flight, got into bed, and then it began, the constant music for the next 3 hours that sounded like it was coming from in our room. I'm not sure what the building was over the road, i'm guessing a church, but loud continuous music at 5am on a relaxing holiday i just can't abide

As for Negombo itself, it was convenient due to its proximity to the airport but i wouldn't go back in a hurry, especially given what the rest of Sri Lanka has to offer.

All in all, really nice and reasonably priced hotel, run by really nice people, just bring some ear plugs

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertrampspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's not long distance from airport to this nice & clean places. There're a lot of guest house in that area. This lovely guest house is just located opposite a church & elementary school.

We took a nap there and hang out to beach side. But if you wanna go to fish mkt, you'd better take a tutu.

The guest house is well managed. Staff will recommend his friend's bus for tour or rent service. But we still insist to go to bus station directly. It's more cost saving way to tour this country.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancymuii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Though the hotel is 2 years old, it is well-maintained. The rooms are clean and neat. The equipment are working. The TV is set a bit too high on the wall for viewing though.
The manager, Nalaka, is helpful and attend to the guests well.

Room Tip: The rooms are good - it is your choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for one night at this guest house on our arrival to Sri Lanka. We had pre-arranged a taxi with the guest house as our flight arrived at 1am. Unfortunately we didn't even see the "friendly owner that speaks great English" that other reviewers have commented on. Which was a shame as we were hoping that they would be able to help us organise a driver.
The room was basic but clean, the bathroom was spotless (especially compared to other guest houses), and there was a/c and hot water. The breakfast was very basic, and because the person who was working there at the time didn't speak any english we weren't able to ask for juice or tea etc, as they didn't understand anything we said!
There is a church opposite which is VERY noisy. After arriving so late at night we were then woken up at 5.30am with mass being blared out of speakers. This was repeated at 6.30 then 7.30 then 8.30. Do not stay here if you want a quiet room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent last two nights on Sri Lanka in this nice little hotel or betterguest house. Room was spotles, bathroom excellent, landlord is nice guy. He used to work in Italy as a chef, and then returned to Sri Lanka and built this place. So you get european standard of accomodation in SL.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schvrkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Quiet and family-run hotel near the beach in Negombo. Rooms small but nice and clean with air conditioning. Bathroom clean, new, and soap and towels. Wifi works in the room, but often breaks down. Satellite television channels available in a large number of programs. The breakfast included with the room rate are two of toast with jam and an omelette. For this juice and tea. I do not recommend. The owners very friendly and helpful in every situation. Proposed price to get to the airport too high, so I chose another driver. Hotel good, but too expensive for what it offers. Very close to the beach and restaurants in Negombo, but it is on a busy road. Good hotel for the last night before departure from Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poltramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Blue elephant boutique hotel
0.2 mi away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#17 of 250 in Negombo
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Palace
Sunrise Palace
#5 of 250 in Negombo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suriya Arana
Suriya Arana
#11 of 250 in Negombo
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fun Whales Guesthouse
Fun Whales Guesthouse
#19 of 250 in Negombo
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#21 of 250 in Negombo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House

Address: 204B Lewis Place, Negombo, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $23 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the coastal town of Negombo, 20 minutes away from the airport and 45 minutes drive to Metropolitan Colombo. Blue Elephant Guest is ideally situated in the heart of Sri Lanka’s most popular & oldest tourist resort that has known to attract a vast number of travelers from all over the world all around theyear since Sri Lanka became a popular tourist destination centuries ago. Blue Elephant Guest provides accommodation to holiday makers who wish to spend their holiday with friendsand loved ones in a convenient & safe location which has a tourist friendly atmosphere and is within awalking distance to many multi-cuisine restaurants that serve the best of food & beverages to suite anypalate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing