We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B in Negombo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House
Ranked #55 of 250 Negombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this guest house on line in advance of arriving in Sri Lanka and were very pleasantly surprised when we checked in. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotlessly clean with air con, fan, TV, hot water, small private terrace and well located for all your needs. We had booked 2 nights upon arrival and had also taken the risk of booking 3 nights for our last few days in Sri Lanka before the flight home - so glad we took that risk as we were more than happy to return to the same hotel - it was nice to finish the holiday with familiarity and friendly faces just the way we started it.
The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit juice, toast with butter and jam, tea or coffee and a small omelette which was cooked to perfection.
The owner is keen to know if you have any problems and is helpful if you need any information about getting around the area ie, tuktuk prices, where to go and how to get there etc.
If you get the chance email the owner direct to negotiate a price rather than booking on line and paying all the extra booking fees that we paid - I would definitely do that in the future and will definitely return to the Blue Elephant when I go back to Sri Lanka in 2 yrs time!!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND this guest house.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 5 & 6 on the top floor and would definitley recommend those as they have very...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Checked in after a late arrival to see a massive roaches scurrying about on the floor. He came in and out of view several times which leads me to believe that there may have actually been more than one.

Then there were gunshots outside - it was boxing day, so supposedly these were in celebration - but one random gunshot at 1am, and then another at round 4am? That doesn't quite seem celebratory to me - and were definitely not fireworks. I was honestly a bit terrified.

When I wasn't fearing for my life and ducking away from the windows - the bed and room were perfectly comfortable, and everything seemed clean despite the roaches. Breakfast was good.

Staff at the hotel were nice but the driver they arranged to pick us up from the airport (Laksiri Fernando) complained that I had written the wrong time to pick us up (which admittedly I had - although I had provided him with the correct flight number which he could have cross-referenced). Then he tried to sell my husband on his driving services for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Yes it is a quite new hotel with aircon and sattelite TV. My room had no balcony and after a fixing of the aircon which didn't work when we arrived the bed was covered with dirt. There was also dust under the bed.
The breakfastroom lacks daylight, as you can see on the picture, breakfast was ok but nothing special. The place has no atmosphere and is directly on the mainstreet of the tourist area in Negombo. You have to cross the street and walk through some houses to get to the beach ( 2 minutes).
Overall it has gotten quite expensive now, probably because they have only seven rooms and are on some bookingsites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62-stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've been to Negombo many times and have had a wide variety of hotel experiences from the filthy to the sublime -- the Blue Elephant is at the sublime end of this spectrum. Gorgeous, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good AC, incredibly helpful staff. Easily the nicest place I've been in Negombo and, for the money (30 USD-ish), one of the nicest in Sri Lanka and possibly all of South Asia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbkisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are thrilled to be the first people to write a review for this fantastic new B&B in Negombo. We had originally booked a room at The Palace Hotel just down the road (which was terrible, dont go there) but when we walked past the Blue Elephant were easily persuaded to switch hotels. The Blue Elephant has 7 rooms so it is a nice small size and it offers excellent value for money too. We spent a lovely last evening in Sri Lanka here and would highly recommend this place.

Specifically the great things about this place were that the owner and staff here were very friendly indeed, the hotel and rooms are nicely designed in contemporary style, there was
satellite TV, wifi and air-con in the room, the hotel felt very clean, the shower was strong and worked easily, we had a good breakfast (included in the price) and also very conveniently the owner runs an excellent gift shop downstairs where we were able to buy lots of lovely presents for people back home before getting on our flight. All in all VERY highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

5 nice days in September 2012 in Blue Elephant.
very clean, good service, nice design.
very quiet place.
we enjoyed our bedroom, nice bathroom (well maintained), and balcony .
we were very happy and can recommend this nice guest house : to singles, travelling friends and families...all!
not to forget for your last shopping...the quality batik shop in the ground floor.
two girl-friends from germany.
M.F. & S.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie france b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your valuable comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristinna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan D, Owner at Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Blue elephant boutique hotel
0.2 mi away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#17 of 250 in Negombo
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Palace
Sunrise Palace
#5 of 250 in Negombo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suriya Arana
Suriya Arana
#11 of 250 in Negombo
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fun Whales Guesthouse
Fun Whales Guesthouse
#19 of 250 in Negombo
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#21 of 250 in Negombo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House

Address: 204B Lewis Place, Negombo, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $23 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the coastal town of Negombo, 20 minutes away from the airport and 45 minutes drive to Metropolitan Colombo. Blue Elephant Guest is ideally situated in the heart of Sri Lanka’s most popular & oldest tourist resort that has known to attract a vast number of travelers from all over the world all around theyear since Sri Lanka became a popular tourist destination centuries ago. Blue Elephant Guest provides accommodation to holiday makers who wish to spend their holiday with friendsand loved ones in a convenient & safe location which has a tourist friendly atmosphere and is within awalking distance to many multi-cuisine restaurants that serve the best of food & beverages to suite anypalate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Elephant Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing