We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are reaching the end of an amazing stay at this hotel. The staff are superb in every way - so helpful, polite and they smile all the time showing us how they are proud to do their very best for the guests. Our room is so clean, spacious and just delightful. We have a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea. The food in the hotel is of the highest quality with a wonderful array of dishes. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a restful stay by the sea in Sri Lanka.
A huge thank you to the hotel staff who have helped to make this a truly memorable holiday. To make the hotel excellent, please consider some after-dinner entertainment in the lounge.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Jetwing Sea is all about hospitality and that very personal experience, and we are satisfied to read all your expectations we met during your stay with us. We can certainly agree that the real bonus for us, is to have wonderful people like you having holidayed with us.

Thank you for the amazing review posted on Trip Advisor! There is nothing more rewarding than reading a wonderful review from a guest who has had a wonderful experience whilst with us. Comments such as yours is what keeps us going and what keeps us wanting to achieve more and more, and it makes us so proud to be truly commended this way.

And I will not miss to share this with the entire team. We certainly would love to have you stay with us once more. Please feel free to contact me directly for matters you may think I could be of assistance while reserving your next stay at this lovely beach resort of Jetwing Sea.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    562
    195
    70
    35
See reviews for
303
715
84
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We got married at this hotel on the beach, in march 2014. Elvis and the hotel staff couldn't do enough and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was relaxed, clean and and a delightful standard. The food in the fish restaurant was superb and the wedding breakfast was amazing!! It had a wonderful view of the Indian ocean and the rooms were lovely and spacious.
Our wedding day was unforgetable and everything was well organised, intimate and faultless. There are lots of good restaurants to try, just avoid getting a tuk tuk outside the hotel as some did try and take advantage!! Whilst the hotel is not overly expensive compared to uk prices when going outside it is cheaper.
Overall we loved it and hope to go back in the future.

Room Tip: Pick the 1st floor as the views are better than sea level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

An excellent Trip Advisor review is what you have given us at Jetwing Sea following your stay with us, and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor.

There is nothing that brings us greater joy than knowing that we have been able to give you an experience like no other. The team here at the resort are very glad to know you had a memorable experience and making your wedding in Sri Lanka extra special.

It is a feeling that cannot be expressed in words, and it only encourages us to strive for greater heights. Thank you again and looking forward to seeing you back the resort and another extended stay with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The rooms are reasonably large and comfortable but overall this hotel is very tired and overdue for a makeover. The rooms smelt musty. The dining room is particularly shabby. The balconies have really old furniture that is not clean. The larger pool was quite nice and well looked after. I wouldn't recommend or stay at the Jetwing Sea again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oz-Jacksons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We do understand that the design of our hotel would not be to everyone’s taste, as we tend to be different in certain areas when compared more traditional hotels.

Aside from that, we have taken serious note of all your comments with regards to the bad smell and cleanliness and will work on the same to ensure improvements wherever possible.

Hope this will not deter your from visiting us in the future are sincerely apologize for any errors again on our part. Keeping your thoughts and comments in mind and looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely and warmest regards,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We just returned from Jetwing Sea (room 315) on 17th June. We had a most enjoyable holiday. However there were a few negatives - mostly trivial.
1 No face cloths provided or to be had.
2 Pool towels need replacing - rather frayed.
3 Set menu a bit limited, if like me you don't eat fish or chicken - to the extent most lunch times we had a bar snack.
4 I don't think the All Inclusive is worth taking in view of the meal prices there.
5 Beware, especially on All Inclusive, of the Full Moon or poya days - when no alcohol is served - you can drink from the mini bar in room but you pay over and above All Inclusive package - therefore you are paying twice!!
Now the positives - although not a beach lover on holiday ( we have a beautiful beach 5 mins from home)- this hotel has a beautiful setting right on the beach although because of monsoon season the red flag flew every day.
This hotel''s biggest asset is it's staff - they are wonderful. After unpacking we headed to the pool and en route we met the " lovely bartender"(his words) Asanka Herath who gave us a very warm welcome to Sri Lanka. He proved to be most helpful - procuring lighters for me and a very attentive poolside service.
The first day, first meal (lunch) we had a hygiene issue. I reported this to reception , Elvis specifically and within 20 minutes Elvis and Barandi visited us in our room - we were offered a suite ( in hindsight we wish we had taken this) - however we were tired after travelling for 19 hours and had already unpacked so we opted for an upgrade to our All Inclusive package which was set in place right away. Full marks for efficiency.
I would like to mention certain staff specifically although I might get the names wrong.
Our room steward, a charming fellow, made the most beautiful creations with towels - we had an elephant, a lotus flower and his " piece de resistance" was 2 huge swans, the bed covered in flowers and Good-Bye written in Palm leaves.
Back to Elvis, another charming fellow who always had time to speak and Barandi checking on service throughout our holiday,even knowing we had Bar Snacks for dinner!
Again the bar staff - Asanka Herath was exceptional ( shame he had 3 days off whilst we were there),Sisari with his wonderful smile and magic tricks, the other Asanka, Rose maker and always smiling, Romesh who seemed to adopt Asanka Herath's level of service in his absence and not forgetting Manchi. These guys all went the extra mile with a smile. The lifeguard was also very friendly and informative. The Dining Room staff were also pretty efficient, but because of my issues with the set menu, we had 6 lunches and 2 dinners from the bar from their snack menu and also we had different tables and waiters during the week but they were all welcoming.
The staff definitely make this hotel.
We stayed in a DeLuxe room in the North Wing - far more spacious, especially the bathroom and more modern decor.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms in the North Wing are more spacious and more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505elizabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review is absolutely Super! We really enjoyed reading it, and it has been very encouraging to our entire team. We love the fact that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that we have been able to leave an imprint of Jetwing Sea in your memory.

It has been nothing but a pleasure to have served you and taken care of you whilst with us and we are so very happy that you have enjoyed almost every single aspect of Jetwing Sea, from the service on arrival to your departure.

However, we have noted and taken seriously the various issues you pointed out to our attention and rest assured that we will be working on those in order to rectify them in the future.

We love the fact that you have promised to return to us one day and hope it will be much sooner. Until then warm regards from all of us and hope you will not miss to contact me directly for matters your may think I could be of any assistance while reserving your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

i think this was used to be seashells back in the day where i spent few nights now it had been upgraded cool place where you can have a night with your family by the beach. rooms are comfy nothing flash nice clean toilets good size tele. breakky was ok not too many varieties you find usually in sri lanka hotels but still good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0saliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We loved reading your review of your stay at Jetwing Sea posted on Trip Advisor, and happy to have shared your comments to our team here at Jetwing Sea.

It was our pleasure to have given you a very personal experience at Jetwing Sea of course better known as Seashells a few years back, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to the service and the food.

We look forward to your next visit to the property and please do contact me if i could be of assistance in planning your next holiday in Negombo. Ayubowan!

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Jetwing Sea Negombo. Our first night we were given the standard room which did not meet our expectations at all. The condensation in the room was dreadful causing wet floors and walls, even our bed linen was damp, very bad sleep because of conditions.The bathroom was so small you could only fit one person at a time in there. Not what I expected at all from a JETWING Hotel, they really need to upgrade these rooms.

Next morning we approached Reception and requested an upgrade to a Superior room which they kindly accommodated us. This room was truly excellent, luxurious in fact with a huge bathroom and fantastic decor, comfortable bed, lounge area.

The service at the Hotel was very friendly. The breakfast was ample with a large range of buffet choices. I would recommend this Hotel if you wanted accommodation close to airport.

Room Tip: Do not choose standard rooms, insist on new wing with updated rooms in the 300 block if within your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesandPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

It was our pleasure having you with us and very encouraging to read that you enjoyed the free upgrade to the Deluxe room which I am sure would have been a quite memorable experience for you.

The homeliness coupled with the luxury of a star class hotel, is what sets us apart from the rest, and we hope we will see you again at Jetwing Sea in the very near future.

Until then warm regards from all of us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We arrived into Colombo very late and were whisked to our hotel, Jetwing Sea. Rooms were comfortable and quiet, breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful but the hotel is showing evidence of becoming a little tired. It is in a convenient location close to the airport (but no aircraft noise) so I would return again but only for a 1-2 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

Thank you so much for a lovely review as it is a real pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the warmth and uniqueness of the service at Jetwing Sea. Your thoughts are a great great encouragement and i will certainly pass this on to the team.

We do look forward to seeing you again and please feel free to contact me directly for any assistance you may need for your next reservation with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Property: Jetwing Sea
Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing