We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good first hotel in Sri Lanka”
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights before going on a tour with two children. It was great being so close to the airport as we were on the beach that afternoon. Our rooms were interconnecting and very spacious, very clean and the beds were lovely. The buffet food was fine but perhaps could have done with a little more choice for the kids. The pool and beach were excellent, the staff and service was very good.
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

You have delighted us all with your wonderful words and thank you so much for such a lovely review posted on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Sea!

It is certainly very encouraging for the entire team to learn that you have enjoyed our rooms and the service and that you recommend Jetwing Sea to the fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. While assuring you of the point highlighted by you with regards to the menu choice for kids will receive our highest attention, we look forward to the day of your return to us and hope it will be a longer one.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for matters I could be of any assistance with for yet another memorable stay at this home away from home, Jetwing Sea!

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,500)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our Sri Lankan stay, before flying to the Maldives. We were only in the hotel for about 16 hours, but it didn't make a great impression. I will start by saying that the location, right on the beach in Negombo, is lovely. When we arrived after a long car journey, the reception staff were very attentive, and our room was great: clean, modern, spacious.

Unfortunately, things went a little downhill from there. After our long journey we wanted to cool off in the pool. One of the pools was surrounded by deck chairs, covered in towels, but with no one using them. We had to talk to 3 different people to get just a towel each and then were directed to the other pool as we were told this one was 'full'.

When we went inside for lunch, it took us 15 minutes to get someone to get us a beer. We gave up waiting for wait staff to order food and sought out menus ourselves, placing our order at the bar. Our plates then sat on our table for well over an hour. This was probably something to do with the fact that two waiters were 'busy' chatting up two female guests, and others were playing volleyball with the guests. I'm all for keeping the guests entertained, but not at the expense of people who want to buy drinks/food, and don't want to sit with dirty plates on their table for hours.

The evening BBQ buffet on the beach was again, OK. The food was decent, but it was a genuine shame there were no Sri Lankan options. Also, as we had to leave very early to catch a flight, we missed breakfast and were given a breakfast bag, which was unfortunately an inedible selection of curling cheese sandwiches and stale cakes.

This hotel could has the potential to be a 5, but they really need to get some of the simple essentials right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfilsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tri Advisor following your stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your constructive and encouraging comments.

The aim when Jetwing Sea was created was to be different from the conventional service which each and every member of the team is trained for. It is very disheartening to read that we have somewhat failed in our efforts in doing so.Thank you for bringing up to my attention the evident lack of internal communication and I would like to thank you again for your very valuable observations which we are presently addressing.

However, we understand that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and we are really happy to have made your stay with us a memorable one. With the hope of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night after our flight and was the first of our seven hotels.
I had read in previous reviews a mixed bag stating some of the rooms are poor,and if you go of to the left side of the hotel you will find these rooms.
My first impression was that it was poorly maintained,dirty,and mouldy.
But i then thought you get what you pay for,wrong,at $250 a night i was amazed,i looked at two other rooms with the same outcome.The beach and breakfast are good but would not recommend staying here unless you want to upgrade to $350,which is not worth it

Room Tip: Hopefully go of to the right side of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sotbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We very concerned to read about your feedback and it is clear to us that we have failed to make your stay a memorable one and that saddens us greatly. Rest assured that your message will be conveyed to all of our colleagues and we will follow up and rectify some of our deficiencies in the very near future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future to experience our improvements and please do not miss to contact me directly for matters concerning your next reservation with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

amazing Food,amazing services, hospitable staff. a service in bathroom wasnt working when we told that we are on honey moon they upgraded us to a superior suite free of cost & even provided us packed breakfast before the kitchen was open in order for us to catch our flight 7am with stuffed tummies

i would highly recommend it to any honeymooners out there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Malik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Making your special time at Jetwing Sea that much more special and memorable is what we are here for and it was nothing short of a pleasure to have done just that.

We were thrilled that you have been happy whilst with us and thank you for some lovely comments on Trip Advisor and your recommendation of our hotel to any honeymooners and fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We have shared your thoughts with the entire team and all associates were very pleased to hear of your feedback.

We look forward to the day when we will see you once again at Jetwing Sea, to relive the wonderful moments you spent with us. Please be in touch with me directly for matters I may be of any assistance while you reserve your next stay with Jetwing Sea!

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night at as it was so close to the Colombo Airport. Fantastic location right on the beach in Negombo, which is a lovely alternative to Colombo. Our first stay in Sri Lanka and what a start! Our room was fantastic, the beach was amazing, and the breakfast we ate at the hotel was buffet style and all very tasty. The hotel has two pools, we only swam in one but that was over 25m long which is amazing for a hotel pool. We only stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed for longer as we really enjoyed Negombo and this hotel. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsion_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow! What a great Trip Advisor review of your stay at Jetwing Sea and the recommendation is like icing on the cake!

Thank you for some lovely comments about your experience at Jetwing Sea and we were very happy to note that it has been a memorable one. Service is an area in which we always endeavor to achieve the highest possible standards and therefore we are very pleased that you have been satisfied with the overall service at our hotel.

We do look forward to the day when you will be returning to us for a longer stay so that we get the opportunity to truly pamper you in the luxury that is unique to Jetwing Sea!

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife & I have just returned from a 13 day holiday in Sri Lanka, during which we stayed at four hotels. The Jetwing Sea in Negombo was our first hotel, where we stayed for two nights.

Kuoni had recommended the Jetwing Sea as our first hotel as it was a relatively short journey after our flight. Our room was spacious and very well equipped and immaculately clean. It had a large bed with plenty of additional room and had a large bath with a UV down light and a large shower. The room had a safe and a fridge and we found robes, an iron and an ironing board and slippers in a cupboard. The beach was clean and clutter free although the solitary pool had some scum on the water and many of the mosaic tiles were beginning to fall off. The staff were welcoming, industrious and attentive.

Unfortunately my wife was violently sick on both mornings after breakfast, we are both seasoned travellers and used to the climate and to spicy / seasoned food. There were only a couple of dishes cooked to order for breakfast, either fish or something from the egg station, all of the other food was either laid out on open plates in an air conditioned room or in warmers in the main dining area. The selection of food was the poorest of the four hotels we stayed at and regrettably was at best luke warm, despite the warmers. This I subsequently discovered was because they set up the food over an hour before opening of the dining (I even took a time stamped photograph for the food being laid out an hour before dinner on the second night). The selection of food was the poorest of the four hotels and many of the dishes were not replenished often enough, making the choices even more limited. In some forty years of travelling abroad this is the only time either of us have had any major stomach problems and I can only surmise that my wife’s severe vomiting on two consecutive days was down to the preparation and temperature of the food at this hotel, which is a shame as everything else about the hotel was as we had anticipated. If the food issue is something that can be addressed by the management then it would be a good initial location but only for a short stay as, like many Sri Lankan hotels, there is little else to do other than relax or go out on an excursion.

Whilst our room exceeded our expectations the overall impression of the hotel was that it was a little rough around the edges as many things weren't quite as well maintained as they should have been. Other reviews mentioned the crows, they were certainly there in abundance and although initially amusing they did eventually become annoying, if for no other reason than the sheer abundance of crows. This is purely down to the location and there is very little that the hotel can do to dissuade them.

Whilst our room was excellent, if you don’t want to risk the food then try another hotel as the alternative of eating out in the town is not recommended by the travel representatives.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

A heartfelt thank you to you for reviewing your stay at Jetwing Sea and for your very constructive thoughts posted on Trip Advisor.

We at Jetwing Sea always endeavored to give our guests a stay experience like no other, something very unique, and do accept our sincere apology if we have failed to live up to your expectation in regards to the food preparation and presentation. However we do our best to make sure that we meet the needs and wants of each and every person who stays with us, and rest assured that all points highlighted by you will be addressed and corrected immediately.

We certainly were very concerned to hear about your wife’s discomfort on two occasions and the matter has our full attention. We have not experienced such situation from other guests in the past but nevertheless we will review the set up time and preparation of the dishes with the kitchen team.

We were however happy to note that you have enjoyed the accommodation and the service provided by our associates. We have also taken to heart your comments with regards to some maintenance matters, which will be taken care of as soon as possible. Thank you for pointing this out to our attention.

I hope you will give us one more chance by opting to stay with us on your next visit and we would love to take that opportunity to give you an out of this world experience.
Hoping you will not miss to stay in touch with me directly for any assistance you may require my attention while reserving your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a tour of Sri Lanka, we were due to returner the end of the tour but changed hotels - couldn't face a second stay!
Room was fine, we were in the new block, the corridors resembled prison but I could live with that.
Breakfast - sweaty fly infested buffet with some dubious mouldy bread
Lunch mouldy bun but the staff were not overly bothered
Service - it took almost a hour and 3 attendants to get a towel at poolside for my children - a shabby ripped towel eventually arrived.
Poolside drinks - took about 30 mins and a can of beer was handed to me - no glass
The dining room was grim, slow service, wild squirrels running over the clean laid tables- ready for people to dine on!
The hotel is 3* at best. Apparently the jetwing beach is better (local guides/drivers seem to think so)but can not speak from experience
It is a shame about this hotel, better management could address many of the issues.

Room Tip: Just don't
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We are truly sorry that your experience with us has been less than perfect. If our service has let you down in any way, then it is certainly a serious matter to us. We have taken very serious note of all your comments, and can assure you that we will work on the same and improve wherever possible, so that situations of this kind will not be repeated at our hotel.

We do trust that you will look beyond this incident and find it in your heart to give us another chance to give you an improved experience during your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for queries where I could be of any assistance with.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,466 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $101 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing