We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro's and con's”
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pro's and con's”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for one night. The hotel is located in the beach. Arrived at night very tired and the girl who made our check in was extremely kind, she gave us an upgrade and was looking forward to any request. Room was very good, modern, with sea view and a huge bathroom with great amenities.
A/C worked fine but the room was really noisy, almost every sound from the outside felt loud making it impossible for me to rest properly.
Food was awful, specially dinner. They hadn't no variety and was every option was really ugly.

Room Tip: Pay an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juanignaciof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Sea and the wonderful sentiments posted on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to have been able to give you an enjoyable and memorable stay by giving you the attention to all your requests as we do with all of our guests.
We were however disappointed to learn that the quality of the food did not meet your expectations and please accept our sincere apologies for this. Rest assured that your constructive feedback will be discussed with the chefs and the team of Jetwing Sea, so measures to rectify our shortcomings will be out in place.

We do hope that you will return to Jetwing Sea with our assurance of an improved food presentation so that your next stay with us will indeed be even more memorable.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    592
    203
    71
    38
See reviews for
316
746
90
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Jetwings dominate Negombo, and as you drive past them on your way to stay at the sea you get excited,they ll look incredible. So does the Sea from its reception, however as soon as you leave the reception you see that the building wasn't given the best of design. It looks dirty and potentially unfinished.
The restaurant menu isn't the greatest , potentially a bit too touristy, we chose to eat at Lords instead in our one night stay. The room however , wow it was incredible, huge bathroom , huge bedroom , great balcony over looking the Sea overall saved our impression of this hotel. Staff also very pleasant .

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mitten123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to Jetwing Sea on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that the design of the restaurant and building was not up to your expectations, but was glad to read that you were able to have a comfortable night stay in our large and comfortable rooms and were well looked after by everyone.
The hotel has been designed by one of Sri Lanka's leading architect and might differ from other type of resorts you have experienced. But I can assure you that the building and all what goes with it is complete and reflects what the architect wanted to achieve.
Thank you again for staying with us, and if I can ever be of any assistance in planning your next visit to Jetwing Sea, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We staying in the side of the hotel which is yet to be renovated but despite that the room was welcoming and clean. The shower was very efficient and the huge bed very comfortable. We stayed here for 10 nights and enjoyed every minute. The food was superb and we always found something to eat at the buffet. The staff were exceptionally friendly with a great sense of humour and we always felt very well looked after. The beach was beautiful and we enjoyed swimming in the sea on the days when the yellow flag was flying.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room so you could walk straight out ot the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We loved every single word of your wonderful review of Jetwing Sea posted on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. A warm and sincere thank you from the entire Jetwing Sea team!

We at Jetwing Sea, always work towards giving our guests the most personalized service as much as possible, and it was our pleasure to have served you. We understand that when you are on holiday, you must be looked after at all times so you can enjoy every minute of your stay and we are very pleased that we have been able to do just that.

We werehappy that you have had a great experience with us, and would love to see you again in the very near future at Jetwing Sea. Do keep in touch for any matters to which I could be of assistance in planning your next visit to us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Jetwing Sea Hotel for 2 nights after flying in from Heathrow. We flew direct with Sri Lankan airlines who were superb and I would highly recommend them. The service, appearance of the flight crew, food and free drinks was great, no complaints at all. It was good that the hotel was just a short 25 minute trip from the airport. Staying here gave us 2 nights to climatise to the Sri Lankan way of life. The hotel seemed very quiet (we stayed 5th and 6th Jan). We had a superior ground floor room. The bed was sssoooo comfortable! Big tv, complimentary flip flops which came in handy!!! There was a terrace outside the room which was lovely to sit and watch the sun set. The pool was lovely, a really good size, nice temperature and clean. We were on a DBB basis so bought drinks and snacks at the bar during our stay, reasonable prices for hotel services (much cheaper than the uk!). The service was very good and the food all breakfast, lunch and dinner was great, no complaints from us at all. The background music seemed to repeat itself during the day which was a little annoying (only so much pan pipes you can listen to!!!) but we were there just 2 days. We enjoyed walking along the beach, the sea was very warm but we only paddled as it looked a little rough. There were beach sellers about but if you just say no then they remember you next time and don't bother you again and they aren't offended. We would certainly recommend the Jetwing Sea hotel for a couple of nights, any longer I would go for the last hotel we spent a week in at the end of our tour which was the Avani Kalutara Resort.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was spacious and air conditioning worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieSueCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Jetwing Sea for your stay in Negombo and for your nice review posted on Trip Advisor.

Your comments were read with much enthusiasm by the entire Jetwing Sea team, and we were most impressed by the recommendations you made of the resort to fellow reviewers. Thank you for that.
We are looking forward to the day you would return back to us, and are awaiting to pamper you once again amid the cool relaxing atmosphere of Jetwing Sea. Meanwhile feel free to contact me for any matters you may think I could be of assistance while planning your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked a superior room and received a small, very tatty, dark and totally unacceptable room. The bathroom was so small and dark that two people were unable to get into it at the same time and everything was chipped or broken. It was so bad that we refused to stay. The tiling around the pool outside these rooms is brown with age/dirt and the reception area has nothing going for it. We were forced to pay for an upgrade to a deluxe room in order to find something contemporary and comfortable. This is most definitely not a 4star hotel. I would say the upgraded rooms in the deluxe wing would be acceptabe as standard rooms in a 4 star UK hotel and the standard ones in this hotel are not good enough for a 2star rating in the UK. The staff are lovely and the position is super but I would say don't go to this hotel until they can get their act together.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LC825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor and we would like to thank you for your kind comments in regards to the service from our associates. This indicates that your were taken care of by everyone in the hotel during your stay with us, which is certainly very important to us.
We were certainly concern to learn that you "forced" to pay for an upgrade, as this is certainly not the way we intend to treat our guests. I am made to understand, after investigating the matter, that indeed you have paid for the upgrade to the next room category but after a significant discount of 40% from the normal upgrade fee, for which you have willingly agreed by signing the registration card prior to check-in.
On another note, your opinion and views relating to the standard of the hotel are taken seriously and I can assure you that necessary steps are taken to rectify some of the issues you observed.
We would love to have you visiting Jetwing Sea again to experience what we are all about, and let us ensure that on your next visit you will see that your expectations are met without exceptions.
Do keep in touch for any matters you may think I could be of assistance in planning your next visit to us and until then warm regards from everyone at Jetwing Sea.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the jetting sea for 2 nights to unwind from the 11 hour journey and before embarking on a 10 day tour of the island. For that purpose it was fine. It is a hotel that looks more appealing when the sun shines. When we arrived it was cloudy with showers and first impression was of a faceless concrete block. Similarly, the refurbished rooms seem to involve a lot of unpainted concrete, a look that seem to prevail in many hotels here. Unfortunately while they are trying to make it contemporary it felt more like unfinished. We stayed in room 122 which was on the ground floor and overlooked one of the pools. Luckily it was quiet enough but had it been very busy you would have had no privacy as with many of the downstairs rooms.
The breakfast buffet was fine with plenty of choice. The evening buffet was mixed as with all hotels here. Some good dishes, some bad and usually not very hot. We chose to eat in the seafood restaurant on the second night and it was superb.
The staff were friendly and helpful although service was generally very slow.
The beach was lovely although as with much of this coastline you often cannot swim in the sea due to strong currents. There were the usual locals selling various things but they were not as pushy as in some countries.
All in all it was fine for a couple of nights but I would not have wanted to be there for much more than that.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room away from the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Jetwing Sea posted on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.
Taste is somehow different for everyone and we do respect each traveler’s preferences.
We are sorry that we were unable to inspire you to the point we have managed to inspire many others. We do agree that the design of the re-furbished Jetwing Sea is somewhat different from other places and has a uniqueness of its own.
Nevertheless we thank you for your feedback and do value your opinion. Let me take this opportunity to thank you as well fro your kind comments on the food and service in general and I have noted the areas we can improve on.
It is our sincere wish to see you visit Jetwing Sea once more in the near future and until then warm regards from all of us at Jetwing Sea.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night before starting a tour (which I would recommend doing) so we had limited time here. The reception area is strange in the way it is arranged but the staff were welcoming and were helpful and concerned when our driver was late arriving the following day. The setting is great - right on a nice beach with good sand and swimmable sea. Due to the lack of time we didn't walk along the beach. We were on the first floor and the balcony overlooked the sea. The rooms are very nice - spacious, modern, clean etc. There is glass between the bedroom and large bathroom, presumably so you can bathe and see the view (at a stretch) but some people might prefer to pull the blind down! Included in out package for the night was a free spa treatment and we had a massage. The spa is nice and the staff friendly, if a little tentative and inexperienced. The food was excellent and the service good. What let the whole experience down was the pool area which was in need of renovation - there were tiles missing and it seemed run down. There were hawkers on the beach (the pool is pretty much on the beach) but they were friendly. It was fine for the night but not the quality of hotel I would want for a beach break (although as I said the rooms were nice).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the pool and restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miscanthus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

The service and hospitality we strive to offer you at Jetwing Sea reflects true Sri Lankan hospitality, and it is a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were well looked after by our team Team Jetwing Sea.
Thank you for a lovely review posted on Trip Advisor by whom we have been awarded “Travelers’ Choice 2013 Winner” very recently.
We do look forward to your next visit with us with much enthusiasm, perhaps for a longer stay and we would certainly take another opportunity to give you that unique and memorable experience you were looking for. Until then warm regards from all of us at Jetwing Sea and do keep in touch for matters you may think I could be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 43 in Negombo
1,430 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 43 in Negombo
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 43 in Negombo
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Property: Jetwing Sea
Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing