We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel without being outstanding”
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel without being outstanding”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated near Columbo airport in the beach resort of Negumbo. We went for a deluxe bedroom with a sea view and were not disappointed. We had a large room with balcony, a large king size bed and a nice bathroom. The hotel has 2 pools and a spa and treatment centre (we didn't make use of it). The staff were really lovely and couldn't do enough to help. The food the the restaurant was fairly good - both traditional Sri Lankan and European. There was also public beachfront (I don'y think this was exclusive to the hotel) - nice golden sand - and it would be safe to swim in the sea - we didn't venture in as it was a bit rough when we visited.The interior and exterior of the hotel we felt was a bit drab and could do with some t&c.

Room Tip: Best to go for a deluxe room , with a sea view , on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Jetwing Sea on Trip Advisor. We are greatly encouraged by your kind words regarding the food, service of our associates and the rooms at Jetwing Sea which make us that much more grateful to guests such as yourself who choose to stay with us and offer positive feedback!

We are also glad that we have been able to give you a lasting impression of Jetwing Sea and hope we will have the honor of welcoming you back to Jetwing Sea in the future.
Until then, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assitance.

Sincerely,
Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    589
    200
    71
    36
See reviews for
313
741
89
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was the last hotel my husband and I stayed in on our honeymoon in Sri Lanka.

The staff were friendly and the room was huge (as was the bathroom) and very nice, with a large balcony.

The pool was lovely and the food was very good, and it's very nice to be practically sitting on the beach while you eat.

We had a very enjoyable stay here, and it is very convenient for the airport (only 20 minutes away).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was very nice reading your review of Jetwing Sea posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that we have been able to make such an impression on you in such a short time. We do hope you will come again to Jetwing Sea for a much longer stay, so that you will be able to fully experience what we are all about.

See you soon at Jetwing Sea!

Sincerely,
Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a fantastic tour of Sri Lanka for our honeymoon. The other hotels we had stayed in had been fantastic but this was a huge disappointment. It was very concrety which probably contributed to The room being full of condensation. The walls and floor were soaking wet and the whole atmosphere damp. After 4 people had come to look at the room and I had visited reception we finally got moved. The new room was adequate but lacked several items described in the room info. Hair dryer, robes, slippers etc. It was also noisy from the traffic on the adjoining road. Staff were friendly but didn't appear to have been trained to anywhere near the same level as other hotels we stayed in and lacked charm. They also looked quite scruffy in comparison to other places. Breakfast was basic. Would definetly not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are truly disappointed to learn about the 'ordinary' impression Jetwing Sea has left on you!
Since the start of the monsoon we are experiencing quite humid weather conditions in Sri Lanka causing dampness when the room temperature is not at the expected level which we hope you understand is totally beyond our control. The in room dampness is mainly due to the constant opening of doors and windows. This has also prompted us to display a message requesting to refrain from changing the air conditioner temperature level. However your feedback on certain missing room amenities, the road noise and the approach of the associates is well noted and rest assured that necessary action will be taken accordingly.
We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Sea in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager,
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for 11 nights at the end of May after a short stay in Dubai.

Check in quick and efficient and was taken straight to our Deluxe room. I had e-mailed the hotel direct, to have a room on the top floor to get the best view of the ocean, which we were given.

The room was very spacious and loved the blue lighting over bath but never used it, preferring the large walk in shower which was great.
The room had a safe, robes slippers and iron & board plus tea and coffee making facilities.

The only criticism of the room was the lack of hanging space and storage for people staying for the longer duration as this was totally inadequate.

The staff are a credit to this hotel, from managers to the cleaners we had very good service from all of them and we did not tip until the end of our stay.

We found the trips were very expensive if you went through the tour operator but we went with a local guy named Sharath who took us down the Dutch canals into the lagoon and river for a faction of the cost. His knowledge of the area is phenomenal and he saw the wildlife in really obscure places which we would have missed. You will find him around the beach most days. Such a nice guy.

Food – We were all-inclusive but was certainly not expecting the quality of food we were served. The set menu was 4 courses and each course was presented beautifully. These were mainly served at lunch and every other night with a buffet being served in between. For AI this was fine dining and probably the best we have experienced.

Just one small criticism, we felt the pool in front of the deluxe rooms could have been set out much better. It was a lovely pool but the area only had a few sun beds on grass and on the beach but did not have a bar that could be used by AI, you could only use the bar at the other pool which was not as nice as the other.

All in all we had a very relaxing time and would return.

Room Tip: The higher the floor in the deluxe wing the better the views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Anticipating and full-filing your requirements is what we do best at Jetwing Sea. Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We do not have the words to express how grateful we are to you for your wonderful comments about Jetwing Sea. The fact that we have been able to make such a great impression have made us real proud of what we do to make your stay the best possible ever.

Jetwing Sea is certainly a great place to relax and unwind leaving behind a busy work schedule. And we hope you were able to do just that!

Thank you for your nice comments with regards to all hotel associates the food and the constructive criticism those which are very important in correcting ourselves.
It has been a real pleasure on our part to have served you, and hope you had a great holiday in sunny Sri Lanka, especially at Jetwing Sea.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager,
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
231 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed our first night and our last 3 nights there.
First night we had the standard room with halfboard. Food is brilliant (even when you eat from the Menu instead of buffet) - still for me the best hotel-buffet we had in 3 weeks travelling.
Standard room are a bit small and the bathrooms toooo tiny. Huge Television! Free Wifi also working in the rooms. Beach very nice and cleaned up. Restaurant with view fantastic. Beach-Sellers were ok but it's right they wait for you when you are in the pool.
The last 3 nights we booked standard room but the TV didn't work. Because they couldn't fix it we got a free upgrade to the deluxe one which is fantastic. Sooo big and the biggest bathroom (with shower and bathtub) in Sri Lanka. We also had flipflops and bathrobes.
Air-Con worked well - no complain about this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe if you can afford it - worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your review posted on Trip Advisor is so encouraging that it made us smile over and over again. Thank you for that from the bottom of our hearts and we loved having you with us. Our service and specially the food is something we take pride in and it is very encouraging to note that you enjoyed our free upgrade to a Deluxe room.
This homeliness true to the words coupled with the luxury of a star class hotel is what sets us apart from the rest, and we hope we will see you again at Jetwing Sea in the very near future.

Until then warm regards from all of us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I did wonder about this hotel and the food following previous Tripadvisor reviews however I was really pleased. The hotel staff were very welcoming, helpful, attentive and friendly which really made our stay a pleasure.

The food was very good for hotel buffet style food, both breakfast end evening meal and the a la carte was beautifully presented and lovely. The bar snack food was very good and excellent value.
The restaurant was simply lovely with beach side seating and attentive friendly waiting staff.

The rooms ( we had the deluxe rooms) were clean, modern and had great views of the Indian Ocean.

The spa was excellent and good value.

We didn't find the beach sellers too much of a problem - a friendly no thank you to them did the job to deter them every time.

All in all a fantastic stay - would totally recommend a stay here to chill and relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room the third floor is a little quieter but ask for assistance with your luggage a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrown35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

A gem of a review posted on Trip Advisor. Receiving praise such as this for Jetwing Sea from someone who has experienced hospitality in more than eleven cities the world over is certainly something to feel proud of! Thank you very much! The entire Jetwing Sea team was ecstatic reading your lovely comments. The hotel does offer a truly unique experience and it is quite easy to fall in love with it. One of our greatest strengths at Jetwing Sea, is the service we offer with a smile on our faces simply because it is something we really enjoy doing. I am truly grateful for your kind comments and it is rewarding to know that your stay with us was a memorable experience.

Thank you again for the kind sentiments and the recommendation of Jetwing Sea to all our on line viewers and I do hope to see you again back with us in the very near future.

Sincerely

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

On arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was spacious and had a huge bathroom. The pillows were soooo comfy, I wish I could buy some in the Uk.

Hotel staff was so friendly and could not do more to help you, we went half board and could not complain about the quality of the food, there was such a wide selection to suit every taste.


The only downside to our stay were the beach sellers. There weren't that many of them and they only came in the morning but they were particularly pushy and if you were in the pool, they would wait for you. I think the security staff on the beach could do more to get rid of them

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about Jetwing Sea posted on Trip Advisor…. We greatly appreciate them.

Upgrading you to a deluxe room was just our way of showing our generosity and ensuring that we have gone beyond your expectations and your words of praise confirm that.

We are glad that you enjoyed your meals at Jetwing Sea, and our only regret is the vendor’s presence which disturb you. Rest assured your feedback is taken seriously and will be addressed accordingly.
We are also glad that we have been able to give you a lasting impression of our hotel and looking forward to welcoming you once more at our little comfy sea resort, Jetwing Sea.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager
Jetwing Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 42 in Negombo
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 42 in Negombo
1,771 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 42 in Negombo
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Property: Jetwing Sea
Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing