We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
315
521
207
56
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
315
521
207
56
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka great holiday sea view nice pool beach sellers the general manager elephant orphanage clean beach palm trees long flight beach area large balcony curry a la carte menu buffet style lovely beach restaurant staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Had a business dinner with my colleagues. Very spacious hotel. Chairs were Nicely arranged, Staff service is very goo. There were excellent food variety at buffet but foods were not tasty as expected.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visvakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ayubowan!!

Thank you for visiting Goldi Sands Hotel with your colleagues and for sharing your experience with the other Trip advisor visitors as well.

We are happy that you had an excellent time at Goldi Sands and please do visit us again for an over night stay.

Assuring you of our best services and personal attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

Booked this hotel as it was mid-price and not a large hotel - must say was pleasantly surprised - Yes it is a little bit faded and jaded but was extremely clean
Our room was quite large - with wall mounted TV - don't know what was available didn't turn it on. There was a hairdryer in the room and next to a mirror!! I would say if you don't want to style your hair only dry it - its sufficient. We had one power point in the room that a UK plug fitted the rest needed an adaptor - which you can hire from reception for 200 Rupees which is refundable.
There was a safe in the wardrobe.
The bathroom was a good size with towels changed every day - although very clean it is slightly old looking
We also had a large patio area - but as it was so hot and offered no shade we didn't use.
Breakfast: Enough to keep most people happy - toast, fruit, cereal, cakes - a selection of currys and rice etc - also oats and pancakes - I think there was beans and grilled tomatoes and an area where you can get Fried Eggs or Omelettes. Don't think there was a full English option but then again if you can't manage a week or 2 without perhaps you should reconsider leaving the country?
But what I think makes this hotel is the staff - they were all very helpful and lovely. The beach area isn't as clean as it could be and whilst we were there apparently a group of people had had a party on the beach and not cleaned up after themselves - so I took it upon myself to bring bottles back - but the next day there was a group of people and machines on the beach cleaning up!
Didn't use the Spa so can't comment
Also I think the work being carried out next door is now slowing down - on the days we were at the hotel it was mostly tapping etc
Overall must say enjoyed our stay - but we generally only use hotels as a base and somewhere to sleep - for this the hotel was great - extremely clean and comfortable.
Will add that - pavements in Negombo are very uneven - so no high heels ladies - and we had power cuts most nights - so if you have a small torch or torch facility on phone - remember to take out with you

Room tip: We had room 107
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4gomadinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

We stayed at the Goldi Sands for three nights and found it a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. The staff were very helpful & friendly.
the food is very good and not overly expensive, the evening buffet is great value & offers a good selection also try the Sri Lankan curry from the ala-carte menu. We were told that all the food is prepared in house and they only use local produce
The in house tour desk was very useful and provided us with some great day trip options
Overall a very good place to stay

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

We stayed here in March 2019. The hotel itself is well positioned, there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby. It is on the beach (which could be beautiful if they cleared the rubbish away daily). We booked last minute with TUI and it was an all-inclusive holiday. We were treated like 2nd class citizens, the bar man was reluctant to serve us, even pretending to put Gin in with the tonic (I saw his antics) and we challenged him. He denied it of course. We felt like we were begging to be served by one particular member of the team, which is totally unacceptable. The management need to train the staff to treat everyone equally. Other guests were served on the beach, we were ignored. The waiters literally said "Hi" and walked past us. Not sure if they are trained this way by the management or if maybe they think they won't get a tip. Which they would have done, of course. We were seated for lunch in different areas, where other guests had reserved tables, not sure what that's all about! The food was generally OK, but we don't really like buffet so ate dinner out every evening in one of the nearby restaurants.

All in all we had a nice time, generally the staff are very friendly and helpful, except the odd one. The hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with a make over in certain areas. We were lucky and had a huge room with a big balcony and sea view. Others were not so lucky and had a building site next to their room.

Room tip: Avoid poolside rooms as these are next to the huge building project and can be very noisy!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JacksH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

We arrived here at night after our flight. All workers were very accomodating and the room was much more worn than the pictures but it was clean. The view in the morning is gorgeous but this isn't the type of beach I would recommend relaxing on for more than a day as there is loads of rubbish washed up on it. Perfect for after the airport as it is a 15 minute drive !

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank paulawG6132RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews