We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch N Go”
Review of Hotel Goldi Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Goldi Sands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Touch N Go”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Goldi Sands was our last stop in Srilanka and was not so bad.The room was big enough and clean with a balcony to sit and relax.The air condition was not so helpful but it was alright.This hotel is mainly for those beach lovers who like to enjoy every bit of sun and sand.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanif4786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.

Assuring you of our best services and personal attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    388
    146
    37
    44
See reviews for
189
394
60
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Where to start!!

The hotel was booked as part of a tour of Sri Lanka for our honeymoon, with the hotel being our first and last stop due to its close proximity to the airport.

We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon after a long flight from London to find our reserved room still in the process of being cleaned, we had to hang around outside the room for 40 mins waiting for the room to become available.

There was no information in the room or information provided by the hotel staff on how the restaurant process worked and we therefore missed signing the restaurant bill that was charged to our room, we found this out to the detriment of our much needed sleep as we were woken at 11pm by a phone call from the restaurant requesting that we sign the slip immediately!! After the impromptu wake up call and visit by staff for our signature we failed to get back to sleep for the rest of the night

With the first night in Sri Lanka endured, we trundled of for the rest our of our tour with feelings of intrepidation for the quality and treatment we'd receive on the rest of our trip.

Thankfully Goldi Sands was not the bench mark and we enjoyed the other hotels selected for tour. So it was with low expectations that we arrived back at the hotel for our last night.

The hotel didn't disappoint, the staff were just as unhelpful and unwelcoming. Our room was dirty, with stains and marks all over the sofa in the room.

We got packed off very early in the morning for our early flight with a very mediocre packed breakfast.

If you plan to use Goldi Sands as your airport hotel, I would avoid at all costs, as it really put a dampner on an otherwise friendly, welcoming and amazing country.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerbimbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are extremely sorry that there were some inconveniences on your arrival and with regard to the Restaurant bills. It was unfortunate that you were not happy with the second one night stay as well.

We have looked in to your comments and we shall take remedial action. We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I decided to spoil myself for my first night in Sri Lanka and I am glad I did. Goldi Sands is a lovely hotel near enough to the airport to be a short journey and far enough to not be disturbed by the noise.

Even though I arrived around 11am, the staff were lovely and it took them a short while to get the room ready for me, which I appreciated after my flight.

The room had twin comfortable beds, air conditioning and satellite TV.

The pool area was lovely, with deck chairs surrounding it, and the pool was a decent temperature - perfect even for a night swim.

The bar was reasonably priced and I enjoyed the two man band who wandered through the bar and restaurant singing Bob Marley and Led Zepplin songs.

I also really enjoyed my breakfast of string hoppers and daal in the morning.

I would definately recommend this hotel for those arriving or leaving Sri Lanka who want a little bit of luxury at either end of their holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aleerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We thank you for your positive comments. We assure all our guests our personal services and attention at all times.

It would indeed be a pleasure to have you with us at Goldi Sands, Sri Lanka once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We took this hotel just to relax after long travel to Sri Lanka. The hotel is just above average, but it looks old. The staff were very helpful. The dinner and breakfast buffet was good. The beach of the hotel is very nice....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaOwaidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrewas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Really good hotel on a lovely beach front with Palm trees. We arrived early in the morning so I was up to see the sun rise fantastic. Nothing was to much trouble for the team in the hotel. We has a few meals at the hotel as we were only B&B but the food was good. Sisal was a taxi driver outside the hotel who looked after us and became a real friend look him up, he also organised our travel to Columbo to watch England play ODI. Great place and would return with a good mix of restaurants close by.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at Goldi Sands- arriving late from the airport we were greeted warmly and our room was clean and comfortable but very basic. Breakfast was average and the pool looked average as well. Overall a good place to stay briefly but would not recommend if you are looking for a luxurious beach holiday.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AddieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Warm welcome at recieption. Neat and clean rooms with central airconditioning. Good housekeeping. Beaytiful beach view from balcony. Sitting arrangement in balcony.Dining area facing beach. Food quality very good. Caring staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasi1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,807 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldi Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldi Sands

Property: Hotel Goldi Sands
Address: | Ethukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldi Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldi Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldi Sands Hotel
Goldi Sands Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing