We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Hotel Goldi Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Goldi Sands
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Good value, very pleasant beachfront hotel with a nice pool and reasonably well cared for beach chairs. They're a bit tired and probably need a good paint. Restaurant very good and I talked to several people who come back to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiinaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    369
    140
    38
    44
See reviews for
173
384
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

There are improvements from the last time I stayed in 2012. The hotel has protected the restaurant and the rooms' balconies with nettings so the crows could not disturb the visitors. Mosquitoes are still a problem.
The rooms are nice but could be better appointed. The sofa settee is set in the wrong position and does not allow viewing of the TV.
The TV still has a number of English channels which is good :).
International breakfast buffet is ordinary.
Swimming pool is great. There are also many deck chairs on the beach and under the shade of the coconut trees.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that face the sea and on the highest floor (3rd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We used this hotel as a place to stay on the night we arrived and on our last night in Sri Lanka as it is close (ish) to the airport -about 15-20 mins at night. It’s a good option as a transit hotel (and I would use it again for this) but I personally wouldn't pick it as a place to stay for more than a night or two. Although there’s nothing wrong with the hotel it is just a bit dated, the rooms need an upgrade and the restaurant is average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robur66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel had a great location but was sadly in need of a face lift. When we first arrived we had to ask for hand towels and bathmat, none of the 'niceties' such as shampoo, conditioner, etc, in the bathroom also no complimentary bottles of water which all the other hotels had. This was apart from the biggest cockroach I've ever seen - couldn't go to bed until we had hunted it down and disposed of it. The room was quite small, but the beds were clean and there was tea/coffee makings.We didn't have dinner there but breakfast was really good. The hotel backs onto the beach, lots of padded sun lounges under shady palm trees and although the area surrounding these lounges was in a roped off private area it didn't stop the usual batik sellers, and sailing boats ride sellers wandering through, however once these people realised they wouldn't make a sale they were quite happy to stay and chat with you and eventually went on their way.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for your comments. It is strange to know that you did not receive the room amenities and the water bottles which is a standard facility at Goldi Sands Hotel. However, we are making inquiring on this.

It would be much easier to trace the above, if the date of arrival was mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka and assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I am part of a tour group traveling around Sri Lanka for 17 days. This was the first stop and was a nice way to begin. The room was pleasant and clean. Usual facilities are provided. The breakfast was nice, with a large variety of local and international foods from which to select. The staff were friendly. Set on a beach, the grounds were fine. Beach vendors were a bit of a nuisance at times but I've seen worse.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Slivvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Goldy Sand actually has a very broad goldy sand beach and it's a wonderful plus. Rooms are basic but clean. Restaurant does buffet for most of the clients but has good separate menu as well.  Being in Negambo I was thinking that they could do more sea food. Staff is pleasant. Did not like the loud music that they play during the dinner. All in all it's a very good value for money option. Last time, I stayed with their more expensive nabour but did not get nothing much extra. 

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielk686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
692 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Five star the Goldi Sands Hotel is not, and that's part of its charm. It reminded us of a slightly run-down Balinese resort. Nice pool, lovely setting on the beach but no real attention to detail.

We arrived the day before a group tour, so had requested a room with a sea view. Other rooms look over the pool. Our room was sparsely furnished but spacious, with a large deck facing the palms and sea, to the west. We enjoyed being on the deck in the morning, before the sun took over.

Our first breakfast the range of pre-cooked food was a bit ordinary, until we discovered you could have an omlette made to order. The fruit was good, and the homemade jams were nice.

We ate one lunch from the a-la-carte menu, which was reasonably priced. For dinner we walked a short distance up the road to one of the many restaurants and bars in the area, where excellent food and beer were much cheaper. Another lunch we ate in a hotel 'next door', and found drinks and food much more expensive than at Goldi Sands!

As Australians, we loved the tiny palm squirrels that rushed around. One came to our deck to amuse us - though we were careful not to get close enough to be bitten, just in case! The dozens of crows were not so welcome. In September the beach is not for swimming. There is a steep drop from the shore to the sea bed, with waves pounding in. Dangerous! But the pool was nice.

I'd have given Goldi Sands a higher rating if our room had been serviced in the morning while we were out. After lunch we had to ask twice for cleaners to service the room. I would have appreciated being able to rest in the room during the afternoon, after arriving in the middle of the night. But on the whole we enjoyed ourselves during the two days we were there.

Room Tip: Some roms face the sea, others face the pool. The seaview rooms have large decks, so are nicer in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 42 in Negombo
1,406 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 42 in Negombo
1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldi Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldi Sands

Property: Hotel Goldi Sands
Address: | Ethukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#7 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldi Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goldi Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldi Sands Hotel
Goldi Sands Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing