We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great beach”
Review of Hotel Goldi Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Goldi Sands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a good hotel in Negombo. The beach is excellent. The food is a good buffet with a nice variety or food. The only down side would be the evening entertainment can be quite noise and can be heard from lots of the rooms. This is fine if you are taking part but could be annoying if you want an early night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach, rather than pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goldi Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 884 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

just back after a ten day stay in the goldi sands hotel negombo. driving into the entrance area of
the hotel I thought to my self "o" jings,.After that you where met with lovely smiling helpful
staff. We were taken to our room 215 on the second floor the room was spotless with the most beautiful view of the sea and beach. I have been on many cruise ships with the lovely food, but I can say this hotels food would take a bit of beating .We would hope to return next year after having a great holiday.

Room Tip: second floor rooms see over the tops of the palm trees
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mac6661945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a weeks stay there in August. I Had a second floor sea view room with large balcony.
The room was a very good size, kept very clean, and I slept well most nights just with the quiet ceiling fan. The aircon was good and not too noisy.
Reception staff were very helpful.
I agree with previous comments about being overrun by outside events and shunted around, particularly weekends. I thought the breakfasts were very unimaginotive , however some of the evening buffets I thought were really very good. Wine list was well priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serviceplease33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiNegombo, Secretary at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and as this hotel was only about a 15 minute drive from the airport, we found it very convenient. Check in was quick and efficient. I cant speak highly enough of the very friendly and helpful staff at reception. They told us we had been upgrade and led us to a pool side bungalow. It was very hot and humid so we turned the air conditioner on but it struggled and didn't work very well at all. The bed was firm but ok. The sheets weren't the cleanest and the floor was covered in sand so they need to ramp up the cleaning a bit. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of variety and the we ate out by the pool with great ocean views. Overall a good value for money hotel and I would probably go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gone4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Goldi Sands in early August. The staff was excellenr! We would certainly stay here again if we are in the Colombo area. The breakfast buffet was well done and accomodated both western and local tastes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdunbar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed four nights on this our second visit to this hotel which we chose for its location. Unfortunately management seem to have more interest in functions than paying guests. During our stay there were 2 weddings, three homecomings and other functions which completely took over the only restaurant so that hotel guests were shuffled off around the corner near the pool. The music was insome cases deafening and went on very late. No apology was offered by management. One one day the pool was completely taken over by a bunch of noisy schoolkids and their teachers for most of the day, again no explanation or apology. When we arrived we were given prkbably he worst room in a back corner of fhe hotel and whenmy hubby went to reception to ask to be moved, the female receptionist snapped back "We're full." We both then went down and spoke with someone else who miraculously and immediately found us a better room. Wait and bar staff were friendly enough and the buffet breakfast the usual mix of Western and local. Will not go back, there are at least 2 Jetwing hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacki_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks, mainly using it as a base. It was part of a package tour and worked out the cheapest way to explore the country.
We were not impressed with the room we were allocated on arrival, small, very basic, terrible view of a wall. We asked to change rooms as we were staying for 3 weeks, the receptionist a very moody looking young lady,explained it was an economy room we had booked and after a while reluctantly offered us the room opposite or wanted an extra $300 dollars to upgrade to a better room. We took the room opposite, which wasn't much better but instead looked out onto the chapel and if you strained you could actually see the beach.
The cleaners were very good, bar and restaurant staff, quite slow and not very attentive. Reception staff were ok.
Food wise we were on the Bed and breakfast basis, it was ok, nothing special. It did annoy me though that there was a constant stream of flies buzzing around the bread/cakes at breakfast. No attempt made to cover the pastries up so that was a bit off putting. Oh and crows - lots of them, occasionally they would swoop in and steal food.
We only had one evening meal in the Goldi sands - again very average. The rest of the time we went to Lords or the Jetwing Blue, a little pricey by Sri Lankan standards but not by western standards. Food was far superior in these places to the Goldi sands.
On the plus side, there is free wifi if you sit in reception, the shower was good, fixtures were very modern - not sure why there were two shower heads though? Good air con and a fan in the room, also a fridge. Sheets and towels changed every day.There was plenty of room on the beach and the hawkers didn't cross the roped off area. We bought a few sarongs from Nellie one of the hawkers, this was a good move as then when any other hawkers approached us we explained that we had already bought from Nellie, this kept the others at bay and they didn't bother us.the hotel seems to be popular for weddings, which I suppose can be a plus or a minus, unlike the previous reviewers we were not kept awake by the 5 wedding parties which took place when we were there, this was due to the fact that we were up on the second floor and far enough away from the banqueting facilities. We found it more of a plus as many couples didn't mind the fact that there were a bunch of tourists at their wedding and it was interesting to see the customs and practices of the differing faiths.
Although we didn't go into the pool it looked clean, just a good bit smaller than on the photos.
Overall, the Goldi sands became home for the 3 weeks we were there, I'm glad we didn't opt to go full or half board as it gave us the chance to try different places. It's definitely worth a trip to the Jetwing blue to compare - but then again it's much more expensive. The food is worth it though

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Murphy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,500 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldi Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldi Sands

Address: | Ethukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $69 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldi Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldi Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldi Sands Hotel
Goldi Sands Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing