We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth”
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed July 8, 2014

staying in jet wing blue is like heaven on earth , Room with fantastic view pool and beach , good food & very helpful , courteous staff its bit expensive but its worth property to stay for minimum 4/5 days ...

Room Tip: rooms are big and spacious they have upgraded us free to super dlx room but those rooms has only bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HOST31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was certainly nice reading your comments referring to your stay as ‘heavenly’ and certainly hope we will be able to uphold the service on your next visit to the resort very soon.
Please feel free in contacting me if ever you plan your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked a 'special' price at the hotel; only to find out that the Annex is across the street down an alley and not part of the actual hotel at all.
The room was fairly comfortable with most amenities available. The only negative regarding the room itself was that the passage lights totally lit up our room due to the configuration of the room.
A comfortable stay if one is not mislead thinking you are staying in the hotel itself.
Would probably have booked somewhere else at a similar price had we known we are not staying in the actual hotel

Room Tip: Check out if it is the Annex - could be misleading Annex down alley opposite road from actual hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KlaasFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We were very concerned to learn of your recent experience with us, as we take all our guest feedback to be of utmost importance to us.

JetwIng Annex is a part of Jetwing hotels but not a 5 star category as you correctly mentioned. It is situated across the road with all amenities in line with other Jetwing hotels and of course with access to all the main hotel facilities.

However we have taken note of the lighting systems and corrective measures have put in place to improve in this area . Thank you for bringing up this matter to my attention.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant vacation with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The property has a beautiful view of the sea. all rooms are sea facing. They have roman blinds on the windows so you can just roll them up and watch sunset or sunrise or enjoy the waves without even stepping out. A unique feature I noticed at the swimming pool were chairs right in the middle of the pool to sit back, dip your feet and enjoy the sea. perfect for non swimmers. rooms are well equipped. bathroom bit small but has a tub and separate shower area. Buffet breakfast was a lavish spread of continental and srilankan. You can take a stroll down the road , have a meal at any of the restaurants . small cosy city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbhesania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were very pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were in particularly pleased with the room we had allocated for you, the swimming pool and the delicious selection of food.

It would be great having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Jetwing Blue for 3 nights to break up a longer journey. We opted for this hotel based on it's close proximity to Colombo airport (only 20mins drive, with transfers arranged by the hotel.) We enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning, well before check in was due to open, but a room was made available to us within the our, which made weary travellers very happy indeed! We found the check in staff to be welcoming and helpful and the check in procedure was smooth and efficient.

The rooms are probably the best feature of the hotel - huge! Easily the largest standard size room we have ever stayed in. The decor is light and airy and we had a nice view of a garden area and beach. The furnishings were clean and comfortable.

We used the pool and beach area and found it to be clean and pleasant. Other reviewers have commented on the beach pedlars - who are numerous but not invasive and the birds - likewise, but these were not too much of a problem for us and we were able to relax.

We ate all meals in the hotel restaurants. The breakfast buffet is very generous and with a great variety of food on offer.
We found the best service in Centrepoint - the staff in the Open Kitchen and The Float are friendly but the service is slow. We also found the ambience a little strange in The Float - a soundtrack of heavy metal in tiny and quiet bar was enough to encourage us to find a drink elsewhere!

One of the days we were there was a washout as it rained heavily all day. We felt that there wasn't much to do in the hotel, and didn't notice any schedule of activities for the duration of our stay. The hotel offers several daytrips and sight seeing tours, but no in house entertainment as far as we could see. This is something which could have perhaps enhanced our stay, we felt the atmosphere was a bit dead.

Overall though, the large rooms and friendly, courteous staff ensured we had a comfortable, enjoyable stay in Negombo.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We at Jetwing Hotels value guests feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our product and service standards. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team especially the front office and the center point for their competent care.

Thank you for pointing out the areas that need improvement. It would be great having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We decide to stay an extra day after arriving in Sri Lanka very late [1.30am] to just relax and unwind and we were very glad we did. Check in was basic as expected for the early hours of the morning yet fast. The Hotel is nice however it is showing signs of age. The rooms were large and clean enough. Roman Blinds are not a good option for window coverings particularly in a Hotel Resort. Breakfast buffet was 9 out of 10 and the breakfast service staff were fantastic. The pool was adequate and clean. On the other hand the pool bar staff and inside bar staff were very disappointing to say the least. They showed no interest or enjoyment in their job and made very little effort with their drink making or communication. Happy Bar Staff plus a Happy Hour will attracts lots of guests to chat and laugh together bringing a nice atmosphere. A roaming bar staff member offering drinks and snacks would increase profits and keep guests satisfied. We waited a long time for drink service around the pool and also at the bar. There were many staff doing very little.. For guests not on Full Board like us there are many good cheap tourist restaurants within easy walking distance. Typical beach hawkers sit and watch your every move while you try to relax around the pool, fortunately they do not enter the resort grounds.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are worth the extra..The Higher the better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We at Jetwing Hotels value guests feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our product and services standards. While we note you enjoyed the resort and its facilities, we wish to sincerely apologize for failing to deliver the lever of service you should expect from the pool bar team.

I have personally spoken to entire bar and pool team and corrective measures have put in place to ensure an increase attention to our guests relaxing around the pool and by the beach. Thank you for bringing up this matter to my attention.

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback which will enable us to improve our service standards. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jetwing Blue and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 4 days in Sri Lanka - Kendy,Sigiriya and the last 2 days at the Jetwing Blue in Negombo. Let me start with whatwe liked about this place: the beach is fantastic, beautiful sunset, great waves (you can't swim here), the rooms have a great view on the beach and are very spacious - that's about it. Everything else is more like a 2** hotel: the most annoying thing are the birds (crows) who are very loud and are literally everywhere - chilling on the beach is just impossible.They even jump on guests in the restaurant.The other major concern is the cleaningness of the hotel: everything is very filthy including the lobby, the restaurants, the bars, the bathrooms. There are many staff working here who are friendly but they are doing a really poor job: for each order we had to wait 20-30 mins and had to remind them a few times even if we only ordered drinks. When we saw that tab water is being poured into our cactails we stopped ordering those and went for bottle and can beverages only going forward. Fortunately we spent here only one night - I really feel sorry for people who booked her their summer holiday here and are staying more than 1 night.

Thanks
Kasia

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We take our commitment to guest satisfaction very seriously thus we were concerned to read about your experiences and we very much regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

However we were satisfied that your were overall pleased with the beach, spacious room and the view of the Indian Ocean.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses you experienced during your stay and thank you for pointing out the areas needing improvement.

Just to clarify, the tap water goes through various micro filters as well as UV lamp to purify it appropriately and is certified appropriate for drinking purpose.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant vacation with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked the Suite in the top floor of the hotel and it was well appointed. Very large open spaces with a large lounge, outdoor seating, an outdoor jacuzzi (with a lights display), huge bathroom and a walk in closet. The room was very airy and the beach could be viewed from anywhere in the room! Anywhere! Yes, its windows here, windows there and windows everywhere! The hassle of having so many windows is closing and opening the blinds, for privacy, especially going to the loo. The bathroom also doesn't have a locking door so its free for all to come in! Saying all that, unless you have a binoculars or a high focusing camera it will be next to impossible to view from outside, in.

Loved the food here, especially the Negombo specialities like Prawns, Crabs and Lobster. Kudos to the chef, the Steak and Lobster dinner I ordered was the best eaten. Succulent lobster meat and Prime Australian beef is a killer combo. Food here has always been good and this time too it was very well. Very worth the drive from Colombo (40-50 mins via Expressway, and Colombo internal traffic in the evenings) just for the food. (For Muslims the hotel clearly states which is Halal and not).

The pool to is very good with a large space for the kids to swim to and from.

Since this beach outside the hotel is not private property it sometimes can be irritating with lots of sellers of touristy things start hassling us to buy, although we are locals.

Small nitty gritty things like the bathrooms need a color wash or some of the fittings are loose and rusting does bring down the glory of a suite stay, but overall it was a good stay and we will back definitely!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

Myself and the entire team were very pleases to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were in particularly pleased with the seafood selection and the personalized service of our team.

Customer care is indeed amongst one of our highest priorities in Jetwing hotels and it is always rewarding to receive such comments and appreciation. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and especially the Executive Chef and his brigade.

With regard to the beach vendors we confirm that we frequently meet up with them to address this particular issue and that the matter has our full attention.

It would be great having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 44 in Negombo
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 44 in Negombo
1,915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 44 in Negombo
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 44 in Negombo
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Porutota Road | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $80 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing