We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable short stay”
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable short stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Jetwing Blue for 3 nights to break up a longer journey. We opted for this hotel based on it's close proximity to Colombo airport (only 20mins drive, with transfers arranged by the hotel.) We enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning, well before check in was due to open, but a room was made available to us within the our, which made weary travellers very happy indeed! We found the check in staff to be welcoming and helpful and the check in procedure was smooth and efficient.

The rooms are probably the best feature of the hotel - huge! Easily the largest standard size room we have ever stayed in. The decor is light and airy and we had a nice view of a garden area and beach. The furnishings were clean and comfortable.

We used the pool and beach area and found it to be clean and pleasant. Other reviewers have commented on the beach pedlars - who are numerous but not invasive and the birds - likewise, but these were not too much of a problem for us and we were able to relax.

We ate all meals in the hotel restaurants. The breakfast buffet is very generous and with a great variety of food on offer.
We found the best service in Centrepoint - the staff in the Open Kitchen and The Float are friendly but the service is slow. We also found the ambience a little strange in The Float - a soundtrack of heavy metal in tiny and quiet bar was enough to encourage us to find a drink elsewhere!

One of the days we were there was a washout as it rained heavily all day. We felt that there wasn't much to do in the hotel, and didn't notice any schedule of activities for the duration of our stay. The hotel offers several daytrips and sight seeing tours, but no in house entertainment as far as we could see. This is something which could have perhaps enhanced our stay, we felt the atmosphere was a bit dead.

Overall though, the large rooms and friendly, courteous staff ensured we had a comfortable, enjoyable stay in Negombo.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We at Jetwing Hotels value guests feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our product and service standards. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team especially the front office and the center point for their competent care.

Thank you for pointing out the areas that need improvement. It would be great having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    585
    201
    86
    44
See reviews for
360
575
79
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We decide to stay an extra day after arriving in Sri Lanka very late [1.30am] to just relax and unwind and we were very glad we did. Check in was basic as expected for the early hours of the morning yet fast. The Hotel is nice however it is showing signs of age. The rooms were large and clean enough. Roman Blinds are not a good option for window coverings particularly in a Hotel Resort. Breakfast buffet was 9 out of 10 and the breakfast service staff were fantastic. The pool was adequate and clean. On the other hand the pool bar staff and inside bar staff were very disappointing to say the least. They showed no interest or enjoyment in their job and made very little effort with their drink making or communication. Happy Bar Staff plus a Happy Hour will attracts lots of guests to chat and laugh together bringing a nice atmosphere. A roaming bar staff member offering drinks and snacks would increase profits and keep guests satisfied. We waited a long time for drink service around the pool and also at the bar. There were many staff doing very little.. For guests not on Full Board like us there are many good cheap tourist restaurants within easy walking distance. Typical beach hawkers sit and watch your every move while you try to relax around the pool, fortunately they do not enter the resort grounds.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are worth the extra..The Higher the better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We at Jetwing Hotels value guests feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our product and services standards. While we note you enjoyed the resort and its facilities, we wish to sincerely apologize for failing to deliver the lever of service you should expect from the pool bar team.

I have personally spoken to entire bar and pool team and corrective measures have put in place to ensure an increase attention to our guests relaxing around the pool and by the beach. Thank you for bringing up this matter to my attention.

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback which will enable us to improve our service standards. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jetwing Blue and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 4 days in Sri Lanka - Kendy,Sigiriya and the last 2 days at the Jetwing Blue in Negombo. Let me start with whatwe liked about this place: the beach is fantastic, beautiful sunset, great waves (you can't swim here), the rooms have a great view on the beach and are very spacious - that's about it. Everything else is more like a 2** hotel: the most annoying thing are the birds (crows) who are very loud and are literally everywhere - chilling on the beach is just impossible.They even jump on guests in the restaurant.The other major concern is the cleaningness of the hotel: everything is very filthy including the lobby, the restaurants, the bars, the bathrooms. There are many staff working here who are friendly but they are doing a really poor job: for each order we had to wait 20-30 mins and had to remind them a few times even if we only ordered drinks. When we saw that tab water is being poured into our cactails we stopped ordering those and went for bottle and can beverages only going forward. Fortunately we spent here only one night - I really feel sorry for people who booked her their summer holiday here and are staying more than 1 night.

Thanks
Kasia

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KasiaLondonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We take our commitment to guest satisfaction very seriously thus we were concerned to read about your experiences and we very much regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

However we were satisfied that your were overall pleased with the beach, spacious room and the view of the Indian Ocean.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses you experienced during your stay and thank you for pointing out the areas needing improvement.

Just to clarify, the tap water goes through various micro filters as well as UV lamp to purify it appropriately and is certified appropriate for drinking purpose.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant vacation with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked the Suite in the top floor of the hotel and it was well appointed. Very large open spaces with a large lounge, outdoor seating, an outdoor jacuzzi (with a lights display), huge bathroom and a walk in closet. The room was very airy and the beach could be viewed from anywhere in the room! Anywhere! Yes, its windows here, windows there and windows everywhere! The hassle of having so many windows is closing and opening the blinds, for privacy, especially going to the loo. The bathroom also doesn't have a locking door so its free for all to come in! Saying all that, unless you have a binoculars or a high focusing camera it will be next to impossible to view from outside, in.

Loved the food here, especially the Negombo specialities like Prawns, Crabs and Lobster. Kudos to the chef, the Steak and Lobster dinner I ordered was the best eaten. Succulent lobster meat and Prime Australian beef is a killer combo. Food here has always been good and this time too it was very well. Very worth the drive from Colombo (40-50 mins via Expressway, and Colombo internal traffic in the evenings) just for the food. (For Muslims the hotel clearly states which is Halal and not).

The pool to is very good with a large space for the kids to swim to and from.

Since this beach outside the hotel is not private property it sometimes can be irritating with lots of sellers of touristy things start hassling us to buy, although we are locals.

Small nitty gritty things like the bathrooms need a color wash or some of the fittings are loose and rusting does bring down the glory of a suite stay, but overall it was a good stay and we will back definitely!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

Myself and the entire team were very pleases to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were in particularly pleased with the seafood selection and the personalized service of our team.

Customer care is indeed amongst one of our highest priorities in Jetwing hotels and it is always rewarding to receive such comments and appreciation. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and especially the Executive Chef and his brigade.

With regard to the beach vendors we confirm that we frequently meet up with them to address this particular issue and that the matter has our full attention.

It would be great having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I arrived in Negombo after working two weeks in Kandy and was pretty exhausted. Unfortunately, we ended up arriving a day earlier than our booking and I got pretty upset by the whole mix-up in the dates that the travel agents have arranged. However, the staff at Reception where very helpful in trying to accommodate us with an extra night in Negombo so I was relieved that we didn't have to drive around looking for vacancy in other hotels. When we were taken to our rooms we were surprised to find that the standard rooms were not located in the main hotel building but across the road near the car park. We weren't pleased with the arrangement at all, especially having our expensive luggage pulled across sand, gravel and grass. When we arrived to our room we found that it wasn't what we initially asked for in our bookings - a standard twin bed room for two people. The Receptionist informed us that it was again, due to fault by our travel agency and that standard rooms at Jetwing blue do not have twin beds. By then we were very irritated and annoyed by the hotel arrangements and rooms. However, the staff tried to help as much as possible by arranging another room on the same floor and giving us a reasonable rate for the two nights including breakfast. We felt much calmer and satisfied by then and headed off to relax. The rooms were quite small and so was the bathroom; however, they were very clean and modern. The facilities at the hotel were pleasant to use because they all had a view of the beach including the lobby, restaurant, pool bar and the pool itself. The hotel had a holiday ambiance to it which made you feel truly on vacation. The restaurant was quite big and had a good range of food for different taste buds and the waiters were very friendly, however, because it was open to the outdoors, animals such as cats and dogs tend to crawl their way around the dinners which could be quite uncomfortable for people that have allergies or are genuinely scared off animals. The pool and the beach was the best thing about the hotel allowing you to stroll down the beach or chill by the spacious pool. The hospitality of the staff and their genuine interest in our comfort was very touching it made me to come back to Jetwing blue whenever I'm back in Negombo. Overall, it was a pleasant 2 day stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to be located in the hotel itself with a nice view then don't choose the Annex stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasneem05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
My team and myself were pleased to note that you were satisfied with the alternate arrangements done by our front office team, however we do apologies for the inconvenience caused with the reservation arrangements made by your travel agency.

However, we were glad to know that overall your stay with us was pleasantc and that you were able to make the most of our spectacular location. It was charming to read that you had a good experience with us and in particular that we were able to make you feel relaxed and pampered.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

One of the many hotels down Negombo hotel stretch. for some reason for me the hotel didn't meet the expected feeling you get from a well spent holiday. I have to mention the fact that if you are more than 5 feet tall you will have difficulties doing your business in the bathroom cos the leg space in front of the "thorn" is nowhere close being enough. and the staff for me felt like they are not treated or paid properly cos they look so depressed and sad. the hotel has got a face-lift few years back but not their employees I guess.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We felt very concerned to read about your uncomfortable experiences with us and we very much regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses you experienced during your stay and thank you for pointing out the bathroom condition which we will definitely look into for rectification.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant vacation with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Before arriving in Sri Lanka I had never heard about Jetwing hotel, but staying at two of their hotels in Sri Lanka completely changed my mind about this amazing hotel chain.

Jetwing Blue is just a perfect hotel. Overlooking the lake, with an amazing pool, great rooms that combine perfectly the traditional and new style and a very beautiful design.

Food is also perfect, breakfast buffet is one of the best I´ve ever tried, with more than 7 different curry sauces and a great selection of international dishes.

I will come back to this hotel anytime I stay around Negombo

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We felt excited to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing hotels and it gives us enormous contentment to read that we have met your expectations to your utmost satisfaction. Your kind words of praise are greatly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure having you as our guest.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
497 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Property: Jetwing Blue
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Family Hotel in Negombo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#7 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing