We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Comfortable room .. what more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, Comfortable room .. what more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked the Suite in the top floor of the hotel and it was well appointed. Very large open spaces with a large lounge, outdoor seating, an outdoor jacuzzi (with a lights display), huge bathroom and a walk in closet. The room was very airy and the beach could be viewed from anywhere in the room! Anywhere! Yes, its windows here, windows there and windows everywhere! The hassle of having so many windows is closing and opening the blinds, for privacy, especially going to the loo. The bathroom also doesn't have a locking door so its free for all to come in! Saying all that, unless you have a binoculars or a high focusing camera it will be next to impossible to view from outside, in.

Loved the food here, especially the Negombo specialities like Prawns, Crabs and Lobster. Kudos to the chef, the Steak and Lobster dinner I ordered was the best eaten. Succulent lobster meat and Prime Australian beef is a killer combo. Food here has always been good and this time too it was very well. Very worth the drive from Colombo (40-50 mins via Expressway, and Colombo internal traffic in the evenings) just for the food. (For Muslims the hotel clearly states which is Halal and not).

The pool to is very good with a large space for the kids to swim to and from.

Since this beach outside the hotel is not private property it sometimes can be irritating with lots of sellers of touristy things start hassling us to buy, although we are locals.

Small nitty gritty things like the bathrooms need a color wash or some of the fittings are loose and rusting does bring down the glory of a suite stay, but overall it was a good stay and we will back definitely!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

Myself and the entire team were very pleases to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were in particularly pleased with the seafood selection and the personalized service of our team.

Customer care is indeed amongst one of our highest priorities in Jetwing hotels and it is always rewarding to receive such comments and appreciation. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and especially the Executive Chef and his brigade.

With regard to the beach vendors we confirm that we frequently meet up with them to address this particular issue and that the matter has our full attention.

It would be great having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    549
    186
    81
    40
See reviews for
334
549
74
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I arrived in Negombo after working two weeks in Kandy and was pretty exhausted. Unfortunately, we ended up arriving a day earlier than our booking and I got pretty upset by the whole mix-up in the dates that the travel agents have arranged. However, the staff at Reception where very helpful in trying to accommodate us with an extra night in Negombo so I was relieved that we didn't have to drive around looking for vacancy in other hotels. When we were taken to our rooms we were surprised to find that the standard rooms were not located in the main hotel building but across the road near the car park. We weren't pleased with the arrangement at all, especially having our expensive luggage pulled across sand, gravel and grass. When we arrived to our room we found that it wasn't what we initially asked for in our bookings - a standard twin bed room for two people. The Receptionist informed us that it was again, due to fault by our travel agency and that standard rooms at Jetwing blue do not have twin beds. By then we were very irritated and annoyed by the hotel arrangements and rooms. However, the staff tried to help as much as possible by arranging another room on the same floor and giving us a reasonable rate for the two nights including breakfast. We felt much calmer and satisfied by then and headed off to relax. The rooms were quite small and so was the bathroom; however, they were very clean and modern. The facilities at the hotel were pleasant to use because they all had a view of the beach including the lobby, restaurant, pool bar and the pool itself. The hotel had a holiday ambiance to it which made you feel truly on vacation. The restaurant was quite big and had a good range of food for different taste buds and the waiters were very friendly, however, because it was open to the outdoors, animals such as cats and dogs tend to crawl their way around the dinners which could be quite uncomfortable for people that have allergies or are genuinely scared off animals. The pool and the beach was the best thing about the hotel allowing you to stroll down the beach or chill by the spacious pool. The hospitality of the staff and their genuine interest in our comfort was very touching it made me to come back to Jetwing blue whenever I'm back in Negombo. Overall, it was a pleasant 2 day stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to be located in the hotel itself with a nice view then don't choose the Annex stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasneem05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
My team and myself were pleased to note that you were satisfied with the alternate arrangements done by our front office team, however we do apologies for the inconvenience caused with the reservation arrangements made by your travel agency.

However, we were glad to know that overall your stay with us was pleasantc and that you were able to make the most of our spectacular location. It was charming to read that you had a good experience with us and in particular that we were able to make you feel relaxed and pampered.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

One of the many hotels down Negombo hotel stretch. for some reason for me the hotel didn't meet the expected feeling you get from a well spent holiday. I have to mention the fact that if you are more than 5 feet tall you will have difficulties doing your business in the bathroom cos the leg space in front of the "thorn" is nowhere close being enough. and the staff for me felt like they are not treated or paid properly cos they look so depressed and sad. the hotel has got a face-lift few years back but not their employees I guess.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We felt very concerned to read about your uncomfortable experiences with us and we very much regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses you experienced during your stay and thank you for pointing out the bathroom condition which we will definitely look into for rectification.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant vacation with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Before arriving in Sri Lanka I had never heard about Jetwing hotel, but staying at two of their hotels in Sri Lanka completely changed my mind about this amazing hotel chain.

Jetwing Blue is just a perfect hotel. Overlooking the lake, with an amazing pool, great rooms that combine perfectly the traditional and new style and a very beautiful design.

Food is also perfect, breakfast buffet is one of the best I´ve ever tried, with more than 7 different curry sauces and a great selection of international dishes.

I will come back to this hotel anytime I stay around Negombo

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We felt excited to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing hotels and it gives us enormous contentment to read that we have met your expectations to your utmost satisfaction. Your kind words of praise are greatly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure having you as our guest.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

nice modern hotel with excellent staff. room are large and very clean.tasty food with lots of choices in menu. front office staff ware attentive and restaurant service is speedy.clean pool and gym. overall all the staff are handle guest with lots of care.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Your kind words of praise are greatly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are content with our personalized services as it is what we strive for at Jetwing Hotels. We have shared your compliments with the entire team and all our associates were equally happy to know that their effort in making your stay conformable were well recognized

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Lovely Busy Hotel
Good Food with a good selection
We had a superior room booked, there by the only setback was that the bed was quite far from the A/C and it was not so good, due to the tropic heat, we got an engineer check the same, he did some prompt actions, but of not worthy use, but we did manage with the fan.
Overall its a lovely hotel to relax for a dip

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbacheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were enchanted to note that you were pleased with the room that we allocated you although the AC was not as effective as you expected. We were concerned to learn about your experience and please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback is taken very positively and thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Negombo.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Check in painless process and quick. Hotel located right on the beach which is huge, sandy & looks pretty clean. A few beach sellers but they're polite enough not to persist once you clearly tell them you are not interested. Adequate swimming pool but busy with kids due to the holiday season when we were there. Plenty of hardwood chairs & sunbeds available. Our room was fairly basically furnished but clean apart from a few areas of woodwork needing a touch up of paint. Bathroom has both shower & bath.
Room has Iron, ironing board, hair dryer, mini bar, large safe, tv & telephone.
We both had Sri Lankan curries from the A La Carte menu which were excellent and delightfully spiced. One beef & one lamb with no fat or bones. The meat was very tender and we had a superb selection of breads, sambals and side dishes served with it. Table service was very attentive and of a good standard.
Breakfast starts at 7:00 and featured a vast choice of dishes. We opted for the egg hoppers cooked freshly for us at the buffet. Overall the prices for food and drinks seemed very reasonable for a 4 star hotel.
One small criticism, the external lighting between the rooms (Rm 128) and the restaurant area could be improved, so take a torch.
Staff are friendly, very quick to react to requests and the check out process was both quick and efficient. I would certainly be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Myself and my team were pleased to note that you were satisfied with the product and the service of our dedicated team.

We have shared your appreciation with the team and specially the Executive Chef and his brigade. They were equally happy to learn that you had an amazing holiday with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Property: Jetwing Blue
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Family Hotel in Negombo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#7 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing