We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Jetwing Blue for 1 night and in two rooms, and the overall experience was disappointing. Before arriving to Negombo, I had read many reviews about the hotel and saw many photos. Well, once you get there do not expect to be in the setting you see in pictures. The swimming pool was really dirty so we couldn't let the kids swim. The dining area is really busy and noisy, so we only stayed at breakfast. We made a wise choice to dine at the next hotel (5 minutes away by walk) Jetwing Beach, and it is highly recommended. On a more positive note, the rooms were really nice, spacious, and more or else clean, except for ants in the bathroom, and humidity. There was no much interaction with the hotel's staff. In the afternoon, I recommend that you take a walk on the beach as they are many interesting activities going on.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gugablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    572
    192
    85
    42
See reviews for
345
563
77
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice roomy and spacious rooms, loved the bedroom and bathroom and the fact that it is a green hotel. A lot of items that they use are recycled and they ask guests to take part in this initiative as well. A nice property in a sleepy town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Naveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your gracious compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was a great pleasure to read from your review that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and giving us a full score rating on the green initiative which is implemented and carried out in all our Jetwing properties. We are proud and confident that this will further encourage our team to keep on delivering the level of service Jetwing is known for.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Blue for another memorable holiday. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in July. We had two sea view rooms on a full board basis. The view from our rooms was amazing. All the staff were very friendly and we couldn't fault the food. Apart from the pool we did not use any of the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saritha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to know that you were pleased with the room we had allocated for you, the amazing view and our friendly team. We will not forget to share your compliments with all the associates and it will go a long way in motivating them in their duties. Thank you for that.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Blue for another memorable holiday. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed three nights in this hotel. The Hotel is right on the beach, It was great experience and the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Rooms were facing the sea. Booked through my travel agent. Check in was fast and the front office staff were friendly and professional We had most of our meals there and have no complaints.There are also some good restaurants just across the road. Their buffet had a great variety and caters for everyone. Looking forward for my next trip to Sri Lamnka.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay in September 2012 at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

The entire team was extremely happy to know that you and your family were fascinated with the service and product in the hotel and also not forgetting to mention the professional service extended to you all by our front office team.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team and they were equally happy that their efforts were greatly appreciated. We all are anxiously waiting to welcome you back for another memorable holiday at Jetwing Blue. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Upon arrival we were amazed by the stunning view - the hotel is literally on the beach. Check-in was smooth and we were brought to our room after the welcome drink and cold towel. But our luggage didn't arrive within half an hour and we rang reception. They quickly brought it up and apologised saying there was confusion with the rooms and they didn't know which we were in! Strange as we had just checked in.

The room we paid for was a standard room. It had a view of trees into the garden. The sea was past this, but would not be seem past the trees. The major issue I had with tis room was the noise from the street below. The door of the room opened out into an open corridor and the 'back delivery yard' of the hotel and street was right there below. The bathroom did not have a fan, instead open vents right into this corridor - so as you can imagine everything happening in the yard/street was heard. On the first night the noise was so loud it woke me up. The delivery's to the hotel all come into the yard and the beeping of the reversing vans, delivery men shouting, general unpacking noise, coupled with general street noises is horrendous when you are meant to be in a relaxing beach hotel.

Then on our second night we got a phone call to our room at 5.15am telling us it was a wake-up call ordered by our group leader! We didn't have a group leader and were staying 5 nights!! The reception apologised and I was not very pleased, as you can imagine. Then to make things even worse (just as I was back to sleep) the door knocked at 7.30am from the staff looking to take my luggage to reception!!! Why did reception not tell them it was the wrong room after the 5.15am phone call? I felt this was very poor service and not what I would expect in a 4* hotel. Perhaps all stemming from the luggage not arriving at the start and not knowing our room number? We complained at reception the next morning and the man did apologise but no offer of a complimentary bottle of wine or anything else for our annoyance twice in the same morning.

THEN to complete the annoyance on our 5th (last) morning a knock came to the door again at 7.15am asking to take our luggage down!! Our flight was not to the middle of the next night and we had pre-paid a late checkout at 6.00pm - which we had confirmed the day before with reception. There were serious issues with receptions information on our booking and times of departure.

Having said all that, there are so many positives about this hotel. We could not fault the staff in the restaurant/pool area, reception or food. All very 4* quality. We loved the variation from BBQ night, buffet style to set menus. We were there 5 nights, so variation was welcomed. The breakfasts were lovely and so much choice in the buffet. We loved everything about the food.

One serious negative for me was the resident cat and kitten in the restaurant every evening. We saw it annoyed other dinners as well. We asked the waiter to get them out - but they just came back again. I absolutely hated this and do not feel I should be eating with cats around my feet each night in a 4* hotel.

We used the spa - I had a facial and my husband had a massage, and both were of very high quality. Unfortunately the 'complimentary' stream room facilities were broken the day we were in the spa.

There is also a great café/bakery/ice-cream shop attached to the hotel - Café J. We only found it be accident as the hotel don't bother to publicise it in the rooms or in reception. This is a real shame as it is lovely and the girl who works in it is excellent. As a result of it not being publicised it was always empty the 3 times we went! Which means it lacks atmosphere.

This hotel does indeed have so much potential...but due to the noisy room, cats constantly in restaurant and reception issues, I don't think I would stay again. This is a shame, because we did like so many aspects of this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a suite away from street noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacock1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your constructive and detailed review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us, especially due to the miscommunication at the front office, the noise factor and the infuriation in the restaurant.

On the other hand we were glad that you were amazed with the stunning view on the Indian Ocean, the spa treatments, the delightful and varied food, the newly open Café J and the brilliant service of our teams in most of the outlets.

We would like to inform you that we are in the process of doing up the sound proofing in the rooms and the essential areas in the hotel and this will not be an issue in the near future.

We have also address the issues you raised with the front office team and increased training is being put in place to avoid future negligence and communication errors, which we certainly agree are not acceptable.

We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again and you will give us a another chance to enable us to extend the Jetwing hospitality we are know for. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I could be of any assistance.

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homagama, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have visited there with friends of my office as annual trip for the year. The allocated room for us (me & my wife) was Room number 130. It was a small room with a bad smell and also not faced to the beach. We have observed many nasty patches in the sofa inside the room (Photos are attached). Two chairs near the room door have same issue. Then we have complained to the reception desk regarding the matter and requested another room. The answer was the hotel is fully occupied and no vacant rooms are available. However a staff member of room maintenance division has checked the room and he also recommended to change the room. Finally we have transferred to room number 318. That was spacious and better than the previous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel is wonderful and looks great but the service was very disappointed especially the restaurant breakfast service.
We were waiting the tea and coffee more than half an hour and no one approach us I have seen the restaurant manager busy talking with their staff and no one pay attention to the local customers all the waiters are busy with Europeans guest its.
Pool was very very dirty looks like a haven’t vacuum the pool last couple of days. Housekeeping service also the same I have seen the room boy fold my use towel again and place in the bathroom. I think jetwing hotels have to look this in to these issues very gravely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kodikara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 42 in Negombo
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 42 in Negombo
1,773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
1,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 42 in Negombo
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Property: Jetwing Blue
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Family Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#6 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing