We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool, excellent pool, wonderful staff..”
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Jetwing Blue was the first of the 6 properties we stayed at Sri Lanka during our 12 days vacation. It was a perfect start to a great vacation and set our expectations very high. The pool and the beach were the best that we came across during our entire vacation. The staff were always smiling and welcoming. A great experience and we wish to repeat it again and again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoidaDeepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Jetwing Blue on your recent vacation to Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was an absolute delight to have you stay with us. We appreciate your gesture in taking the time to share your compliments on Trip Advisor. We were truly delighted to read your review and to know what a wonderful holiday you've had with us.

We look forward to your continued visits to Sri Lanka and do hope for another opportunity to have you stay with us at. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Jetwing Blue at the end of a lovely holiday in Sri Lanka. We stayed there the night before catching an early morning flight; the hotel is close to the airport. However, we were disappointed. Check-in was slow and we asked to be moved from the first room that we were offered since the bed cover and furniture were badly stained. The second room that we were given was better, but again the room and furniture was getting shabby. Also, this room was a first-floor room over the restaurant!! The beach was okay but not peaceful due to the sales efforts of local people. We ate in the buffet-style restaurant, and, although it was canteen-style, the food was good.
We had intended to eat at the Jetwing Beach (directly adjoining Jetwing Blue) since the hotel and restaurant were far superior, but the weather was attrocious.
I'm afraid that I could not recommend this hotel, it appears to be tired and not professionally managed.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms that are over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhilT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

First and foremost, please do accept our sincere apologies for giving you cause to express your disappointment following your stay with us.

We were extremely concerned to read your comments with regard to your overall experience at the hotel and we would like to inform you that the cleanliness of the pool is a rare incident, and we will review this with the department head concerned.

As I manage both hotels, Jetwing Beach and Jetwing Blue, it was a pleasure to learn that you appreciated the excellent service of Jetwing Beach. I will definitely share your compliments with the entire team of Jetwing Beach.

We hope this will deter you from visiting us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Blue and our sister hotel Jetwing Beach on your next holiday to Sri Lanka. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Location is good ,right next to the beach ,Customer care also not bad,them helps us to find jet ski and ATV,pretty much good in everything. Its located in negambo where 15 mins drive from the airport ,i perfer to stay at least one day before you go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were looking for a family friendly hotel not too far from Colombo (we didn't want to do a long commute), which had access to a great beach. After reading many reveiws we chose Jetwing Blue and we made a brillaint choice.
The view of the stunning blue sea as you enter the hotel is breathtaking. Large open spaces yet not too large a hotel, modern yet cosy and exceptional service. We had a family room which were two big rooms and ample space for us and our 3 year old who had his own bed in the living room area.
The Sri Lankan cuisine is exceptionally good and the sea food on the a la carte menu is delicious. My husband enjoyed the evenings with the set-menu, but I personally felt there's some room for improvement there. The buffets were always good, especially is you enjoyed the Sri Lankan delicacies.
As most of the reviews has already mentioned, the staff are very client oriented and friendly, yet not over-bearing.
Great pools, there's enough sun-beds around the pool, excellent pool attendants.
We were glad we didn't spend hours driving down to the south of Island in search of a great beach as we had a large strip of clean golden sand and a lovely beach. Only down side is that you need to walk around 50 meters to the water from the hotel and without any shade the sand can be really very hot !! So do wear your flip-flops !! There are no sun lounges close to the water.
We didn't get the chance to visit the neighbouring hotels and spent our full 5 days at the hotel.
I'd highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good beach hotel not too far from Colombo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinbads_sister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post this great review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were thrilled to read that you had an outstanding experience at the hotel. We are committed in providing world class facilities supported by courteous and efficient services. Our associates are qualified to provide excellent and personalized service and our purpose at all times is to provide our guests with a “Home away from home experience”. We are certainly very pleased we have been able to achieve those objectives during your stay.
Once again we thank you sincerely for choosing Jetwing Blue and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future, to your home away from home! To that effect. please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked a suite which, on first viewing, seemed very nice - except most things didn't really work! Blinds didn't close properly, doors didn't open / close, toilet was blocked on arrival, overall just plain grubby.
Food is below average for Sri Lanka and, in fact, we tended to eat at the Jetwing Beach next door.
Blue is an old 3 star hotel with an average make over. It enjoys a high turnover of occupancy with people coming and going all the time - obviously because it is near the airport.
The locals use it as a club at weekends so expect a lot of kids in the pool!
Beach sellers are a real nuisance so you can't even escape to the sea in much comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMEfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the times to share your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.
We were so sorry to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay and thank you for your constructive feedback. Your comments on the deficiencies of some fittings in your room have been reviewed and addressed accordingly. Please accept our sincere apologies for those shortcomings.
We noted that you preferred the food on offer at our sister hotel Jetwing Beach and I will not miss to share your comment with the executive Chef of Jetwing Beach.

It is correct that Jetwing Blue is a hotel with a mix of clientele which does enjoy the large facilities on offer, thus creating a lively vibe in the resort. We understand that expectations may differ from a guest to another and you might be pleased to learn that Jetwing Beach, which you experienced for your meals, is a more serene resort.

I would be pleased to assist you in booking Jetwing Beach in the future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and I trust you will forgive us.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just on the beach & relaxing is what we did round our trip. Excellent holiday hotel & best of it's class. They have a nice cafe, great food, excellent front office & supportive staff.

Very modern & professional staff. I am so happy with Jetwing Blue & definitely visit again next winter.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your gracious compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.
We appreciate all reviews, but the ones we enjoy reading the most are the ones from guests who enjoyed every single aspect of their stay and who are planning to return, which is without any doubt the best compliment we can receive.

Thank you for your enthusiastic remarks about our entire team. It is rewarding that their genuine friendliness and willingness to help are so valued and appreciated and we will share you gracious compliments with all the associates.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Sri Lanka has been the experience of our lives, starting from this hotel. From when we arrived until we left we were welcomed from the staff and the hotel manager in a way we have never experienced before. We will never forget the staff from reception to the chefs, cleaners waiters and more.The customer service we received was excellent. We will certainly use it again and recommend to our family and friends. The best part of our stay was the different day trips that we took with our driver Mark which the hotel organised for us. Thanks again to all for the fantastic time. Pina & Jason

Room Tip: We changed a few rooms in the same hotel all the rooms are impeccable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 44 in Negombo
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 44 in Negombo
1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 44 in Negombo
571 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Porutota Road | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $110 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing