We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We would like to commend the excellent staff of Jetwing Blue.
The hotel was just fantastic. Rooms were very spacious . I love the bathroom! We have stayed in a room with a nice view of the beach and pool.
Staffs are very friendly and accomodating -i think that's the nature of Sri- Lankans :)
I would like to make a special mention to Mr. Menor who was extremely helpful during our short stay!

BOHOMA ISTUTHI JETWING BLUE!

We would like to visit you again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIA JASMINE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed our facilities such as spacious rooms and bathroom, your nice view from the room and also we are very pleased to note that our staff have been so friendly and accommodating. Your wonderful comments will be shared with my team. It is our pleasure to look after our valued guests and deliver the very best service to all of them.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcome you back to Jetwing Blue in the near future.

Let me take this opportunity to Wish you a Peaceful and Prosperous New Year 2012!

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

Lovely Hotel. The first look of the property is that its just simple and superb. The Staff is cordial and very attentive. We were checked in within a few minutes and escorted to the room . The rooms are big and have a balcony with a very good view of the beach. The room has all the ameneties which a leisure property needs. We spent one night here and must say that it was just fantastic.The pool is very clean and inviting for a swim.

The restaurant called the kitchen is splendid and offers a variety of food options. The staff was so good at the restaurant and escpecially the chef who was patient enough to make dishes the way i wanted them and the staff with their customer focus made the evening just terffic. The bar is good and has some good collection of wines.

Enjoy a chilled beer or a nice wine with a candle lit table on the beach and with some superb food. Try the srilanka very spicy chicken curry with rice.

Loved the hotel, will visit again for sure...

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranjeet_kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

You are extremely kind, thank you very much for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor and more importantly for your visit to Sri Lanka and to Jetwing Blue. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our variety of food and beverages with a wide selection of wines, the service and the company of our friendly team.

It seems that you have even enjoyed the amenities that we provide in our rooms. As a Jetwing Hotel we are held to incredibly high standards and it is always rewarding when a guest deems us worthy of those standards. I am proud of my team and I will most definitely share your wonderful comments with them.

It was a pleasure having you and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We only stayed here for 1 night at the end of our holidays and paid 160$ for the room including breakfast. It's very close to the airport (about 15 - 20 Minutes drive) - they charge 26$ to bring you to the airport which is way to much! Try to organise the transport outside the hotel for a better price!

The room we got was on 1st floor with view of the sea and the pool area. The hotel and the rooms are all brand new and in very good shape. The bathroom had a shower and a bathtub, a cosmetic mirrow and one washing basin. The room has a safety box and bathrobes. Only negative point: the door is facing the main road so you can hear the street a little bit. Free WiFi in room, also big TV.

We ate dinner in the restaurant, food was good, but very long waiting time. As a compensation we could take free desert from the buffet which we appreciated!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissFernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor.

Sorry to note that the airport transfer rate did not meet your budget. We shall look into the pricing of the transportation services that we offer to the guests and work in aligning ourselves with some other taxi services.

We have also noted your comment about the level of noise coming from the streets and whilst this is a challenge to address, we can always bring it up to the attention of the local authorities during our regular meetings with them.

Thank you for highlighting the slow service at the Restaurant, this comment will be taken up very seriously, shared with the Food and Beverage team and addressed by focusing on continuous training.

Once again thank you for bringing the above issue to our notice which will help us improving our services and facilities. Please do visit us during your next visit to Sri Lanka, we shall be honoured to have you back with us.

Sincerely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Had the chance to experience this hotel in transit. It is located in a nice touristy place with plenty to do in terms of eating out and shopping. When you walk in to the reception you aren't really impressed with the minimalist decor etc but its once you start interacting with the staff that you get the warmth across.

We stayed for about 5 hours in room 112, nice eco-friendly decor which is really refreshing. Interesting to have full glass see through washroom, that was pulldown mats for privacy. Nice coffee brwer in teh room, handmade soaps, glass bottles for water, etc etc. The room opens out to a swimming pool which has a lovely 6 incl deep water with chairs for your to just get the hang of dipping your feet in. Nice bar by the pool which is also very reasonably priced and at happy hours it is even better. the swimming pool opens out to the beach with I undertsand is not a private beach though.

the restuarant where we had our dinner has an amazing decor and the food presentation and quality also amazing. I was feeling feverish and when my husband requested for some medicines they made a rush for it. Nothing that we asked for was too much. We had an infant with us and they gladly joined 2 chairs to make a sort of bed for her and propped them up with cushions. the manager of the hotel who is a lovely lady came in to have a chat.

The only reason I am giving 4 stars inspite of praising everything is because we had a big white rat bothering us in the room all throughout. It even came and bit me on my feet once. I do hope the management does somethign about it, coz otherwise I did not find any fault with the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guddi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments on our staff, the food and the other room facilities that we have provided to make your stay comfortable. However, I do sincerely apologize for this unpleasant experience you have had in regards to the local species visiting your room.

We do carry out pest control treatments to minimize such happenings once a month but we do find sudden increases of such pests depending on the climate. In any case, your comments have our full attention and thank you for bringing it to my attention. We are looking into taking more measures to prevent such occurrences in the future.

Thank you once again for your overall positive feedback on your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Jetwing Blue in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was a lovely hotel situated right on the beach front in Negombo with some great views of the sea and fishing boats. We stayed for 2 nights and the food and hospitality were both very pleasing. The breakfast was good but it did seem to take the waiters quite a bit of time to work out what we had ordered and who had actually ordered it. My advice would be to stick to the buffet option at breakfast to save any confusion rather than ordering from the menu.

The pool area and palm trees between the pool and beach are all really beautiful and I would recommend the club sandwich for lunch which was very tasty. The only thing that can get on your nerves about chilling by the pool are the locals that are always calling out to you from the beach where they are selling items in which you can buy from the shop for cheaper. However, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor and your positive comments on our food, especially one of our signature items; the Club Sandwich. I will share your praise with our Chef and his Team.

Your comment with regard to waiters taking a bit of time has been taken very much into consideration and addressed with the people concerned. As for the vendors on the beach, we are fully aware of the issue and we are addressing it this week by arranging a seminar to educate them on the way they approach our guests.

Your comment has reinforced what we have planned with the beach vendors and will be very useful as a concrete example to give them on the situation. Thank you for that.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Blue in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The arrival entrance to this hotel has 3 small steps less than 100mm high, why any architect would design a entrance this way is beyond all comprehension it just adds to the work load of porters and others, it takes 2 persons to wheel a luggage trolley over these steps,

A short drive from the airport the resort while not new has been well maintained, with a obliging staff..Check in went smoothly with a employee of only 2 months (and young) showing all the attributes of a professional much older employee.
The room faced the beach was clean, except for some sand particles on the floor, then we are on a beach what else should we expect.
Food, well this is where we ran into some problems, not major just a bit of annoyance.As we arrived for a late lunch ordered 4 burgers,2 were cooked properly while the other 2 were raw inside.The 2 burgers were quickly replaced however were no better than the first two.
That evening we (4 of us) chose Sri Lanka food, it was, to use one word to describe it --GREAT-some of the best food we had in the country.
T bone steaks from Australia were offered to us however after the experience of lunch and the fact they were frozen declined the offer.An adjoining table did go for a steak (not T bone) sending it back as it was raw inside.
A suggestion would be for this type of western food to be dropped from the menu, as they do the local so well, and after all we did not travel from a beef producing country to eat Australian beef in Sri Lanka.
Would we stay there ago -YES--only for longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Blue. I wish to thank you for your very kind words in regards to the associates of the hotel, especially during your check in experience. I will not miss to share your comment with the team at the reception. I have noted your comment on the architectural design of the hotel’s entrance and you certainly have a valid point, which we will take into consideration for any future upgrades of the hotel.

Allow me to apologize for our shortcomings on the Western food and the undercooked burger issue. I have personally reviewed your feedback with our Executive Chef to ensure this is corrected in the future. Then again, it was rewarding to read that you very much enjoyed our traditional Sri Lankan food, certainly a comment which makes all of us very proud.

It is very pleasing to read that you would come back with pleasure and for a longer time, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly to that effect if I can be of any assistance.

Until then, wishing you a pleasant end of the year.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Jetwing Blue organized the most beautiful day of our life.
We celebrated a true traditional Sri Lanka style wedding on On 11-11-11 on the beach,complete with band,singers, a very emotional ceremony,wedding cake,lunch.
All organized by the wedding planner of the Hotel.
What a great hotel, What a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomNadia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent review you posted on Trip Advisor. We are incredibly privileged to be part of such a momentous occasion here at Jetwing Blue and honoured that you chose a Sri Lankan traditional ceremony on this very special day. We are delighted to know that it indeed was a memorable experience for you and being part of such precious memories is extremely gratifying for us. I have also shared your comments with the rest of my team and they will be greatly pleased.

We look forward to your return to Sri Lanka and Jetwing Blue in the near future. We wish you both a very prosperous future and a world of happiness as you take your first steps together as husband and wife.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 44 in Negombo
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 44 in Negombo
1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 44 in Negombo
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Porutota Road | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $110 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing