We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel and Wonderful Holiday”
Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We chose the hotel only as it was the only 5* hotel in Negombo and we are glad we did. The hotel is very quiet although I think for some days it was full.

The rooms are lovely, huge bath and monsoon shower. We had acres of space even with the additional bed for our 5 year old (a proper bed not a sofa bed)

The pools were great, the main infinity pool is absolutely huge with a deep under cover pool which interconnected with the children's splash pool. In honesty the main pool is not that deep and with steps down the whole length it was heaven for our son.

We ate in the hotel a few times, the Sands restaurant is OK, they try very hard but buffets are not really our thing. One big bonus on half board is that it includes room service, a god send when we got back from a tour late.

On the nights we ate out, Lords was good food but a bit on the expensive side probably better for a romantic dinner, the owner Martin was nice and allowed our son to feed the fish and terapins. Unlike many other reviewers we did not like Coconut primitive , we did go on a weekend so it was busy but they were very slow and the menu was limited but cheap. We loved Bijou and eat there twice, very western menu but we had to compromise with a non curry eating child. We had a three course meal with drinks for around 4000 rupees incl service, not that bad.

Things you must do whilst in Negombo.
We met a fabulous tuk tuk driver in Mohamed on our first day, he made a real effort to show us the real Negombo. The Sunday market is a must, fascinating and huge. We bought some King coconuts to drink on the way round for 20 rupees each, eveything was there, including red bananas. It helped having our tuk tuk driver with us, he could explain what everthing was and what is was used for.

The lagoon and dutch canals are worth a trip and it is definately worth going to the Jasmine Villa for a massage, it was heaven.

Outside Negombo we only went on a two day tour which we wish we could have extended. When you go to the elephant orphanage you first see the elephants in the field they are kept in and then shown down to the milk feeding pen. We were not very keen on this bit of the orphanage experience, but seeing the elephants bathing in the river and having fun was magical. There was a three week old baby which was trying to play with the 10 month old elephants and watching them playing in the water was worth the trip.

The temple of the tooth in Kandy was very interesting, we went late at night and there is definately something magical about it at night..

Sigiria, Lion Rock was amazing and the highlight of our holiday including my five year olds, we thought it would be the day he struggled but he was off on a mini adventure. We had a short rest stop between climbing Lion Rock and the Dambulla Rock Temple which us adults found very interesting but my son did get a bit bored.

The Botanical Gardens in Kandy our well worth a visit, not something I would think I would be interested in but we wish we could have spent more time there.

We will definately go back to Sri Lanka and have fallen in love with the people and country. The only two bits of advice I would give to any traveller are, be careful over the price of anything many shops will bump up the price with you being a tourist, which did get annoying. Secondly, be very clear to tour guides what you want to do and do not settle for a 'standard' tour. We had to have firm words on not being taken to a 'factory' for a tour, particularly when the silk factory tour was a half hearted 2 minute presentation in a shop. Having said that the tea factory was a working factory and very interesting - I think it is important to be clear on what you want to see and what is not for you.

I hope everyone has as good a time as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fam_hols36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

This has been our first trip to Sri Lanka, and I am very pleased to say it wont be our last.
We should have gone to Mexico, but with the swine flu outbreak, sadly, it was not to be.

On arrival at the airport we had to be screened befor being allowed to go to Immigration, all this consisted of was a gentleman asking where you had arrived from, and then giving you a form to fill in telling them where you were staying, and asking you if you had had any symptoms ie coughing sneezing aching limbs runny nose etc, to be honest would anyone say yes after travelling all that way on holday, I think not!!! but on leaving we did notice that they had acquired some thermal imaging cameras!!

The journey from the airport to the hotel only took us about 25mins, and it was quite amusing to see just exactly how many people you can actually fit onto a moped, our best score was 4!!

The hotel reception is lovely and airy and you are met by the most friendliest of staff, a cool drink, and a most welcome cold towel!! Check in took us about 10mins and then we where shown up to our room 208, which was large, with a humungous bed, the bathroom was a good size, bath, sink ,toilet, walk in shower to die for!! phone by the loo which really amused my hubby!!! Our room was cleaned twice a day, (must say though it wasnt dusted, as the cobwebs on the bedside lamp, and the dust in the bathroom will confirm if you look closely, but hey do you do all the nooks and crannies in your house every day!!!)

We did notice that the price of alcohol is expensive, but pick up your spirits in Duty Free at the airport, or there is a shop that sells alcohol close to the Hotel, (outside turn right, about 5 mins down the road on the lefthand side, you go to the glass hatch just like the locals do) The food at the hotel is really good, several choices daily, the breakfast really sets you up for the day, so many choices, my hubby became addicted to the hoppers and he had curry most mornings, braver man than me!! TIP, if you fancy a HARD boiled a make sure you ask the staff to boil it for at least 5mins, other wise YAK!!!

It was my birthday while we where away, and I received a lovely chocolate cake piped with my name, and the bedroom was decorated(all be it only consisted of 2 banners, but the thought was there!)

We ate at the BLACK CORAL on my birthday and i have to say that the food there was out of this world, and the service was exemplary THANK YOU x

We did find that the service around the pool was a little slow, to say that the hotel wasnt full,as it was low season, this should really not be the case, as there where plenty of staff just standing around doing nothing!!! we also found that staff expected to be tipped even after service charges have been charged, naughty naughty boys, you know who you are!!

We went with Hays n Jarvis which where fine, apart from the trip prices, we paid £140 pounds to go to the elephant orphanage n Kandy, then found out that we could have gotten it cheaper outside the hotel at Ocean Travel!! also to


add insult to injury I wasnt very well on the day of the trip, so had to cut it short and only actually made it to the orphanage, and we only received £30 refund from our rep DOUGLAS who also gave my husband what can only be described as a begging letter for donations for his childrens school, not very proffessional ehh?

We ate out several times during our stay despite being half board, we chose
to eat at LORDS, and what a great choice this prooved to be, MARTIN, the owner will go out of his way to deliver a first class service, the food is hot, and every thing we tried was
delicious, YUM YUM!! Martin also has a display of artwork from a local artist which is all for sale, and you can make an offer for any of the pieces, which will all be taken from their frames and rolled and tubed so that you can take them home, you will have to have them re framed once you get home. Martin also rescues strat cats n dogs from the beach, and if you stay long enough, he will introduce you to WHISKY N BRANDY the pups he rescued from a pet shop, he actually bought 4 but 2 died,Martin pays for all the food ,n vet bills dont come cheap as he has to bring a vet in from Colombo, so any donations you could give to him would i i should imagine be most welcome THANK YOU, keep up the good work Martin ur a star xx

On the whole our holiday in Sri Lanka has been amazing, we meet some fantastic people Tony Lou n Lisa from Cardiff x Bunny n Susan from London x n newlyweds Ash n Laura all the best to you all guys xx
The hotel is worth a visit but its not really a 4plus, it does lack somewhere to sit and socialize and enjoy a few drinks with other guests, we found that most of the socialising was done in the pool!! reception does have chairs and sofas, but, got the impression that they, would not be to happy if you sat there having a drink and a chat with other guests, which is a shame really as it is a nice area to sit there is a nice shop in the reception selling nic nacs, quite expensive though, and a lovely jewellers, who will make up what you request in a few days, all in all we really enjoyed our stay and will definatly go back to Sri Lanka, maybe even this hotel xx

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herandhimManUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Just returned from our first visit to Sri Lanka where we had a fabulous week in Negombo at the Jetwing Beach. We enjoyed every minute. We picked it for its' proximity to the airport after an eleven hour flight. Our room overlooked the beach and pool. It was huge and cleaned twice a day with turn down service in the evening. Four bottles of water are provided each day, and also tea and coffee making facilities. Without exception the staff were polite and pleasant and always had a smile and a greeting for us. Their service was excellent and we never felt they looked for tips but appreciated what we gave them. A cake was provided for hubby’s birthday although the actual date was a couple of days after we left. The food was very good. We went B+B and breakfast had such a choice eg curries, full English, Continental, smoothies and pastries to die for, fruit, yogurts etc etc …and Sri Lankan tea is just the best. Try the afternoon tea with a selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones for less than a fiver!! The Mongolian buffet on Saturday was excellent. We also ate locally at King Coconut (very good) and once at Rodeo Bar/4X4 (average).

We did a 2 day tour with Lucky Bolonghe which was amazing, staying overnight in Kandy. We didn’t have to bother about anything he arranged it all, and as he is a registered guide he could come onto the sites with us to explain all the history and background. We told him what we wanted to do and we saw so much. So if anyone would like his contact info drop me an email. We also did a dutch canal trip through the Rep who uses one of the beach people. Beware the arrack on this trip!! The hotel is a bit out of the town and one day we walked into Negombo right down to the harbour, and never felt uneasy at any time, although we seemed to be the only tourists around.

The beach sellers didn’t really annoy us, we just said no thank you and they moved on. We very much hope to return to Sri Lanka one day....we loved it, and would certainly recommend Jetwing Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIncolnToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We recently stayed at the Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo for our 25th Wedding anniversary in the 1st week of May. We chose Jetwing because we knew others that had been here and loved it and also because of the good reviews found here.

The first good point about the hotel is its close proximity to the airport. Sri Lankan roads are very busy and VERY slow, so getting from the airport to the hotel in I think about 30 mins was really great.

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and were presented with a cool refreshing drink. We stayed at the Jetwing Beach for 2 weeks and have absolutely nothing but praise for both the Staff and the Hotel itself. We found the rooms spacious and always spotlessly clean. The staff likewise are superb, at all times they were polite, helpful and friendly.

We are both vegetarians, and always found a good selection of food available for us. With plenty of good bars and restaurants within walking distance, or just a short Tuktuk ride away, you’re spoilt for choice with food. If like us you’re vegetarian I must mention that the English guy who runs Lords restaurant is himself a vegetarian and provides superb veggie food as well as great non veggie food.

Definitely see the Elephant Orphanage. Don’t bother paying to feed them, or get there early to see them being feed (going that early results in running into the Sri Lankan school run which is mayhem) feeding them is over very quickly, and the babies can down the bottle in less than 30 seconds, so unless you really want to feed a baby elephant don’t bother. The most impressive part is watching the elephants herd down the road and into the river, really do not miss this!

Seeing a local Tea Plantation, and factory is more interesting than it sounds as well. I imagined it would just be ruddy great big fields just full of tea plants, a bit like the picture on the back of a PG Tips box. However we were quite impressed with the factory, it’s a very interesting place, and you get to have a cup of nice tea there as well!

If there were any down points they are extremely few and only minor. First off, be careful when walking on the local pavements, they are in poor repair, and you could easily twist an ankle especially at night as the street lighting’s not brilliant (no pun intended). You’ll notice a lot of dogs around, especially by the side of the road, mostly they were owned and harmless and some even quite friendly. Also unless you’re really interested in fish, avoid the fish market, the stench is overpowering, and you’ll need a strong constitution to see the ‘Blood and Guts’ that abound there. Another minor grumble is you will get hassled by street/beach vendors….but I guess they’re only trying to earn a living, and by and large they’re friendly and will take no for an answer, oh just one thing while I think of it. If you say ‘no’ to these vendors, they will say ‘maybe tomorrow’ or ‘some other time then’. If you have no intention of buying from them make it clear you don’t want their goods, if you say ‘yeah’ to tomorrow or some other time then, believe me they remember and will definitely not leave you alone…You’ve been warned :-)

Overall, a lovely holiday and a fantastic Hotel. Thank you Jetwing Beach, and Sri Lanka, one day we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George-Of-Asda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Just spent 2 weeks at the Jetwing beach. All I can say is its fantastic value for money - yes there is a premium over other hotels in Negombo but I think it is well worth it. Friendly staff attitude, attention to details, everything clean & in working order, plenty of sun-loungers etc. Yes, it is customary to tip for small errands but 100R means little for us and a lot to the staff (as anywhere in Sri Lanka)
The food was a great standard but if you wander up the road there's plenty of choice - Lords - about 100yds up the road offers excellent food & value for money.
We used this hotel as a base and travelled about the country with a chap called Francis (who is registered with Jetwing and can often be found in the lobby) I would reccommend him as your guide.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kel72Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Spent 14 great days at The Beach on a B&B 'package' with First Choice. Flights there and back were excellent and service on board and at the resort was most attentive. First Choice are much maligned, but in our view they provide very good value.

The hotel is very convenient for the airport, which is a bonus given the time it takes to travel anywhere on Sri Lanka's busy roads!. Received a warm welcome when we arrived and after a cool refreshing drink we were shown to our lovely room. A complimentary bottle of wine and fruit was delivered immediately.

We had read a lot about the spacious rooms and bathrooms and were not disappointed. The bathroom, with its double bath and monsoon shower was stunning. The sign on the door reads "this shower rains at 10 litres per minute". I said "bring it on!".

Our balcony on the third floor overlooked the beautiful infinity pool and the Indian Ocean. The bottle of wine was suitably consumed in a long hot bath whilst watching a glorious orange sunset.

We chose the B&B option so we could sample the local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Our initial impression of this part of Negombo was slightly disappointing, but once we got our bearings and got to know the good value restaurants we were happy. At no stage did we feel threatened when walking along the main road and although you tend to get pestered by vendors trying to entice you into their jewellery or souvenir shops, a polite "no thank you" is all you need and they bear you no malice.

Our favourite restaurants were Coconut Primitive, for basic down to earth currys at rock bottom prices, and Lords for more up market cuisine and decent wine at affordable prices. Martin makes you very welcome and if you stay for a complimentary nightcap he wil introduce you to Brandy and Whisky, his adorable pups! Bijoux and Sherrys were good value, but their menus are somewhat generic. The Rodeo Bar is a good place to have a beer before you eat, but we would not recommend their food.

We ate several times at The Beach in the evening and could not fault the food. The BBQ evening was excellent although obviously you pay more for the food and the drinks. We had a lovely prawn curry one lunchtime cooked especially for us by the deputy head chef on an outside BBQ.

The breakfasts were superb and we were well looked after by the charming Narishah. As well as the usual buffet style fayre there is a cooking station for bacon, omlettes and sausages, but if you fancy scrambled or poached eggs then you only have to ask your waitress/waiter and they will arrive freshly cooked from the kitchen.

Although not widely advertised there are two free high speed broadband computers in the small room off the Reception area on the ground floor. We mentioned in passing to our Rep' that one of the keyboards was a bit 'tired' with numbers/letters fading. It was replaced with a new one by the next morning!

There is a reasonably priced souvenir shop adjacent to the Reception desk, which had less tacky merchandise and a good selection of postcards and stamps. The postage system actually works and a stamp to the UK only cost about 20 rupees. The gym was also good with helpful staff who would give you cool towels when you finished.

We loved the pool and the sunbed area. Yes, the beach vendors can be a bit of a nuisance, but they're quite harmless and never caused offence. The beach area immediately outside the hotel is well kept, but venture further afield in either direction and it becomes a bit tatty. It's a shame the local hotels can't create a joint venture to keep the whole stretch clean. It wouldn't cost a lot and could provide some welcome local employment.

We took a gamble before we left the UK and booked a tour guide who was recommended in another Trip Advisor review. Our guide, Erickson Tissera, ([--]) was a local and we went out with him on three different days in his air conditioned people carrier.

The first trip was to Kandy via Pinnawala, where there is an elephant orphanage. We loved watching the huge herd bathe in the river and it was certainly one of the highlights of our holiday. Our second trip to Galle was a bit ambitious in one day and, with hindsight, it would have probably made sense to stay overnight.

Finally, we went to Sigiriya to the Lion Rock. It had been closed for several days due to the hornets on the rockface becoming aggressive, but things had calmed down when we got there. Erickson arranged a local guide to take us up the rock and it was well worth the small extra cost, Be prepared for 1,202 steps to the top and be warned that some of the steps are rather narrow and rickety on the way. However, the views from the top are breathtaking and it is an adventure we shall never forget.

Driving in Sri Lanka is mad, but we felt safe with Erickson. It is quite normal to see cows, elephants and dogs on the road and sometimes you will see a whole family on a moped!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wringtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Everything said so far for April 2009 is true. A great hotel with very friendly staff. I will point out that rubbish does build up by the breakwater to the right of the hotel and the hotel does clean up the beach front every month so perhaps it was due to be done. If you read their Green Booklet the hotel does a lot to keep the hotel as environmentally friendly from not using plastic bags and bottles to recycling all waste. Bathwater is used to water the gardens! We showed an interest in the vegetable gardens and were shown around by management. The hawkers are annoying and its best to be firm as our polite 'no' was ignored many a time. Be careful as some beach people will try to get money of you with a sob story. Mohammed sells jewelley, Nelly, Maria, Mary, Philomena all sell sarongs. Ahmad did wooden elephants. Everybody can get you a trip for less but we found from talking to guests that some did still have to pay entrance fees and for guides. There were also a couple of near misses on the roads. On the whole I would book with the tour company for longer trips just from an insurance point of view. Day time trips on the Dutch Canals or Fishing trips are OK from the Locals. Negumbo is a bit tatty and we found the best way to see it and its points of interest was to use a tuktuk (auto rickshaw). 1000 sri lankan rupees was the cost and we got to see a hell of a lot.
We only ate in the evenings 5 times as the humidity killed our appetite.........Mongolian Night is the best for value for money and I would highly recommend it.

Be careful of the sea as the undercurrents are very strong.We only went in to our knees and that was enough.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smallpacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,466 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,502 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $111 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing