We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room very nice, restaurant terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Room very nice, restaurant terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

First impressions were great, lovely reception area, prompt friendly service.

The room was very spacious as was the bathroom.

It was night time but the pool was lite up lovely and looked inviting.

We then went for dinner in the restaurant, which was terrible. We choose the buffet, which was the most expensive buffet we had on our travels throughout Sri Lanka.

The choice looked great from a distance, but closer up revealed insects running all over the food, trays missing or run out that were not replaced. Food dried up from being left out too long.

My husband even saw the staff around the fresh fish stand laughing and poking the fish in the eyeball to see what it felt like. Service rude or ignored us.

Back in the room for bed time, the turn down service had let in loads of mosquitoes so spent 20 mins trying to kill them.

Breakfast the next day was even worse, the cereal and the toast was stale and inedible, staff on the stand for eggs and bacon and other freshly made items completely ignored us, the toaster was broken, items had run out, more insects, and even once we sat down to eat what we could, it was chewy, stale or over cooked. We gave up, it was the worst food I’ve ever had.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a constructive review following your recent stay with us.

Whilst we were glad to read that you were pleased with the first impression of the hotel, we certainly are very concerned that we did not meet your expectations in term of service and food at the main restaurant.

Please be assured that your feedback have been shared with the departments concerned and the respective teams for immediate corrective actions.

Thank you once again for letting us know some of our shortcomings and we hope to still have the pleasure of welcoming you back, trusting that we will deliver the service you should expect on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    621
    185
    51
    27
See reviews for
442
852
78
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was an exceptional hotel and loved our stay here. It was our last stop in Sri Lanka before heading home and it was a relaxing hotel. We didn’t venture out as we had everything we needed at the hotel, we simply relaxed and chilled by the swimming pool. The beach was clean and tidy, and the local sellers kept their distance whilst you chilled out. Restaurant was OK but could offer a better choice of buffet. Only comment was that the pool side staff made us pay for our food and drinks instead of charging it to our rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_mcdermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor following your stay in October 2013 at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were enchanted to read that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service and product we have on offer.

Please be assured that your comments on the buffet and the outlet cashier is taken on board and shared accordingly for review and necessary action where appropriate. Thank you for bringing this matters to our attention.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights at the beginning of our Sri Lanka vacation. We had arrived in the middle of the night after several extremely long flights, and this hotel was exactly what we needed. Our room, on the ground floor, facing the pool, was large and quiet, and we were able to sleep, go to the pool, sleep some more, go to the open-air restaurant within feet of our room, and sleep some more. The staff was friendly and attentive, and the small porch outside our room was delightful. It was the perfect place for us to start our tour!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were elated to note that you and your grand daughter had a memorable and relaxing holiday with us and were pleased with the product and personalized service of our team.

All your compliments are were greatly appreciated and have been shared with the entire team.
Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending Jetwing Beach to fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another memorable holiday, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.


Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Hi.
We spent 2 nights here. And i can tell you that i can accept many things but i expect clean rooms and silent on my holidays.

Cutting grass at 7am and making terrible noise is something what I can ignore. ;)


Hotel could be also cleaner and breakfast menu a bit better.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Seba_Poland2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We were very sorry to note from your review of the disturbances and inconvenience you encountered during your stay and please do accept our apologies.

Please be assured that it is never our intention to disappoint our guests in any way and your feedback has helped us in addressing the issue you mentioned with the relevant department.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you we can do better than your first experience and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next with us.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a fantastic stay. The beach in front of the hotel is lovely with plenty of sun loungers so it doesn't feel crowded. We went for a half board option but I would recommend just having breakfast included, so you have the option to wander down the road to the many nearby restaurants which have excellent food. The pool is a good size and the staff very friendly. The rooms are quite basic, but with a large bathroom and good shower. I'd highly recommend for a short stay if you're looking to stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelClare2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor following your stay in October 2013 at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were more than happy to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were extremely pleased with the service and product we have on offer.

It is nice to note that you liked the room we had allocated for you and found it to be perfectly appointed. Your compliments on the pool and our friendly team are greatly appreciated and have been shared accordingly.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending Jetwing Beach to fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another memorable holiday, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the final night of our trip before returning to the airport. We were told we were in the honeymoon suite on check in (we got married in Sri Lanka) however on meeting the rest of our group we'd got exactly the same.
We used the pool which was lovely and the staff were very attentive and everything nice and clean. In the evening we ate in the beach bar the staff here were not at all attentive or polite, playing games rather than sorting our drinks. Tried to have a bath in the room but the water came out orange! Otherwise the rooms were nicely fitted out and what we saw of the facilities they were okay. Compared to the other hotels were have stayed in this one just lacked that friendly relaxed atmosphere and the customer service just didn't come close but that said if we were stopping over a night I would use the hotel again but definitely not for a long stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahpiepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We were extremely concerned to note your experience at the beach deck and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your short stay with us.

We thank you for taking the time to bring this shortfall to our attention and we would like to assure that we have spoken to the concerned department heads and the training manager for immediate remedy.

However we were happy to note that the team at the pool took great care of you, and we have shared your feedback with the the associates concerned.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity by coming to stay with us again and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next with us.


Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there for 4 days. The staff is helpful and really nice. The bedrooms are spacious, well decorated, cleaned every day entirely! They have a very nice big swimming pool and direct access to the beach. You can either get a transat next to the pool, on the sand by the pool or by the sea. We really enjoyed our stay. Their only problem would be the quality of the service at their main restaurant, the waiters aren't so nice and the service can be slow. Apart from that. we would definitely recommend this hotel, located 30 min max from the Colombo Airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.
We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the product and service available at the hotel.

All your kind comments are well appreciated and have been shared with the entire team.
Your feedback with regards to the service of our team at the restaurant has been carefully noted and shared with the F&B manager and training manager so that necessary corrective action and are taken accordingly to avoid any such re-occurrences in the future.

Thank you once again for staying with us and it was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another memorable holiday, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.


Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Property: Jetwing Beach
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#2 Family Hotel in Negombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing