We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - would recommend”
Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - would recommend”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel following a quite tiring tour of Sri Lanka the previous week. We booked into a suite which is very spacious, with an outdoor bathroom, large balcony, and view of the beach. Fantastic big comfy bed! Bliss!

We had a good week here, the Black Coral restaurant was very good - with one exception. Having the waiter shine a torch to show you your dinner is a bit weird. Please just improve the lighting in the room a notch or two! The buffet had a different theme every night, and was consistently good.

Word of warning, it was very hot 34 degrees plus and very humid, and make sure you spray well with mosquito repellent every evening. There is a constant procession of people - all wearing a similar uniform?? - selling you sarongs etc on the beach. If you sit well back towards the pool, they cannot approach you - but if you sit near the front expect to be pestered.

We both had a massage. My husband had the thai massage, which was a full on walk on your back and stretch you every which way variety - and I had the Swedish massage which was equally good, and very good value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite - you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    642
    192
    53
    28
See reviews for
453
883
81
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but felt compelled to this time because my family enjoyed our holiday here so much. We booked this hotel because we were tired and just wanted to relax on a beach for 10 days with our 3-year old and 2-year old. The hotel is only about 8 miles from Colombo airport which meant minimum transfer time with the kids. The set-up was great for us. Our room was large and on the ground floor. It was very comfortable and included a free safe and all the normal comforts. Outside was a nice shaded grass area for the kids to play opposite the 45 metre pool. There were 2 other pools available as well, one of which was shaded for most of the day. Beyond the pool was the beach with lots of beautiful coconut palms providing plenty of shade. The sunbeds were the most comfortable we've experienced and fresh beach towels were provided every day. The beach is about 100 metres wide and the sand gets very hot so everyone needs beach footwear to get to the sea. We booked full board which we don't normally like to do because we get bored with the repetitive location and food. However, we found the food in the Sands restaurant excellent, comparative with a top class restaurant. The only slightly negative thing was the kids menu was not very healthy but ordering off menu for the kids was not a problem. In addition, the staff were amazing and bent over backwards to help, even to the extent of following the kids around the garden while we finished our meal in peace! (Thanks Malshi and Baghiya). There was another restaurant called the Black Coral (I think) for "Fine Dining" but we never felt the need to try it because the food in the Sands restaurant was so good. There were 2 bars, one on the beach and one within the Sands restaurant and there's also a bar at the Jetwing Blue sister resort which effectively joins right on. The only problem we had was with Mosquitos but I think it's the same everywhere you go so take repellant and we also took nets to put over the kids beds. The Health Spa was very relaxing and not too expensive by hotel standards. There is also a gym and a dive school on site. There are lots of the usual bars, restaurants and souvenir shops just a short walk down the road, or beach and plenty of tours available from the hotel and outside agencies (which again, we didn't feel the need to take). Overall, excellent location, great food and facilities and incredibly friendly staff made it a holiday that will always be remembered.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GCC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

There is nothing that warms our heart more than a guest who truly appreciates all our efforts. Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience at Jetwing Beach on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We were thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us from the beach front to the food and the service provided by our associates, among them Malshi and Baghiya and the rest of the team. It is a part of our mission to meet our guests expectations at all times and your excellent ratings for the hotel products and services do bring a lot of encouragement to the whole team.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team which was delighted that their contribution made your stay a pleasant and that will surely go a long way in motivating us to keep delivering the exemplary service of Jetwing Hotels.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Jetwing Beach, assuring you of our personalized service and best attention at all time, please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Jetwing beach earlier this month, having stayed there in April 2012.
The hotel was even better than on our last stay. Our ground floor room was extremely comfortable and cleaned beautifully every day. The food was generally excellent and realistically priced. My only criticism is that we would like to have seen a more varied selection of curries at breakfast and the fruit juice wasn't good. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience at Jetwing Beach on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we have met your overall expectations during your stay with us and we would like to convey our gratitude for your wonderful compliments.

We have shared your comments with our team which was delighted that their contribution have helped in creating a magical experience for you.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable compliments as it makes an opportunity to drive and improve our services even further.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Jetwing Beach and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Perfectly situated for the start or end of a visit to Sri Lanka. No more than 20 minutes from the airport and very welcoming and friendly staff. There are two pools, one adjacent to the restaurant/bar and the other a bit further away. The sea is not far away either and whilst it shelves a little I recall it was quite safe cmpared to some beaches further south.
Hotel probably deserves more static guests than just those in transit to other places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCCKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Jetwing Beach as our flight from Columbo was early morning, so the day before we drove up from Galle and stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is only a 15 minute drive from the airport so we didn't have to get up too early with our 5 and 4 year old to catch our 7:30am flight.

Our service at the hotel was impeccable compared to the service I received trying to book a room over the phone a month prior to our trip. We first tried to reserve a room with Jetwing Blue as it was cheaper to Jetwing Beach and we only needed a place to sleep for 1 night. Jetwing Blue is right next door to Jetwing Beach. After numerous international calls and emails I had had enough of no one returning my calls or email about my reservation. During my last international call, I made sure I spoke to management, by this stage all rooms had been already booked, suprise surprise, so they offered us a room at Jetwing Beach.

We were happy with this in the end, despite paying extra money. On arrival we were greeted by the customer liason who was very helpful in every aspect. She even gave our girls an elephant plush toy as a souvenier. Our room, on the top floor, was very roomy,comfortable and clean, and had an amazing view of the beach. The blacony even had a bath which we unfortunately did not get to use. We had our own butler service and the room had fresh fruit and chocolates when we arrived and macaroons were left after our turn down service.

Our girls tested the pool out which was right on the beach, while mum and dad enjoyed a few cocktails watching the sun set. We had the buffet dinner at the restaurant, the kids were able to choose a meal from the kids menu. Their meals were huge that they could have shared one serve. The buffet was ok, lots of variety in salads, meats and deserts. They had a cooking station where a cook was making fresh chicken kebab wraps which were very tasty and our favourite meal of the night.

The one negative thing about our room was that the balcony was right over the restaurant which got very noisy of a night time with resaturant guests and with a guy playing guitar who was singing way out of tune, and when you need to get up relatively early to pack and catch a plane it was not entertaining at all.

When we checked out in the morning we were each given a breakfast box as we left before breakfast service had started. Our boxes contained a cheese sandwich, a danish, a piece of cake, a piece of fruit, a juice box, a water bottle and a cold sausage. Apart from the sausage everything else was very nice and a good way to pass the time while we waited to baord our plane.

Would definately reccomend Jetwing Beach for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms beach side above the restaurant are very noisy at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good place to rest up for a night or two after that long flight. Accommodation good, food - buffet standard. There seemed to be an awful lot of staff doing not very much. Checking out took an age despite many reception staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Jetwing Beach Hotel from 9th March till 10th March after an air taxi ride to get a scenic view on Colombo. It was very enjoyable, and the food, atmosphere, and the hospitality of the staff was commendable.
I would not hesitate to recommend this luxury hotel for anyone who is craving for that extra something that especially Sri Lankan hotels could offer coupled with the local hospitality at its BEST!

Room Tip: We stayed at room 315, with an view of the pool, although a little far from the elevator, we didnot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Senaratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience at Jetwing Beach on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was gratifying to read how impressed you were with our facilities, the quality of service, our Sri Lankan hospitality, the food on offer and specially the magnificent view over the Indian Ocean.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Jetwing Beach, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 42 in Negombo
1,411 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 42 in Negombo
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 42 in Negombo
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
1,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 42 in Negombo
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Property: Jetwing Beach
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#2 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing