We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Average”
Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Arrived at JetWing Beach really looking forward to it. Found reception staff moody and unhelpful. Booked a sea view balcony but unable to see the sea through trees. The hotel employ hawkers to pester you while you sunbath on the beach. The buffet breakfast was exactly the same for the 8 days that we stayed there.
Positives were good internet access, close to some decent bars and resturants and Negambo is close the airport. We stayed in 3 hotels in Sri Lanka and found this was the only one where some of the staff had an attitude.

Room Tip: Dont take room 247 if you want a see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul186360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience of Jetwing Beach on Trip Advisor.

We appreciated your kind comments about Internet accesses and the location of the hotel.

We do take constructive feedback seriously and were disappointed that certain areas of the hotel, specially the service of the front office associates, did not meet your expectations.
I will personally look into this and rest assured that immediate action with the front office manager and the training manager will be taken to rectify the issues.

With regard to the breakfast buffet selection, we have noted your point and it will be reviewed with the Executive Chef of the hotel to have rotating dishes regularly. Thank you for brining this matter to our attention.

Please note that the beach weldors are not part at all of the hotel but are free lance vendors registered at the tourism board of Negombo. We do our best to control them and you comment will assist us in our task.


Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, so you can experience the improvements we will have made as a result of your feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Jetwing Beach was the first hotel of our trip and for me no other surpassed it, especially in terms of hospitality and dining. The reception staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Our garden room was large with a spacious windowed bathroom and comfortable bed.The room boy would call early evening with more bottled water although you could only have two of the glass bottles at any time.

There were two nights with a la carte menu and one buffet evening, although I am not a fan of buffets the standard and selection was first class and Anoosha went to a lot of effort explaining the dishes and even brought other curries from the kitchen as she knew we liked Sri Lankan curry. The restaurant staff would take time to chat and treat you with great reverence, even the manager came around.The lunchtime snacks at the outside bar were also very good.

There were some dogs near the restaurant on the first evening but they never came too close. I found it a bit wearing saying no to the beach sellers several times a day but they were lovely people. The hotel did seem quiet of an evening although there was a group one night. I would have used the gym but it was no longer open and you have to go along to the sister hotel.

I still think this is a great hotel and we were very happy to return on the last night of our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZebraLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back on Trip advisor following your stay in December 2012 at Jetwing Beach, Negombo, Sri Lanka.
We were glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments praising our food, hospitality and associates.

We will share your compliments with the entire team, especially with Anusha who did anticipate your needs and whom you enjoyed.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us at Jetwing Beach in the future and please do contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fantastic architecture on a magnificent beach and great rooms. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The attention to detail on service at arrival and departure was great. The only real disappointment was the Alar carte food menu. We were expecting a bit more variety and innovation on a hotel of this kind. ideally located to begin or end your tour in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach, Negombo,Sri Lanka.


We were extremely pleased to read your complements and they have been shared with the entire team.
We have noted your constructive feedback regarding the a la carte menu offering, and this is a matter we will review together with the Executive Chef of the hotel. Thank you for that.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your kind compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and until then please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiul location on the beach with plenty sun loungers placed under the palm trees.The hotel rooms are very spacious with a large and well equipped bath room.Fabulous shower and no shortage of hot water.Room was kept spotlessly clean by Sanjeewa and Chathuranga who also kept us amused by the variety of animals that can be fashioned out of towels! We were also well looked after by Asanga who worked behind the bar and served us many of our lunchtime snacks and cold Lion beer.The staff are a credit to the hotel and made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for posting your kind review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.


We all were delighted to learn that you both enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Beach.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Jetwing hotels and it is always rewarding to learn that it has been achieved from our customer service and the product we offered.


We have shared your feedback with our team and particularly the associates whom you mentioned in your review. They all are very thankful for your kind words.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your kind compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I don't expect anything less from the Jetwing group. This hotel was fabulous! I thoroughly enjoyed the massive buffet breakfast, the pool and bar area and the spa. The employees at the spa were fantastic and we enjoyed a couples massage on Valentine's Day as well as manicures and pedicures. Excellent overall service! You can't get better.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethJoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for posting your fabulous experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo, Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to read that you extremely had enjoyed your stay with us especially the Valentine’s Day celebrations in the hotel.

Your compliments of the Jetwing family and associates are highly recognized and appreciated.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your kind compliments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the jetwing beach in negombo Sri Lanka . over all a good hotel staff all friendly room clean and well presented, the food is good and although more expensive than the local eating places that is to be expected. However we stayed for a night at the cinnamon citadel in kandy on a tour and I think jetwing could take a trip to have a look at how they could lay out their hotel the next time they refurbish the layout and decor of the hotel restrant / lobby and the little details in the rooms like a needle and cotton set spare tooth brush and paste only small I know but was nice to see.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooster318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Jetwing Beach - Negombo on Trip Advisor.
We greatly appreciate all the compliments about the hotel, especially the attentiveness of our associates. Our guests' perspective is very important to us and we have taken your suggestions very positively.

The layout of the restaurant, lobby and the decor of the hotel reflects the design from Geoffrey Bawa, one of Sri Lanka most renowned architect but do understand that it might to appeal to everyone

The hotel housekeeping department does have a stock of bathroom kits, which are available on demand. Our apologies if you were not informed that this service could be provided.

We do hope that you will be able to come back to Sri Lanka and visit us again and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at start and 2 nights at end of visit to Sri Lanka. Closeness to airport makes it a convenient place to chill before or after late-night flights. All rooms face the ocean but whilst some have spectacular views of palm-fringed beach others are semi-obstructed. Both my rooms were very large with balconies. Some fixtures and fittings are getting worn but I liked the spacious proportions and slightly minimalist interior. Large bathroom with tub and vast separate rain shower. I loved the glass interior walls with view from the shower right through to the ocean. There are blinds if you want privacy. Outdoor set-up is also very good, divided into distinct areas – pool, bar, or beach-front. This gives options for sun or shade and choice of chairs or recliners either poolside, or at the beach bar, or under palms fronting the beach. Breakfast and dinner were OK. Buffet and à la carte menu, food international and some Sri Lankan. Not fine dining but well presented and generous. Very friendly service.

The hotel was not quite what I expected. I booked through ‘Small luxury Hotels’ and thought I was familiar with their brand but Jetwing Beach stretches the definition a bit. I certainly wouldn’t call it small. Still, overall it was more than satisfactory. It’s a comfortable and interesting place. The modernist design, apparently by the great architect Geoffrey Bawa, makes it a notable building and sets it above ordinary modern hotels. The entrance and restaurant are approached by wide flights of stairs with low-rise steps, creating a sense of occasion. Some of the concrete and functional stairwells may not be to everyone’s taste but there’s a very considered and intelligent use of scale both inside and outside so that even when it’s busy the hotel never feels crowded.

Overall I'd say it’s a good choice for couples or solos, and it seemed to work well as a destination for families with children. To me the location made it right for a short stay but the space and amenities would be comfortable for a longer stay too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mladww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Jetwing Beach Negombo Sri Lanka on Trip Advisor.


We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our team. Thank you for the very detailed feedback and for mentioning so many positive elements about the location, the service of the dedicated associates, the quality of and the hotel architecture.

Your compliments of our associates is highly appreciated as our team is one of our main assets.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your kind compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,480 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 43 in Negombo
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,517 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#2 Family Hotel in Negombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $113 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing