We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jetwing Beach, Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Jetwing Beach, Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best and really big beach hotel, good in service, big rooms, nice food, must check in early for the buffet diner,with wifi service, very clean beach. Very near to the airport, I will come back again, atleast have to stay for 2 days.

Room Tip: Any location will be, because there are few swiming pools around all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sengbee_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were thrilled to hear that you had enjoyed the overall facilities at the hotel as well as pleased with the service of our professional and friendly associates. We were also happy to note that you found our rooms very comfortable and have enjoyed the dining experiences.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we all are looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sri Lanka for a longer stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    629
    187
    52
    28
See reviews for
446
862
80
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We chose Jetwing Beach hotel as we wanted a relaxing beach holiday for 9 days half board. The location is good but we were very disappointed in the hotel itself and would have much preferred to have stayed next door (literally) at the Jewing Blue where the atmosphere was much brighter and modern and more “tourist friendly”.
We note now that the Jetwing Beach has a new general manager since our stay in February and the customer services manager did try to make us feel at home once she had moved us from our initial mosquito filled room and had apologised for no one being at the reception desk for some little while when we arrived to book in. The reception area/lounge itself is very plain with a few settees but not the sort of place to relax or have coffee on an evening, plus the mosquitoes of course. People used the area to get a better Wi-Fi signal which was painfully slow but better than trying to get a signal in the bedroom.
The food was pleasant and the gala buffets were good but breakfast was disappointing. The various assortments of dishes covered with nets for hygiene reasons were not quickly replenished and sometimes with the cereals once it had gone it had gone!
Our room was large, with an interesting and large bathroom behind glass but with blinds that could give privacy. The A.C. in the room was comparatively noisy.
The beach was lovely but you had the nuisance of beach sellers that ringed the hotel so you had to get past them before getting to the sea. They could sit on the beach and they would call at you whilst you sunbathed under a LOT of trees that gave you a LOT of shade so if you wanted to get the sun you had to put your chairs further onto the beach where the traders were.
The hotel is used a lot by locals for weddings, conferences and lunches so tourists nearly felt outnumbered.
Next door at Jetwing Blue from the moment you entered the hotel it had a lovely modern and airy reception. We went so far as looking at the rooms here and although some had smaller bathrooms overall they were comparable.

We think Jetwing Blue would have been a better choice for us. This hotel is well laid out with most of the facilities at ground level whereas the Jetwing Beach is up and down from reception to the dining room and pool with a badly lit and narrow passageway little signage so people would ask how to get out !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarefreeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very constructive review of Jetwing Beach on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for having given you cause for disappointment following your stay in February.

We were truly and extremely concerned to have read your comments as this is not at all reflective of the usual standards of service.

We do appreciate your compliments on the food and the gala dinner and also of our sister hotel Jetwing Blue, for which as a matter of fact I overlook the management of it as well.

We consistently strive to ensure that our service and the product remain on the highest level in Jetwing hotels and please rest assured that I have noted your comments and will to work towards improving the areas you have mentioned.

I do hope that you will provide us with an opportunity to restore your confidence in Jetwing Beach and will visit us again on your next visit to Sri Lanka. To that effect, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance and as mentioned earlier, I can assist you either for Jetwing Beach or Jetwing Blue.


Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Jetwing Beach the night prior to taking our return flight home.

Overall this is an excellent hotel with high standards of accommodation and service.

Pros

All of the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much hassle.
The room was spacious and very comfortable, in particular the shower room.
The fine dining restaurant provide a high standard of food, drink and service (the mexican and jamican coffee's to finish, were a perfect end to some polished food).
The complimentary fresh fruit, small box of chocolates and as much bottled water (as you need) is a very nice touch.
The location is on the beach ensuring you gain a sea breeze on your face, whilst sipping a cosmopolitan cocktail (for the wife) and a large bottle of Lion Beer or a Mojito (for moi).
Yes there are beach dogs and sellers, but they seem to keep their distance.
Prices for food and drink seemed very reasonable for a hotel.

Cons

The prices displayed on the food and drinks menu's should be what is due to be paid, not exclusive of government and local taxes - thus adding an additional 25% on top of any bill.

After a excellent evening meal, we felt that the breakfast experience was a let down. The staff fried the eggs in a dirty frying pan, producing black burnt bits on the egg. The fresh fruit juice was watered right down, leaving very little flavour and there seemed a prolonged wait for the cook to finish off the recooked bacon (again on a hot plate covered in burnt grease), or to fry off the sausages or even to top up the beans. Maybe this was due to us taking a relatively late breakfast (0930) when this service concludes at 1000hrs........
Also in the early hours there was a lot of noise coming from around the outdoor pool from a large number of either male guests or locals. It appeared that security either reacted very late to the situation or not at all.

However, to confirm, the pro's of our stay certainly outweighed the negatives and we will be returning for sure the next time we visit Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sea side of the hotel, as with most locations in Sri Lanka, anything backing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheYeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Beach Negombo in Sri Lanka and for taking the time to post a detailed feedback on Trip Advisor.

We truly value your comments as it is only from guest feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. At Jetwing Beach, we take our guest feedback very seriously and nothing would make us happier than to have you return as our guest.

We were of course, most concerned to learn of your disappointments and would like to extend my sincere apologies that your experience fell short of the high standards we are renowned for achieving. Please allow me to reassure you that I have personally addressed your feedback with the Exe Chef and his brigade to ensure that we revisit all these issues and minimize the risk of them reoccurring.

On the other hand, we were delighted to learn that you particularly enjoyed the friendly service and the beautiful location of the beach, the room and the facilities provided.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second time to this hotel and again was superb great food fantastic room and the service is just amazing ,we were so suprised to be remembered as well ,. We will be back again .
This hotel is so well located to just a short drive to the airport .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay for the second time at Jetwing Beach Sri Lanka and taking the time to share your compliments on Trip Advisor.

We were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Beach and that we were able to turn your moments with us into a lasting memory. There is nothing that warms our heart more than a guest who truly appreciates all our efforts, and we are pleased to know that we managed to meet and exceed your expectations in most aspects of the service.

I hope we will be able to welcome you once again on your next visit to Sri Lanka and until then, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

A luxury hotel, extremly friendly staff and wide spaces.
Pools arent the best, sea is a bit dark brown. But the tanning experience will be reached.

From the reception you can get all the tours you wish for.
As a whole, sri lanka is not expensive.

A real relaxed ambience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farahelsadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Beach Negombo in Sri Lanka and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and We were delighted to receive your gracious feedback about your holiday. Thank you for your recognition of our team and their efforts in making your holiday an enjoyable. Your kind words shall go a long way in motivating the entire team to keep doing their best as we are known at Jetwing hotels.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent a night at Jetwing Beach with four other family members. The service was great and the staff really friendly and helpful. I had a deluxe room on the 2nd floor. The facilities were clean, but seemed to be ageing in some respects. For instance to dial another room, you need to call the operator. The AC was also quite noisy and purred through the night.

I had a great view of the beach from my room, and also spent some time lounging at the beach. While I thoroughly enjoyed the beach, the waiters in the beach area were quite slow and I got interrupted a few times by touts advertising boat rides or clothing items. I also have to mention the 2 resident dogs which are quite friendly but unfortunately look like tolerated strays. Overall we had a great time notwithstanding the drawbacks above.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor opening out to the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at Jetwing Beach Negombo in Sri Lanka and we thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you had a pleasant and wonderful experience and that our associates were courteous and attentive to your needs.

We consistently strive to ensure that our service and the product remain on the highest level. Please rest assured that we have noted your comments with regards to the slow service on the beach area and we will work on improving in this area of our service. As far as the dogs are concerned, this is a situation we do monitor closely and we are in frequent contact with the local authorities concerned to take the necessary measures to avoid their presence in the guest contact areas.
Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Jetwing Beach hotel during our transit time on way to Singapore. The service and hospitality of the staff was top class. A warm welcome, directions to room and all help readily provided. The professional service of the hotel staff deserve special mention

The room too was good with breath taking view to the beach, a balcony by which you can relax having tea & snacks. The setting of the bathroom is unique and something I have rarely seen elsewhere. It has to be seen rather than being described in words.

With regards to cleanliness, perhaps we can deduct a point but no complaints. Free Wi -Fi and other facilities were provided.

The food was good as well. Our pick up for sight seeing, drop off at the Airport - everything was well coordinated.

We couldn't enjoy more at the place due to time constraints but look forward to staying at this wonderful property during any future trips to Sri Lanka

Room Tip: Beach Facing rooms are the obvious best choice. Would recommend one that is centrally positioned tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach Negombo,Sri Lanka. It was indeed a pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We were pleased to note that you have experienced our unique features of the property and the professional service of our associates. We have noted your point in regards to some cleanliness issues and we will certainly focus on this area in the future. Thank you for pointing it out.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to the team of the hotel it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation of the service delivered by the associates.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Property: Jetwing Beach
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#2 Family Hotel in Negombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing