We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kids club”
Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for a week with our two boys, 4 years old and 2 and half end of August. We wanted a place where they had a kids club but still a relaxing place. Jetwing beach ticked those boxes. Lovely ladies in kids club and boys loved it in there. So many toys! very friendly staff but yes, sometimes forgetful!! Very clean rooms, wonderful bath, could use pools in jetwing blue ( walking distance) as well so lots to choose from. Sea was too rough that time of year but vast beach. Very happy holiday!

Room Tip: With kids, we choose ground floor away from restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmCarterDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Sri Lanka.

It is a pleasure to know that you and your family were pleased with the attentive service of our associates and specially at the child care centre. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the team accordingly and again we greatly appreciate your kind comments as it is always gratifying to receive such feedback.
Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Beach in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is located not far from the airport,has good beach with lots of palm trees.Every morning the sand was swept so spotlessly clean.we were nine family members to spend some precious time with my sister who suffers from cancer. The staff were very attentive, helpful and willing to make our stay very memorable.The kitchen at times prepared special dinner for us being vegetarians.our rooms were large and clean.

Room Tip: higher rooms have good balconies to enjoy sunrise and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudhaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Sri Lanka

We all were very pleased to learn that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for highlighting the facilities of the hotel and the service provided by our associates.
We were certainly very touch that you chose Jetwing Beach to spend time with your sister and pleased as well that we were able to cater to your preferences of vegetarian meal to your satisfaction.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are very privileged at Jetwing Beach, indeed a gorgeous location and very serene environment, great views of the beach and yet a few minutes away from the International Air Port and other points of interest.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Beach in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was our third visit to Negombo. The first was the Blue Oceanic (now Jetwing Blue) the second the Royal Oceanic which following a total refurbishment became the Jetwing Beach.

The Good:

The hotel is in a great location at the better end of the Negombo beach. The rooms are clean, the hotel is also spotless. The beds are good and the establishment is a nice size - big enough to have good facilities yet small enough to feel private and uncrowded.

We stayed in a suite and the three 'butlers' were a delight. We were looked after very well by Roshan, Hasan and Sangeewa. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel special.

The fine dining restaurant Black Coral is excellent. The staff are attentive and the wine list considering you're in Sri Lanka was impressive. The prices are good actually. We used Black Coral twice and were not disappointed.

The Bad:

Outside of the rooms the staff are inattentive and surly. In fact I'd say they are lazy. I suspect this might indicate they are poorly paid and not that well treated. A shame really as we had very fond memories of the staff from our last visit back in 1999.

We did raise this issue with general manager (when we had cause to mention another issue - see below) and things improved but you do wonder if it was a temporary show.

The pool area needs some work. The sunbeds have many broken wheels and the towels are thin. That said the pool staff are quite friendly and happy to help.

One might assume the room staff and pool staff earn the majority of the cash tips while the restaurant staff do not.

The Ugly:

You could forgive the poor service in restaurants. What you cannot forgive is the way they treat their paying guests when it suits them to make more money out of a private function.

On one night a loud band struck up. It was in fact in a corner of the hotel (an outside bar) shared with the neighbouring Jetwing Blue. The music was so loud you could not hold a conversation in our room 200 metres away!

I complained to the duty manager. He said the music would stop at 11pm. It did not. I complained again and the manager admitted he had lied - the party was 'for some very important people' - in other words more important than paying guests. He said it would continue beyond 1am!

We the summoned the duty manager from the Jetwing Blue - a bad mistake. He arrived with shirt unbuttoned to his waist sporting a huge medallion. A throwback from a low budget 70's porn film! He simply said we were lucky it wasn't on the beach as it would have been louder! So that made everything all right then? The man had clearly never been trained in guest relations.

It was rapidly becoming clear the duty managers had no authority to act on anything and were simply obfuscating. To make matters worse the next day we were exhausted and the porn star arrived with a bottle of sparkling wine as an apology. Lesson 2: do not attempt to buy off people in a $350 suite with a $5 bottle of rank sparkling bilge water.

I eventually flipped and demanded an audience with the (proper) manager, Alex Edirisnghe. He's a very nice man and he listened to our concerns. At our request he waived one night's room charge as an apology. OK, good result but I'd rather have had a quiet night and paid the bill in full! It seems Alex had now moved on and been replaced by the GM from the Blue - be afraid!

In short I would not trust Jetwing not to pull a stunt like this again. If you call yourself a five star hotel (it isn't, it's a very good three star maybe a lower four star by international standards) you should run it for the benefit of your staying guests and not cream off a little extra by lobbing in an outdoor nightclub on the side.

In Summary:

The hotel is good but too often lets itself down.

With some sadness I have to conclude Jetwing as a brand has probably passed its prime. What was good in the 80's or 90's won't cut it in 2012.

There is encroaching competition from small boutiques such as Tea Trails and the competition at the resort scale of activities will increase with the arrival of Shangri-La in two locations in 2014 and 2015.

Whether Jetwing can remain in business to 2020 and beyond is in my view extremely questionable.

I sincerely hope it does - but to do so it will need to sharpen up from what it is now and re-learn the basic tenets of customer service. Without that, the future for its owners and its staff is pretty bleak.

Room Tip: The suites are good. Also ground floor rooms have direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WineSnobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

At the outset let me thank you for patronizing Jetwing Hotels since 1999. We discussed over and over again your analysis of the good, the bad and the ugly of Jetwing Beach. As we always believe the ‘customer is right’. We will only respond to your comments

The Good
Thank you very specially for naming our butlers Roshan, Hasan & Sanjeewa. I am sure they will continue to serve our guests with same love and dedication. We are blessed with a lovely beach and thank you also for complimenting the housekeeping and the Black Coral.

The Bad
With regard to payment to our associates, we are guided by Sri Lankan laws and the wages board. We pay more than what is stipulated. We are proud to say one of our biggest strengths is our people and if we treat them poorly, the good members will move on as there are many options in Sri Lanka and outside.
All the broken wheels are being fixed now and by end of October, we propose to have all in good condition.

The Ugly
Our duty is to serve all guests. It is never our intention to discriminate. Therefore, when a loyal Sri Lankan customer wanted to book the Centrepoint to have a birthday party (they all booked into Jetwing Blue so they were not really walk-ins) we obliged. To be honest we didn’t expect the private party to go on that late and accept we made a mistake. We cannot undo the mistake we made but I am happy to inform you we have taken steps to prevent such disturbances in the future. We do not encourage porn stars at Jetwing, nor do we have any idea as to how porn stars dressed in the 1970’s. If our duty Manager was dressed inappropriately we humbly apologize to you. We apologize also for embarrassing you by offering you a bottle of Sparkling Wine.

I am pleased my collegue Alex offered you some consolation. He and I have worked for Jetwing for a long period of time. Alex now handles special projects for Jetwing while I manage both Jetwing Blue and Beach. I am pleased to inform you that I will be completing my 35th year with Jetwing and have no intention of letting my country and company down.

In summary
We as a company has evolved over the years and are proud of our achievements so far. We certainly have no intention of winding up or giving into the competition. On the contrary, we welcome international brands like Shangrila and Four Seasons. Only Jetwing product that directly competes with Tea Trails is Jetwing Warwick Gardens. We are very proud of what Tea Trails have achieved so far and wish them well in the future as well.

Dear Sir, providing legendary service is our mission, we will continue to focus on our mission and drive Jetwing forward.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night after the flight to Sri Lanka and loved it. The architecture is pretty cool, the rooms were great, the pool was huge and palms provided shade between the pool and the beach. Local vendors on the beach were really friendly once we told them we didn't want to buy stuff. We ate dinner at a little place down the road but curry for breakfast was tasty, plenty of other choices too. Would happily have stayed here and explored the area and Negombo town.

Room Tip: Some rooms lead out onto the pool. Ours was just above that with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Jetwing Beach, Negombo in Sri Lanka and for your recommendations on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and thta you were pleased with the service and product we have on offer at the hotel.

It is also a pleasure to know that you liked the architecture of the hotel, the pool, the locations and specially the service of our dedicated associates.

We have shared your kind words with the entire team and they are greatly appreciated.


Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Beach in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived late at night but were very happy with the welcome we received. We were in Room 326 which was huge in size but did overlook the restaurant. We had some sea view, but would probably have preferred a room on ground level looking across the pool out to the sea. The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient and we had no complaints with the breakfast or dinner buffet. We found the bed to be quite comfortable and were grateful for the free wifi in the room. Would definitely recommend staying here. We enjoyed an afternoon lazing around the pool even though it was a bit blustery but that can't be helped!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Jetwing Beach, Negombo in Sri Lanka and for your kind compliments on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that our team really looked after you from the time you arrived at the hotel and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We were glad that you were pleased with the service, the spacious and comfortable room that we had allocated for you, the breakfast and dinner buffets and also the free WIFI facility in your room.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team and they are greatly appreciated. Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Beach in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Cons

Stray dogs - Sri Lanka in general has a stray dog problem so there were always going to be some lingering around the hotel. There were 3 stray dogs that basically live in on the beach around the hotel. To be honest they didn’t bother me. They spend most of the day under sun beds in the shade. When they do come out they are very friendly. All they want from you is a stroke. If you don’t like dogs this might be an issue for you. I asked in the hotel why they didn’t move them on. They said that if they did other stray dogs would just take their place so there was no point.

Lucky Lucky Men - The hotel leads on to the beach. They are not allowed into the hotel grounds so if you don’t want to deal with them you do have to. If you stray on to the beach then you are fair game. They are very friendly. If you say that you don’t want anything then they will leave you alone. We actually bought some things off them. There scarf’s where very good quality and reasonably priced.

Weather - It is bascally out of season in August. This means that you can’t go into the sea. It clouds over around 3/4pm and rains in the evening, but between 8am and 3pm it is warm and sunny. We came back with a nice tan so it wasnt that bad

Poor Children - A lot of the kids are poor. If you plan to visit please take some pads, pens, paper and sweets etc. See Milanthi and she will make sure that it goes to a worthy place. I took 48 pads and 50 pens which we took to a children’s orphanage. Although it was very sad they were extremely grateful and anything that you can do to help is appreciated.

Pro’s

The hotel - The hotel was brilliant and amazingly clean. The staff were very friendly and respectful. Our room had a sea view which was nice for watching the sunset. Don’t pay to go all inclusive as it isn’t worth it. Go for bed and breakfast because it is very cheap to eat both inside and outside of the hotel.

Pricing - In the hotel it is around £2.50 for a large beer. You can get your lunch for £5 and it is good stuff. Trips are also fairly priced. Outside the hotel a large beer will set you back £1.50 and the 3 or 4 pounds for a main course.

Trips - If you stay here go and see Milanth and she will sort your trips out. We did a day trip to Colombo which was £50 and that got you a private car and tour guide.The Safari, which was amazing, cost £200. However, this got you a private car, a safari tour guide (Aaron who was very knowledgeable) and a private safari jeep.You should really do this. It is a long day, but it is amazing to see the elephants in their natural environment

Overall - Loved it. The hotel was brilliant and I lived like a king for £50 a day. You will not meet a nice bunch of people than the Sri Lankans. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so you cant lose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Jetwing Beach for your honeymoon and for taking the time and effort in posting a review of your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay and that you found the services and location of the hotel to your satisfaction. We appreciate receiving feedback such as yours as they do motivate all of us in pursuing to further improve our service and product.

We were glad that you found the level of customer service to be outstanding and that you enjoyed the personalized hospitality of Nilanthi, Arron and the rest of team. Your compliments are much appreciated and will be shared with all concerned.

We have noted some your constructive feed back, specially related to the children and we can assure you that Jetwing does play a very active role with the local community. Thank you for your kind gesture to one of the orphanage.


Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Beach in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in Suite 423 for four days for a special occasion. The suite is very good in terms of space, sea views and amenities, the butler service is first class. We made use of all facilities in the hotel, including the lap pool and gym. The guest relations managers were very helpful in organizing and preparing our special day. For the romantics out there, the private fine dining buffet on the beach is well worth trying. The spa offers good treatments at a fair price, well worth a visit or two. We also tried the fine dining black coral resturant which is good value for high quality food and service.

Many thanks to Hyacinth, Nilanthi and all the staff!

Room Tip: Any of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jono M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka on your special occasion and for your compliments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to note that having stayed in the Suite room, you found it to be great value for money and liked the amenities, benefits and facilities offered and were pleased with the private fine dining.

We are glad that you found the level of customer service to be outstanding and that you enjoyed the personalized hospitality of Nilanthi and the rest of team. Your compliments are much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team .

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Jetwing Beach in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 44 in Negombo
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 44 in Negombo
1,568 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 44 in Negombo
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 44 in Negombo
568 reviews
1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Address: Porutota Road | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#2 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: $160 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing