We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place for families!”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Villa Barbara Private Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Villa Barbara
Private Swimming Pool
Full moon Day
Swimming Pool
Drive into the villa
Balcony overlooking the lagoon
Villa Barbara Boat
Ready For Fishing
Back Garden
Large Kitchen
Place to Relax
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom ensuite
2nd Bedrom
Main Bathroom
3rd Bedroom
Main Reception
Main Reception
Dining Room
Ground Floor Bathroom
Cabana on the Lagoon
View of the lagoon and cabana
UK Family golden jubilee organised by villa owner
Ready to go Fishing
View From Lagoon
View from Lagoon
Our Boat
Front Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Negombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna B
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place for families!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My Husband and I stayed with our five girls, age 13 to 1.5 for two weeks. Without Villa Barbara and it's lovely pool, lagoon breezes and air-conditioned bedrooms, I don't think that they would have survived the stay! All of the children much preferred the pool at Villa Barbara to the beach. There was plenty of space for a large family to spread out and get comfortable in, on the extensive grounds and within the expansive house. The staff was very accommodating and kind to the children. The cook was fantastic; not only taking very good care of us, but also treating our children like they were her own grandchildren, making them amazing fresh juices every day and chatting with in the kitchen at any hour. Last, but certainly not least, Upal, the owner, was very attentive and responsive to our every need.

Staying at Villa Barbara was a treat. We felt immersed in the life of Negombo, watching the fishermen slowly pushing their boots on the lagoon every morning, and regularly driving through the local early morning fish market. A highlight of the stay was mass at the local Catholic church. The Church was open to the village around it, casual yet ever so reverent, A real experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandpare...
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Sri Lanka for our Granddaughters wedding and spent the first 4 days in Colombo, our stay in the first villa was average.
The difference of the 2 villas was like chalk and cheese. When we turned into the drive for Villa Barbara, Upul Gomez, the owner was there to meet us and show us around his fabulous home. Our stay here was for 21/2 weeks, during which time we celebrated our Golden Wedding in the garden overlooking the Lagoon. Upul and his manager Pathum organised everything for us, we didn't even have to wash a glass.
Pathum is always there ready with the tuk tuk at a moments notice to take you where ever you want to go.
The swimming pool was under construction while we were there but will be finished very shortly, the villa will then be worthy of the 5 stars that I have given it.
Our thanks to the staff for making our stay so fantastic.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary o
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
“Relax, throw your troubles to the wind.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We arrived in Sri Lanka early Morning after a night flight. The sun was just rising and the scenery was breathtaking (even around the Airport). The bus was waiting to collect us and took us on the 30-40 minute drive to Villa Barbara. The roads are quiet until you get to Negombo,here your senses get overloaded with sights and sounds of everyday life, tuc tuc's flying around, people going about their business fishermen at work and the local markets in full swing. Once you get through Negombo and on the road to Villa Barbara all is peaceful. The photos of the villa are a true representation of the place. It really is a paradise home from home. Upul the owner was on hand to greet us and was really helpful throughout our stay. He arranged a chef to cook meals for us and even escorted us around the local markets to get the best priced and quality Fish, meat and vegatables when required. The wildlife and scenery is fantastic, at night fire flies are everywhere and walking through the garden is like walking in the stars as the fire flies flutter around. The gardens are beautiful and days can be lost looking out onto the lagoon. The interior of the house is practical and rooms are large and airy. The jetwing hotel down the road is a nice place to relax with a huge pool and great reasonably priced restaraunt. The people in Sri Lanka are a joy and I would recommend a visit to anybody. Thanks Upul for letting us stay at your Sri Lankan home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: position
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Virginia
Reviewed January 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breeze and ambiance
Liked least: A bit hard to find the entrance from the road
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senevirat...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Barbara is a nice big house and was well suited for a family holiday; we were 6 adults and 5 children and there was plenty of space for all of us; it is clean and comfortable; there are several balconies, a terrasse, a lovely gazebo by the lagoon and even a hammock, all places where to sit and relax and the children enjoyed playing in the gardens. It is very private and secluded with great views - a nice change from the hustle and bustle of Negombo itself. Pathum, the house manager, is very helpful and efficient and responded to all our needs very quickly; he organised little boat trips on the lagoon and tuk tuk rides for the children. Meals were delicious and varied, and we particularly enjoyed the typical sri lankan breakfasts - toasts and marmelade come a poor second now!
We also made use of the nearby Jetwing Hotel's sea-water swimming pool: it is a fantastic pool but a little pricey if you just want a quick swim

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roger P
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and Service from Upul and Patham”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in December with my wife and two teenage children. We were looked after from the moment we stepped off the plane as the pick up was trouble free. We then had a short drive to Villa Barbara through Negombo which we all found exciting after being on the plane so long.
Negombo is incredibly vibrant and lively but then as we passed over the lagoon bridges, there was an instant change to a more peaceful pace and we drove down the short distance to the Villa weaving past cows in the road and people walking.
We were welcomed with fresh cool watermelon juice and a coconut drink by the owner Upul who is a lovely guy. He introduced us to Patham the house manager who was then available for any questions or any Tuk-Tuk journeys. Patham was an absolute pleasure. His smiling attitude was superb and he was available without ever being intrusive. On one evening Patham's wife and mum came and cooked us some Sri Lankan dishes which were superb.
The house is all you expect, finished to a high standard with loads of bathrooms and space and the garden is spacious and well tended by 'Uncle'. What I particularly liked was that once through the gate there was a fantastic feeling of privacy. On either side there is light woodland changing to mangrove as it gets to the waters edge so there are no immediate neighbours except a happy pig on one side that snuffled around among the trees!
At the water edge there is a small cabana with electricity which was nice just to sit and look out over the lagoon.
We used the house as a base to do day trips such as a drive to Kandy and the Elephant Sanctuary. We also had a few days further south where the beaches were better for surfing but Negombo has a large beach just to the north side of the town. I wouldn't swim in the sea near the Villa as there is a rock shelf but it is beautiful to walk along just to see the crashing waves and views to Colombo in the far distance to the south.
Shopping wise, there is plenty of choice with busy a market selling all fresh produce and of course the fish market where the fish is literally coming off the little boats just before you buy it - well worth a visit. There was also a very well stocked air-conditioned European style supermarket called 'Arpico' with anything you might need.
There is a beautiful luxury pool just a few hundred yards from the villa at 'Jetwing' which we used for a nominal fee.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting, friendly service
Liked least: Beaches not great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing