We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Jetwing Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing Lagoon
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Took a day off from our daily buzz and headed to the Lagoon. We took advantage of the April New Year offer of 35% off and stayed at a Bawa room. We got a corner Bawa room and so the view was a wee bit boring. The room is extremely spacious and has a large window. Had we stayed in a pool facing room, I am sure it would have been more enjoyable. The pool is absolutely lovely (it's 100 m!!) and they have a very professional spa service which is top class. The breakfast and lunch buffet spreads were ample and had a nice choice. We were bit disappointed with the dinner spread - maybe it was just on the day that we stayed so it wouldn't be right to put this down as a negative. Since we got it at a discount and it was not much of a ride away for us, it was value-for-money or else it wouldn't really be on my top-hotels-to-go list. A small "oomph" missing somewhere, can't pin it to anything particular. However, a nice place for a day outing. More than a day, and you may get bored as there didn't seem to be many things to do in and around the hotel (apart from the swimming pool) of course. We did notice that the staff were not exceptionally attentive, they were polite but they lacked genuine warmth.

Room Tip: Don't take 101 or 102 Bawa rooms, these are at the corner - not much of a view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GothaiGanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your valued time to write about your experience of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon on both occasions, and thank you for the kind words expressing the quality of service, food and the friendliness of the associates. I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to the entire team and they were very pleased to hear about your feedback. This will certainly encourage them to bring to even greater heights their level of service.
We were also very pleased to learn that you admired the Bawa room which you stayed in as well as the pool which incidentally is the longest straight line pool in the entire west coast of Sri Lanka.
Finally we thank you for recommending Jetwing Lagoon, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.


Sincerely,


Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed there in August 2012. the rooms are spacious and excellent interior. we enjoyed the meals except the fried cuttle fish. whole environment of the Jetwing lagoon is mind blowing. service of the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.
We were very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the space and the interior decoration of the room you stayed in. Thank you for your kind words on the quality of the food and we have noted your comment on the fried cuttle fish, to which the Executive Chef will attend to. The associates of the resort were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed their service, and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future.
Ayubowan,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I thought we were going to one of the Jetwing hotels on the beach, my lack of error on reading our itinerary, so was a bit surprised at the lenght of time it took to reach this hotel (esp since they bill themselves as close to the airport). We were disapointed we weren't on the beach but the pool and rest of the hotel made up for it. It is less frequented than the other hotels, so made for a quieter stay except for the jets going over (not sure how the other people didn't hear them). The pool was great, perfect for my husband to do laps, long and wide enough not to bump into other people. The food was great, I loved the set menu and it was some of the best food we had overall. The room was large and bathroom, lol great, although I would recommend covering the outdoor openings with bug screens to allow the visuals of outside without bugs and geckos. The only problem we had was with the a/c, upon entering they started it up and it never cooled the room down. After discovering it wasn't working, we asked them to fix it while we were at dinner. The gentleman who came to fix it was great, but when we came back he was gone and the a/c still didn't work. There was no follow up, he left no information, etc. Seeing as we only had this one night and an early flight the next am, we didn't press it but I was rather disapointed he didn't complete the job or advise us/the staff that there was still a problem. Overall, it was a lovely hotel I might come back to.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tigger2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your time to write about your experience of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

It was so nice to hear that you enjoyed the pool and the food, especially the set menu that is available at dinner time. The drive from the airport takes around 25 minutes as the resort is actually 16km away from the airport. On certain days the travelling period can be even less and we certainly regret it seems to have taken longer than you expected.

Allow me to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise on behalf of the hotel for the issues you encountered with the AC unit and for the lack of follow up from the team. Rest assured that I have brought this matter up to the people concerned to ensure corrective measure are taken to avoid similar happenings in the future. I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention as it really does assist me in improving our services.

Thank you for thinking of coming back to the resort, and we certainly hope we will have another opportunity to be of service to you and provide you with the true spirit of Jetwing hospitality in the near future.

Ayubowan


Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport, the only advantage. The pool is 100 m long and nice but there isn't any beach. The food was good but we had to stay inside for dinner. There was a huge wedding outside with hundreds of people therefore we couldn't enjoy the evening very much. We booked the whole travel with Jetwing Eco-Holiday and we can't recommend them. High priced but low budget accomodations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MundM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Jetwing Lagoon on Trip Advisor.
The resort is actually nestled between the Indian Ocean and the serene lagoon of Negombo on the West Coast of Sri Lanka. Thank you for the compliments on the food and the large swimming pool which in fact is the longest pool in the west coast. We have noted down your comment made on the garden wedding which was held on this particular day, and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that may have caused you during that evening.
Thank you once again for your kind feedback on your stay at the resort, and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future.

Ayubowan ,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent a great family holiday at the Jetwing Lagoon. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Arriving at 7 in the morning we were able to check in immediately and have a quick freshen up before having breakfast overlooking the lagoon. We had booked two rooms but on check in were informed we were being upgraded. So we ended up with two huge bedrooms. The only negative,we were not able to obtain a second key to the boys' room. We were particularly impressed with the little touches, filter coffee in the rooms, flip flops to use around the hotel, etc. The bathrooms were fantastic. The pool was a hit with both the boys although we found the concrete surround a bit strange and there were a few incidences of stubbed toes but the beds around the pool were really comfortable and we spent a lot of time there. We ate most of our meals at the hotel and found that there was a good variety of food available and the quality was fantastic. The fresh fruit for breakfast deserves a special mention. Yum. Through the hotel we arranged the services of a guide, Fernando Tours and we were treated to an amazing personalised tour of some of Sri Lanka's attractions. The rest of the time was spent doing watersports on the lagoon or lazing around the pool. All in all a great location for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a bit more privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.
We were very much delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for the compliments all around. I took the liberty to pass on these good comments to my entire team which in turn will certainly motivate them to improve their performance all round.
Thank you for mentioning the second key, to the extra bedroom, and also for pointing out the concrete pavement around the pool area, we will certainly look at how we can improve this area to make it safer for all guests.
Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday, and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort in the near future.

Ayubowan

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our first time in Srilanka was a memorable experience. We, a family of 4, arrived into Negambo late at night and were met by Gayan who picked us up from the airport and took us to our hotel, Jetwing Lagoon. Our room was spacious and they have on of the largest pools I have ever seen. The property is beautiful and comfortable. The following day we took a day tour into Colombo. Gayan was our our guide and he was very knowledgable. He related the history of Colombo in a very interesting way. Even the kids were listening to him!! He spoke English and German fluently. Hw was courteous and polite and took us to many interesting spots. We had a really good day and would highly recommend both, the hotel and Gayan as a tour guide. He drove us back to the airport the next day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there! Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinarN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your valued time to write about your short stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the complimenting Gayan on his services rendered during your travel; I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to him.
We really appreciate your thoughts on recommending the resort and thank you for admiring the large spacious rooms and one of the longest pools in the western coast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future.

Ayubowan

General Manager
Wester Felthman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I met in the Gulf. She is from South Africa and I am Australian. We decided on having a wedding in Sri Lanka because of it's location between our home countries and because it was convenient to us. We had heard that Sri Lanka was a beautiful place and we discovered when web-surfing that it is common for international weddings to be held there.

We weren't quite sure what the quality would be like so we decided to go with Jetwing and not go for some of the cheaper options that are offered. However, we didn't go all out. We went for the Silver Package which as it turns out was more than sufficient. Note: the substantial tourist taxes are included in the price on the site.

The biggest problem we had in the lead up was getting the correct information about documentation. However, we eventually found out that you only need a "never been married" certificate from a relevant government department in your country or state/province. Once you get that just send a scanned copy of it as well as a copy of your passport a few weeks prior and everything will be almost good to go when you arrive. It's a regulation that you need to arrive 4 days before the wedding. It is also a Jetwing regulation that wedding couples stay 4 nights. We arrived in Sri Lanka on the Monday and were told that we could have had the wedding on the Friday when we were to check in (we booked on booking.com and stayed Fri to Tues). Anyway, we had the wedding as planned the following Monday as we had around 20 guests coming. We handed over the original certificates on the day we arrived too.

They do require other information such as the full names and occupations of the respective fathers and similar information for your witnesses (one each side) on the big day. This can be given either in Sri Lanka or beforehand.

As for the wedding, I can honestly say everybody was very impressed with how polished everything was on the day. The dancers and musicians were brilliant and the ceremony lovely. The lagoon is definitely a better location than the beach at Jetwing Blue - much more private and quiet. This was a tough call that I had to make before I arrived and I had very little information. I'm so glad that I got it right.

The photographer was a typical pushy wedding photographer but he did a brilliant job with the photos. They are top quality. I will attach some below.

Jetwing Lagoon has a nice spa that has treatments included in the package and my partner was very pleased with the girl who did her hair and make up (in the package). We asked for a chocolate mouse cake that although not totally eaten on the night, was devoured very quickly the following day. What impressed me most though was our package-included romantic dinner which we had when came back to collect the documents, photos, video two days later. We had already paid in full but nevertheless the dinner was wonderful and the service from Jetwing was professional to the very end.

And yes, a contribution to Trip Advisor was suggested (as it seems to be all over Lanka) but this was a genuinely wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite - approx. $350/night. It was a lovely room but make sure your room has a mosqui...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and may we congratulate the two of you once more and wish you a very happy wedded life.
Thank you for taking your valued time to write such a wonderful detailed description of the pre wedding arrangements and the wedding itself which you and your wife experienced at this tranquil resort.
We were very delighted to learn that all went well and that you and your family members enjoyed the special ceremony and the stay at Jetwing Lagoon.
I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to my entire team who worked very hard to ensure that your special day is met to all your expectations.
Thank you once again for making the decision to choose Jetwing Lagoon to hold your wedding, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay at the resort.

Ayubowan !

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
4.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
517 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
484 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,832 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lagoon

Address: Pamunugama Road, Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: $111 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Lagoon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jetwing Lagoon, an architectural masterpiece designed by Geoffrey Bawa is an Ayurveda and Spa resort nestled beside the serene waters of the Negombo lagoon. The resort is gracefully decorated in hues of white and brown, featuring a glorious pool that boasts of being the longest in Sri Lanka’s west coast. Located between the Indian Ocean and the Negombo lagoon, Jetwing Lagoon offers a blend of rejuvenation and relaxation.Cuisine options include the Blue Lagoon restaurant and a unique restaurant called Geoffrey's Pavilion, offering Geoffrey Bawa's favourites. Further to the experience, Jetwing Lagoon’s deep respect and concern for the natural world is instilled through the many sustainable practices implemented at the resort to ensure minimum harm to the environment and community at large. Jetwing Lagoon is without doubt the finest spa resort by the Negombo Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing