We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3 star hotel”
Review of Jetwing Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lagoon
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good 3 star hotel”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here basically for day use while we waited for an early morning flight from Colombo. We chose it because of its proximity to the airport and the fact that the rooms were discounted (although the room rate was still USD225 net). Apart from a good checkin experience, the service is extremely lax - we tried to order a drink at the bar, however after providing us with a drinks menu the bar person disappeared and after 15 minutes we gave up and wandered out. We then tried to order afternoon tea from room service, which was a difficult exercise - and only partially successful. Ditto the restaurant, where in addition the food is pretty ordinary. Our room - a Bawa room - was pleasant enough, though spartan and with very uncomfortable seating. It had an outdoor bathroom (a negative in my view given the mosquito problem). The highlight is the pool. It is fantastic - beautiful, very warm and huge (100 metres) - it added immeasurably to the experience of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and may I thank you for taking your valued time to write about your experience during your day use stay at Jetwing Lagoon.
We acknowledge your constructive feedback made in regards to the level of service you experienced at the bar as well as from room service. Thank you for bringing this matters to our attention as your observations are very important to us and provide not only a true barometer of our performance, but also give us guidance as we plan to serve you better in the future.
I have addressed these comments with the Food and Beverage Manager of the resort and his team to ensure that attention to detail is paid by all associates. In regards to the food on offer, we have two menus in the restaurants which provides a wide range of both international and Sri Lankan cuisine, however your comment is noted and the Executive Chef has been informed to look into the range and variety of dishes.
As for the Bawa room, those rooms were actually the rooms from the original hotel but we extended the experience by building a large spacious bathroom with a semi open concept. It is correct that mosquitoes are present in our part of the world but I can assure you that fumigation is done regularly to prevent breeding in the hotel property.
Once again we thank you for all these valid comments and we hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back to the resort and provide you with the hospitality that Jetwing is renowned for.
Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    328
    63
    22
    11
See reviews for
273
429
46
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was just for one night on our return from the southwest coast trip, but it was well worth it. Despite the rain and not so good weather, the room was spacious and made it pleasant to just stay inside and enjoy the sound of the rain.
The pool is amazing - 100 meters of pure serinity!
And when the kids wanted to enjoy watersports, the staff was ready to send us to another property by the beach, Jetwing Blue, to enjoy the facilities.
Food, both breakfast and dinner were very good! And the staff, like any Sri Lankan I've met, never disappointing and always with a smile. What else to ask for?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninamatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking your valued time to write about your experience at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you and your family did enjoy the short stay at the resort. Thank you for the comments made on the spacious rooms, the food and the service, and as for the pool it is longest straight pool in the west coast and has certainly turned out to be one the great features of the resort.

I hope you had a chance to use the water sports facilities based at the resort, this feature is also getting very popular amongst the water sports lovers.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Jetwing Lagoon, and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were fortunate to pick Jetwing Lagoon to spend a day with our family early in January.
We loved it so much that we came back for 5 more days of absolute serenity!! and enjoyed every minute of it. Jetwing Lagoon has a class of its own!!.

Amply laid out grounds to walk in sun or shade, with birds flying around and the lagoon breeze to soothe your senses, just out of this world. The open concept reception and long long pool was a first for us, we found it amazing. The buggy ride to our room was a treat. The Pond with the Lotus...you would love it if you appreciated simple things bestowed upon us by Mother Nature.

We had a room facing the lagoon and relaxed in the cool breeze, enjoying a boat ride on some days. The spaciousness and cleanliness of the hotel is second to none. Our huge bathroom and gorgeously oversized bathtub were absolutely divine. The eco-friendly lighting throughout the hotel and grounds at night was so subdued it was surreal.
The view of the lagoon from our bed...sunrise and sunset...so many things we loved about this place...just too many to mention.

The spread of Western and Sri Lankan food was beyond our expectations. Hats off to cook Leon and his team. Everyday was different with equally attractive culinary displays and varied delicacies. Make sure you taste the Lagoon crabs!! Our compliments to the friendly, obliging staff at Jetwing Lagoon. They were always willing to serve, yet discreet.
Something unique about Jetwing Lagoon's General Manager, Wester Felthman, we noticed that he chatted briefly to his guests each day, making sure things were upto expectations.

We will definitely be back for more, and recommend Jetwing Lagoon to anyone who wanted a blissful and serene retreat a few minutes from the Airport in Sri Lanka. We enjoyed inexpensive shopping in the Town of Negombo, just a short drive from the hotel.

Its been 3 weeks since we came back home (-10 degrees outside), we still wake up to dreams of the sunny warmth of our stay in Sri Lanka, specially the serenity at Jetwing Lagoon still soothes our senses. We would like to say to Wester and his team at Jetwing Lagoon 'Congratuations on a job well done'. You made our stay in Sri Lanka just wonderful.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the lagoon, serene and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoogleMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you very much for taking your valued time to write about your experience at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed every moment spent at the resort. I was so pleased to read such a wonderful comment that I have taken the liberty to pass on your compliments to the entire team of the resort. I must say that they were really thrilled to hear such lovely words and it will motivate them to keep moving forward in our strive to become world class in everything we do.

Once again we thank you for choosing Jetwing Lagoon on two occasions to spend your holiday in the beautiful country of Sri Lanka, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Jetwing Lagoon is the ideal place if you are looking at simply chilling.

It is located close to the Airport, and you do hear the occasional MILD drone of air craft taking off from the airport. The pool is situated facing a group of bed rooms. there is no access to the beach from the property it self, you have to cross the road and traverse through a construction site, if you want to visit the beach. The only rooms that face the lagoon are the suite rooms. The biggest plus point i see at the hotel is that it is just 02 hours drive from Colombo. In terms of Food, the crabs they served were exceptionally small, and the spread on the buffet nothing to write home about. There isnt very much to experience that would make you want to keep going back to this place, other than the proximity to the airport, to Colombo, and of course absolute tranquility.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor, following your stay at the resort.
Allow me to thank you for spending your holiday at the resort, which as you mention is certainly a very peaceful and tranquil place where you can really chill out over a week-end.
You will have noted that the resort is designed entirely to take the best out of the Negombo lagoon and as such we are not at all a beach property but a resort by the lagoon, thus the name of the hotel Jetwing Lagoon.
Thank you for pointing out the size of the crabs we serve and it is corrretct that the Negombo lagoon mud crab are small in size but we serve them fresh and feel they have a very pleasant unique taste.
In addition to the peaceful environment, we do have our own water sports centre at the resort with quite some activities ranging from boating, canoeing, sailing, fun boats, windsurfing and much more. Our Spa does offer as well the opportunity to spend some time relaxing and pamper yourself.
Once again thank you for your comments, and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are from Colombo we booked into Jetwing Lagoon for a full board (any three meals) and one night stay at Rs. 23000 odd we thought to continue for one more night there if the hotel was good. We made booking for the Deluxe room -pond facing, upon reaching there was no pond it just seemed like a water stagnated area, so we choose to stay in the lagoon view and opted for family room at a cost of Rs. 28000 that was Rs. 5000 more. The other discomforts were:

1. There were lizards running and jumping over our cloths and it was so irritating, apparently they do not dust and clean the blinds I suppose.
2. We did not have a table to sit at dinner time, and the restaurant manager was very rude and said to wait until the table were available they had only half the seating capacity of the hotel occupancy. We were standing for more than 15mins with filled plates and finally they offered a seat about 5 mins walk away from the buffet counter, which was lonely place with no music or occupancy.
3. The Dinner was terrible there was not enough spread and the meat on barbeque was not cooked properly, the so called pasta was terrible and Parmesan cheese had a sour taste.
4. The life food counters had long queue and it took a log time to get ur meal prepared to order.
5. They had switched off the ac in the night and we had to sleep with the fan on.
6. The fight landing and take offs were very frequent in the early morning and we had a sleepless night due to heavy noise, they had not informed this earlier and also they had no sound proof system.
7. We were constantly disturbed by the room service with orders that we had not placed.
8. Lunch was cold when I told then this they said they the burners under the chaffing dished may have gone off due to the wind.
9. We requested for skimmed milk for coffee and it arrived after we finished our plain coffee.


on the whole it was a bad experience we decided NOT to continue for the next day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prakash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking your valued time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.
Having gone through all your comments in detail, on behalf of my entire team please accept our apologies for the various issues you faced during your stay and the inconvenience that it may have caused you.
I will take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experiences with me, as constructive feedback such as yours do assist us in rectifying any deficiencies as well as improve in our service and product.
I Have addressed the lizard issue found in your room with the resort housekeeper. Rooms are cleaned daily and a vacuum is used for the window seals and corners. It is correct that we do see the presence of those friendly lizards given we are surrounded by lush vegetation. The good news is that they are entirely harmless and are an important part of the Eco system, serving among other things as mosquitoes killer. In any case, will certainly be more vigilant to ensure that such instances are limited.

With regards to the dining experience, it is correct that we experienced quite a crowd when you came for dinner, as the hotel was rather full. We had as well diners from outside as the restaurant is gaining in popularity. Upon investigating with the restaurant manager, he recalls clearly approaching you asking thaw to wait for a few minutes until he organizes a table for you. However, on noticing that you had started to help yourself from the buffet before he could set your table, he then took you to the a la carte restaurant as to ensure you had a place to seat. We regret to note that this arrangement did not meet your expectations, and i have shared your comment wiht the restaurant manager.

We have also noted your comment on the spread at the BBQ, and especially the ones related to the cooking of the meat and the pasta quality. The resort Executive Chef has been informed of same and we will certainly look into this area to see how we can improve the level of quality and variety at the Saturday night BBQ.

In principal we do not switch off the AC in rooms as it is centrally controlled and would then affect all the rooms if we were doing so. This would certainly result in quite some negative cooments, speciallhowever the resort was full on that night. I did not receive any comments related to the AC matter other than yours. However we might have an issue with your room in particular and do apologize if this is the case. The engineer team is looking into what could have gone wrong to ensure all units are functioning properly.

In addition to the above, we will review as a team all the other feedback you gave us with the aim to rectify them accordingly.
Again, I thank you for pointing out all these issues to us, they are very valuable to us to improve our services and product.
We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality which Jetwing is renowned for, and please do come and stay with us again.
My personal contact number is 077 311 6781 and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance.
Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I will always remember Jetwing Lagoon with love as I got married there a little over a month ago. It is an absolutely fantastic property with a number of beautiful spots for wedding photographs and the venue by the lagoon was truly spectacular in the night.

Right from the outset, approximately 8 months before the wedding, the General Manager, Mr. Wester Felthman and his team gave us the best possible service. I must make a special mention of Sujeewa – who heads F & B at the hotel – who gave us so much of his time leading up to the wedding. He was very patient with all our requests and did his best to accommodate my wishes at every stage. There was one day that he agreed to meet me at 9 pm to discuss wedding arrangements and our meeting went on till almost midnight. He did this to accommodate my crazy schedule and to me it was a true testament of the great customer service offered at Jetwing Lagoon and the spirit of customer-centricity promised at all Jetwing properties.

On the day itself, Mr. Felthman, Sujeewa and the entire F & B team (special mention of Colin & Prashantha) – did a truly super job of ensuring that all arrangements happened as instructed and that everything went off meticulously. They were very patient and flexible, as we changed the set up a number of times and kept changing it for us as requested.

Executive Chef Lyon and his team did a FANTASTIC job and the buffet was absolutely scrumptious and displayed beautifully. All our guests’ feedback has been very very positive. Some have even gone so far as to say that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding! And I must say that it was great value for money as well.

We stayed 2 days following the wedding – and a number of us used the SPA - it was truly a rejuvenating and relaxing experience. On the day of the wedding I checked in as a very tired bride-to be but one session at the SPA truly made me glow for which I must thank the lady who served me at the SPA.

The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. I must also mention the housekeeping staff who decorated our suit brilliantly. Also, in the rush of the wedding, I had left my brand new phone in one of the rooms and one of the housekeeping staff had returned it – which I greatly appreciate. A big thank you to Chanaka as well, who heads reservations who was also very accommodating and very patient with the changes we kept making.

All in all, the ever-smiling staff at every level extended true Sri Lankan hospitality to us and to all our guests - both local and foreign. As a little girl I had dreamt of a fairy-tale wedding…and Jetwing Lagoon really helped make my dreams come true by providing us with a magical location, mouth-watering food, and world class service! For anyone who plans to have their wedding at this property – I whole-heartedly recommend it!

Room Tip: The suites facing the lagoon are beautiful and the Jacuzzi is great! If you have kids this would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maneesha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking your valued time to write such a wonderful comment on Trip Advisor about your wedding experience at the resort.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the most important day in your life which took place at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for your kind words and for complimenting so many of our associates. I have passed on your kind comments to my entire team and this will motivate them even further meet and exceed guest expectations.

It was also pleasing to know that the guest who attended and stayed at the resort did enjoy the facilities and services the resort has to offer.

Thank you once again, and we sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you and your husband back to stay with us in the near future.
Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had a weekend getaway to Jetwing Lagoon and we wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel has no doors (!!) - so when you drive in the reception is in the varendah and you see a hint of the magnificently designed 100 m long pool. The staff are really friendly and the check-in process is quick. You are driven to your room in a buggy!

The room we stayed in (Bawa garden rooms) had an open plan loo which was fine for us (travelling with a almost 2 year old - who's steady on her feet and will listen - most of the time, if told not to wander around alone). Being a tropical country and this type of open design does mean that there are mosquitoes that'll find their way in - so be prepared with repellent.

The other only negative (if at all) is that the cement slabs that form the walk-way around the hotel (to the main restaurant, pool etc) is uneven. So specially if you're walking with a toddler you need to be extra cautious.

The food is great, the view of the lagoon from the restaurant is amazing, specially on a full moon night. This is not a beach hotel (like the many others you get in negombo) but the 100 m long pool, the food and the view of the lagoon is plenty!

It's close to the airport and is closer (from Colombo) than other Negombo hotels, so it's also perfect for a short getaway from the city. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking your time to write about your experience following your stay with us.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at the resort and thank you for your kind words with regards to the friendliness of our associates. We noticed as well that you enjoyed the range of food we have on offer. I have taken the liberty to pass on your compliments to the entire team who was very pleased to hear these about them.
To tell you a bit about the rooms, the resort has four categories of rooms. The Bawa rooms, where stayed, are the ones from the original resort and what was added on to those rooms is the extension of the bathroom which is a semi open concept.
As mentioned rightly by you, this resort was earlier called the Blue Lagoon way back in 1965 and was mainly used by holiday makers as a gateway resort.
Have noted down your comments on the walk way cement slabs and we are actually in the process of making it a much smoother surface to walk on. Thank you for letting us know.
Once again may I thank you for choosing Jetwing lagoon, and we sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to this lovely serine resort in the near future.


Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
4.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 42 in Negombo
1,411 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 42 in Negombo
1,773 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lagoon

Property: Jetwing Lagoon
Address: Pamunugama Road, Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jetwing Lagoon, an architectural masterpiece designed by Geoffrey Bawa is an Ayurveda and Spa resort nestled beside the serene waters of the Negombo lagoon. The resort is gracefully decorated in hues of white and brown, featuring a glorious pool that boasts of being the longest in Sri Lanka’s west coast. Located between the Indian Ocean and the Negombo lagoon, Jetwing Lagoon offers a blend of rejuvenation and relaxation.Cuisine options include the Blue Lagoon restaurant and a unique restaurant called Geoffrey's Pavilion, offering Geoffrey Bawa's favourites. Further to the experience, Jetwing Lagoon’s deep respect and concern for the natural world is instilled through the many sustainable practices implemented at the resort to ensure minimum harm to the environment and community at large. Jetwing Lagoon is without doubt the finest spa resort by the Negombo Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing