We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jetwing Lagoon - Sri Lankan gem not to be missed”
Review of Jetwing Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jetwing Lagoon - Sri Lankan gem not to be missed”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

On arrival after a long journey from the UK. We were driven a short distance from the hotel reception to our room/ bungalow (no- 150).
The rooms are very spacious and contemporary with all the amenities you require. The semi outdoor bathroom is a equally spacious, complete with rain shower, traditional shower and large bath tub and all soaps, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion etc.
Initially, there was some confusion with our board basis (all inclusive), which the hotel does not usually do. I would point out that this appears to be the fault of our UK travel operator and not Jetwing Lagoon. Having recognised this the hotel management have gone out of their way to rectify this situation. They really have pushed the boat out and are making us feel like royalty (no exaggeration), from speaking to us several times a day to showering us with gifts. At this point I would like to make a special mention to the General Manager - Wester. He is a credit to Jetwing Lagoon and Jetwing company.
The staff are very attentitive and welcoming, whether pool, restaurant, reception or bar staff, nothing is too much for them.
Food - Breakfast is buffet style with a vast array to choose from. Lunch - midweek- is a three course ala carte menu of exceptional quality. Evening meal - is a four course ala carte menu which is equally impressive. When we booked a packed lunch for a day trip the head chef rang us personally to see what we would like in it, the "choice was ours".
The hotel restaurants have impressive views over Negombo Lagoon. The pool is an impressive 100m long. The newly opened fitness room is equipped with various machines to give anyone a good workout, and is awaiting more equipment. We are booked into the spa but have not used it.
I am writing this review whilst still at Jetwing Lagoon because I could not leave it until I got home.
I hope this is help to people considering Jetwing Lagoon - a new contemporary hotel not to be missed


Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_Sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I must thank you for taking your time out from your holiday and relaxation to write about the resort. We are very happy to learn that you are enjoying your stay, and we hope that you will take with you fond memories of your holiday spent at Jetwing Lagoon.

Thank you for your comments on the food, facilities and services, which I will not miss to share the entire team of the resort. They will be very delighted to hear about your feedback.

The swimming pool as a matter of fact is the longest straight pool in the western coast. We have been getting many impressive comments on this feature of the hotel as well as on the up and coming water sports activities which we conduct at the lagoon.

Once again, allow me to thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at the resort and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Jetwing lagoon.


Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    321
    63
    22
    11
See reviews for
269
425
45
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of the best hotels I've been to. Rooms are very spacious. The bath is open to sky- no air conditioning!!. Room is very well furnished. Rooms & linen very clean. Although you are in a Luxurious room you don't feel it as the theme is very close to nature. The swimming pool is very very long. The view of the lagoon is breath taking. Motorized boats & sails available for any one venturing out into the lagoon. Food excellent & the buffet has a very good spread including the dessert. Staff very courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acmemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking time to write your experience on your stay on Trip Advisor.
We noted that you have marveled the features and architecture of the rooms; this was in fact the first purpose built hotel constructed way back in 1965. Re-building of the resort took place in the year 2011, and we have restored as many original buildings as possible to keep in line with architect Geoffrey Bawa’s vision at that time.

The swimming pool is the longest straight pool in the western coast and it has become a popular feature of the resort.
Thank you for the kind words on the quality of food and the courtesy of the staff. I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to them.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Jetwing Lagoon.

Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the 1st we have stayed at Jetwing Lagoon & have been blown away with amazement. The rooms are very spacious and modern. The hotel itself is stunningly beautiful.
The staff is so attentive and helpful. Every single one of was happy and Smiling when serving. Their exceptional service made us to feel like home away home. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Special thanks to “Chanaka” & “Colin”. Quality of the facilities are well matched with high quality service standards.
The pool is humongous & extraordinary with well provided facilities around.
The setting is stunning although the beach isn’t there to enjoy. But we loved the change. Recommend boat excursions as they are quiet reasonably priced and worth a try. Spa seemed to be nice but wasn’t quiet affordable for a local.
The quality of the food and service is superb and good value for money. It’s a Sea food heaven!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with the lagoon view for sure..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chirath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your valuable time to write your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.
We were very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay at the resort. Thank you for the kinds words as they really show that you enjoyed your stay in all aspects.

I have passed on your compliments to the entire team of the resort with a special mention to Chanaka and Colin. Your thoughts and feelings on the resort not only shows us a true barometer of our performance but certainly motivates all of us in continuing to perform in keeping high service standards.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing lagoon, and we hope that we could welcome you back again for another enjoyable stay at the resort.

Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend and I took our two boys, 13 and 11 for her birthday lunch to the J Lagoon last Saturday. A Trainee Guest Relation office walked towards us, met us before we walked into the lobby and told us that the hotel was full and they could take us in. We poked our head inside and noted that the 100m pool was deserted and asked to meet a senior officer and was very reluctantly asked to sit for same though there was a manager sitting there right at the reception. We insisted to speak with this person, Chanaka who within two minutes cleared with the General Manager that we were allowed to come in, use the pool as well as the restaurant to utter joy of our two boys whose faces were downcast and were getting pretty upset by the minute.
Apart from Chanaka, we never met a single person who was helpful and our buffet tickets as well as the restaurant bills were all made wrong with taxes added twice. Apart from 15 other people, we never saw a single more guest arrive for the buffet lunch. We stayed near the restaurant till 3pm and were surprised to note that so much food was left over and they actually told us they had a full house! As family friends, the two of us travel with our boys to quite a few hotels an year and have never experienced such degrading service. I sure hope this is not the way these people treat the tourists as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vatsala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your time to write about your experience on the occasion of your visit to the resort.

First of all please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the team for the poor welcome you experienced. It is correct that the resort was booked out in term of rooms last Saturday night. However other facilities remained opened for visitors and this is purely a miscommunication from our end. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, as I have now been able to assess what is required to prevent such situation to reoccur in the future.

The resort front office executive Chanaka confirmed that he attended to your pool tickets, and I was glad to learn that thereafter the pool tickets were refunded back to you since you had lunch at the resort. The resort food and beverage manager, Sujeewa, remembers speaking to you at the restaurant but he might have failed to introduce himself at point of contact, something I have addressed with him.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback as not only it brings in a true barometer of our performance buts also helps us to further improve our level of service.

I would sincerely appreciate if you would give us another chance to show you the true Jetwing Lagoon hospitality and should you decide to come back to see us, please do contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you in any ways.

Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The best part about the resort is it's close proximity to the airport. The staff is excellent and enthusiastic.. and were very friendly and helpful with our son.
The check in and delivery of luggage to room was very smooth... and we requested for a bed for our son.. it was brought and set up very promptly.
The pool is great and very inviting.. we had a good time there... the view from the restaurant of the lagoon is just breathtaking..
I loved our room!!!... the rooms are very spacious and very very well furnished.. i love the open bathroom as well... one of the best rooms i have lived in.

The food was great... in room dining as well as the restaurant...
the food service was poor... somehow.. they took a long time for food... but on the other hand, the day we were leaving they packed and gave us the breakfast very sweetly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vaishali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write your experience with regards to your stay on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and thank you for your kind words with regards to the friendliness and enthusiasm that you experienced from our associates.

Your comment on the speed of service is well noted and serves us as a good reminder that we do need to keep our training and monitoring of our standards on going. Thank you for this constructive feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing this beautiful resort to spend your holiday and we hope to see you back again in the near future at Jetwing Lagoon.

Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Located a relarively short distance from the airport, this place is an ideal starting point. There is everything and more here to unwind after a long flight. The rooms are very spacious, bathrooms are gorgeous. 100 meter swimming pool is a wonder in itself. Mark Miusioun is an excellent driver/tour guide. His level of professionalism exceeded our expectations. I used his services for the local tours/airport transfers as well as a three day tour to the south. His English is impeccable, he has a wonderful personality, great manners, profound knowledge of surroundings. Will definitely use him again and would recommend him for country tours and driving around. Splendid experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write your experience about your stay on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel specially the rooms, bathrooms and the 100 meters long swimming pool.
Mark is one of our best chauffer guides in the transport fleet and we are very pleased with his performance. I will certainly pass on your compliments to him and this will go a long way in motivating him in his work.

Once again thank you for you kind comments and for choosing Jetwing lagoon to spend your holiday. Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is well situated away from the other hotels in Negombo. Finding the hotel was not easy due to poor sign posting.

The rooms were spacious and had some uniqueness with its remodelling. The food was excellent too with a variety of eastern and western dishes. The F & B staff were excellent and responsive.

However the Wi-Fi did not not work effectively.The pool was magnificent and well located.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay closer to the airport and a getaway to the cultural triangle.

Room Tip: Request for rooms on the left of the hotel facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing lagoon, and thank you for taking your valuable time to write about us on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and your comments on the room and the food quality are very much appreciated. You sentiment on the service of our associates is well noted and rest assured I will share it with the team.

Thank you for pointing out the signage issue and you will be pleased to learn that we have installed some directional signs couple of weeks ago and that we are in the process of adding more in strategic location.

WIFI is available in the entire resort but it is correct that from time to time we experience weak signal. We are working with the network provider to rectify the matter.

Once again, thank you for kind comments and constructive feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dickman Resort
Dickman Resort
#2 of 41 in Negombo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lagoon

Property: Jetwing Lagoon
Address: Pamunugama Road, Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jetwing Lagoon, an architectural masterpiece designed by Geoffrey Bawa is an Ayurveda and Spa resort nestled beside the serene waters of the Negombo lagoon. The resort is gracefully decorated in hues of white and brown, featuring a glorious pool that boasts of being the longest in Sri Lanka’s west coast. Located between the Indian Ocean and the Negombo lagoon, Jetwing Lagoon offers a blend of rejuvenation and relaxation.Cuisine options include the Blue Lagoon restaurant and a unique restaurant called Geoffrey's Pavilion, offering Geoffrey Bawa's favourites. Further to the experience, Jetwing Lagoon’s deep respect and concern for the natural world is instilled through the many sustainable practices implemented at the resort to ensure minimum harm to the environment and community at large. Jetwing Lagoon is without doubt the finest spa resort by the Negombo Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing