We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jetwing Lagoon
Nearby Hotels
Jetwing Beach(Negombo)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Blue(Negombo)
$121
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pledge 3(Negombo)
$104
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amagi Aria(Negombo)
$56
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jetwing Sea(Negombo)
$114
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Castle(Negombo)
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveler rating
673
379
72
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
379
72
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbawa roomoutdoor bathroommetre poollong poolsri lankageoffrey bawahuge poolflight pathamazing poolset menubeautiful hotelhuge roomlong flightfamily roomour honeymoonrestaurant staffa la carte menu
Filter
Updating list...
917 - 922 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend and I took our two boys, 13 and 11 for her birthday lunch to the J Lagoon last Saturday. A Trainee Guest Relation office walked towards us, met us before we walked into the lobby and told us that the hotel was full and they could take us in. We poked our head inside and noted that the 100m pool was deserted and asked to meet a senior officer and was very reluctantly asked to sit for same though there was a manager sitting there right at the reception. We insisted to speak with this person, Chanaka who within two minutes cleared with the General Manager that we were allowed to come in, use the pool as well as the restaurant to utter joy of our two boys whose faces were downcast and were getting pretty upset by the minute.
Apart from Chanaka, we never met a single person who was helpful and our buffet tickets as well as the restaurant bills were all made wrong with taxes added twice. Apart from 15 other people, we never saw a single more guest arrive for the buffet lunch. We stayed near the restaurant till 3pm and were surprised to note that so much food was left over and they actually told us they had a full house! As family friends, the two of us travel with our boys to quite a few hotels an year and have never experienced such degrading service. I sure hope this is not the way these people treat the tourists as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vatsala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking your time to write about your experience on the occasion of your visit to the resort.

First of all please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the team for the poor welcome you experienced. It is correct that the resort was booked out in term of rooms last Saturday night. However other facilities remained opened for visitors and this is purely a miscommunication from our end. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, as I have now been able to assess what is required to prevent such situation to reoccur in the future.

The resort front office executive Chanaka confirmed that he attended to your pool tickets, and I was glad to learn that thereafter the pool tickets were refunded back to you since you had lunch at the resort. The resort food and beverage manager, Sujeewa, remembers speaking to you at the restaurant but he might have failed to introduce himself at point of contact, something I have addressed with him.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback as not only it brings in a true barometer of our performance buts also helps us to further improve our level of service.

I would sincerely appreciate if you would give us another chance to show you the true Jetwing Lagoon hospitality and should you decide to come back to see us, please do contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you in any ways.

Sincerely,

Wester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The best part about the resort is it's close proximity to the airport. The staff is excellent and enthusiastic.. and were very friendly and helpful with our son.
The check in and delivery of luggage to room was very smooth... and we requested for a bed for our son.. it was brought and set up very promptly.
The pool is great and very inviting.. we had a good time there... the view from the restaurant of the lagoon is just breathtaking..
I loved our room!!!... the rooms are very spacious and very very well furnished.. i love the open bathroom as well... one of the best rooms i have lived in.

The food was great... in room dining as well as the restaurant...
the food service was poor... somehow.. they took a long time for food... but on the other hand, the day we were leaving they packed and gave us the breakfast very sweetly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vaishali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write your experience with regards to your stay on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and thank you for your kind words with regards to the friendliness and enthusiasm that you experienced from our associates.

Your comment on the speed of service is well noted and serves us as a good reminder that we do need to keep our training and monitoring of our standards on going. Thank you for this constructive feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing this beautiful resort to spend your holiday and we hope to see you back again in the near future at Jetwing Lagoon.

Sincerely,

Wester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Located a relarively short distance from the airport, this place is an ideal starting point. There is everything and more here to unwind after a long flight. The rooms are very spacious, bathrooms are gorgeous. 100 meter swimming pool is a wonder in itself. Mark Miusioun is an excellent driver/tour guide. His level of professionalism exceeded our expectations. I used his services for the local tours/airport transfers as well as a three day tour to the south. His English is impeccable, he has a wonderful personality, great manners, profound knowledge of surroundings. Will definitely use him again and would recommend him for country tours and driving around. Splendid experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write your experience about your stay on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel specially the rooms, bathrooms and the 100 meters long swimming pool.
Mark is one of our best chauffer guides in the transport fleet and we are very pleased with his performance. I will certainly pass on your compliments to him and this will go a long way in motivating him in his work.

Once again thank you for you kind comments and for choosing Jetwing lagoon to spend your holiday. Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is well situated away from the other hotels in Negombo. Finding the hotel was not easy due to poor sign posting.

The rooms were spacious and had some uniqueness with its remodelling. The food was excellent too with a variety of eastern and western dishes. The F & B staff were excellent and responsive.

However the Wi-Fi did not not work effectively.The pool was magnificent and well located.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay closer to the airport and a getaway to the cultural triangle.

Room Tip: Request for rooms on the left of the hotel facing the lagoon.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing lagoon, and thank you for taking your valuable time to write about us on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and your comments on the room and the food quality are very much appreciated. You sentiment on the service of our associates is well noted and rest assured I will share it with the team.

Thank you for pointing out the signage issue and you will be pleased to learn that we have installed some directional signs couple of weeks ago and that we are in the process of adding more in strategic location.

WIFI is available in the entire resort but it is correct that from time to time we experience weak signal. We are working with the network provider to rectify the matter.

Once again, thank you for kind comments and constructive feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My sister and I had spent 10 days at the Jetwing Lagoon during our travel through Sri Lanka's tea regions. We chose Jetwing Lagoon for it's proximity to the places we needed to visit and for what it offered compared to other hotels. Being in the food & beverage industry for 26 years (13 of which was at a 5 star hotel in NYC), I can say that this property is truly a gem!

We had arrived after a trip through South India and felt so welcomed the moment we stepped up to reception. We were greeted by a very friendly staff with fresh watermelon juice and shown to our very spacious room. As soon as we entered, I knew a bath was first on list of things to do after lunch after seeing the beautiful soaking tub in the semi-outdoor bathroom complete with bath salts and lemon scented bath foam (yes, we are spa goers and notice these details!). We were also happy to see very nice bedding, robes, slippers and all the ameneties one could ask for including a fresh coffee press and a selections of teas.

We weren't feeling all that great after India... the spices altitude really got to us. When we sat for lunch and explained to our very attentive waiter (Nimesh) that we could not tolerate any spice and wanted something simple, he spoke to the chef. From that meal on, the kitchen had prepared special meals for us. The food was delicious! I found out later that executive chef Leon and his assistant Danuschke are quite accomplished chefs having worked at some of the most exclusive properties in the world. They treated us like family and even packed outgoing meals for our trips to the tea plantations and day outings as we were worried about the food on the road.

Coming back from our 3 day plantation tour, we were so traumatized by the road conditions that we had decided to split with our group (who was taking another dangerous route to yet another plantation) and head back from Nuwara Eliya to Negombo on our own. We had stopped at the Jetwing St. Andrew's to arrange for a driver, had a great breakfast and headed back through Kandi stopping to see some sights along the way. We were surprised to learn that Jetwing St. Andrew's had communicated with Jetwing Lagoon who contacted the driver when they thought enough time had passed and we should've already been back. How comforting to know that someone was watching out for us! As soon as we pulled up, our luggage (which they were nice enough to store for us during our road trip) was quickly retrieved and we walked in to our room to find a "welcome back" chocolate cake waiting for us. Needless to say, this really hit the spot after a rough trip through the mountains... we ate the whole cake!

We made full use of the great services offered at the spa (heavenly!) and took total advantage of our time at the pool (which happens to be the largest in Sril Lanka). By the end of the trip, we were really sad to leave. We felt as though this was our home away from home as the entire staff at this point knew our names, likes and dislikes and took exceptional care of us. I would highly recommend this hotel on every level. Our stay was during the soft opening and there were still a couple of minor details that need consideration including updating the credit card and payment system (they need to swipe upon check out which takes some time) and possibly adding a small kiosk where one could purchase additional necessities outside of all the amenities they offer on property.

This is the ideal resort in Negombo and surrounding areas! Thank you, thank you Jetwing for helping to make our trip to Sri Lanka so special... we will definitely be visiting again!!

Robin M.

Room Tip: Of course overlooking the lagoon is beautiful! As we had 2 different rooms during our stay, I have to say it really doesn't matter whether your view is the lily pond, the lagoon or even the pool as the entire property is perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and many thanks for taking the time to write your experience about your stay on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were certainly very pleased to learn that you and your sister did enjoy your ten day stay with us. Thank you for all your kind words covering in details the various areas of the hotel and we noted with pleasure that you noticed some of the small touches we add to our facilities to enhance our guest’s experience. This is very much appreciated.

I will certainly pass on all your compliments to all the associates of the hotel and specially to those whom you have mentioned in your review.

Thank you for pointing out the payment method as well as the lack of gift shop and you might be pleased to learn that we are indeed in the process of having such a shop in operation early November.

Once again on behalf of Jetwing Lagoon associates, we thank you for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday and we hope to see you back in Sri Lanka and at the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews