We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Dickman Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dickman Resort
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Dickman Resort, before leaving a six week holiday in Sri Lanka. We loved the resort and staff so much we rarely left its walls. The staff and Dick himself are very friendly and giving people, catering for your every need with be warmest smiles and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are great, very comfortable and the atmosphere in the resort is relaxing, the pool superb. I highly recommend this place, it is unique and we hope to return many times. Thank you to all the wonderful Dickman Staff, we will never forget the great time we shared with you.

Room Tip: Blue room up stairs, with balcony over looking the pool or purple room looking on to the pool , we t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 234 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

Outstanding resort, with lovely spacious gardens, and excellent swimming pool. All rooms are well furnished, and cleaner than most top hotels. Dick and the staff there are 12 for 7 rooms make your stay unforgettable. The only exclusive gay place, others claim to be but are not. Don't miss this gem if you visit this island

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank btonboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed a few times now and have never been disappointed.
A quietly located GAY bed & breakfast establishment.
Location: 15-20mins from the airport, they'll pick you up/drop you off, down a lane off the main Poruthota Road in Negombo. The lane is unmade and some problems can occur when it rains.
Welcome: Excellent by the owner and all staff, including drink.
Rooms: Huge, with floor to ceiling glass wall and aircon.
Food: Breakfast is excellent - particularly the fruit plate. It is possible to order an evewning meal but it does mean eating around 6.00pm.
Facilities: Inhouse - Swimming pool is excellent, wifi and laundry available for a small fee - though check payment detail as some things can be inclusive. Trips can be arranged.
Electricity: Sri Lanka can have power outages, there is an onsite generator but don't expect the internet!!!
Outside - the beach is a short walk away, a varied choice of restaurants and bars
Night life: This is not Thailand or Gran Canaria!
I have always found the staff, friendly and accommodating. The owner, Dick, lives on site and keeps a strict control on his staff and on who can/cannot come in. His policies have maintained a very high standard.
Overall, if you're looking for a quiet holiday location then this is probably ideal!

Room Tip: All are of a similar quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Agingracelessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, General Manager at Dickman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjørg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, General Manager at Dickman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Wiezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, Manager at Dickman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Christoph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D, General Manager at Dickman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 44 in Negombo
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 44 in Negombo
709 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 44 in Negombo
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 44 in Negombo
1,915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#6 of 44 in Negombo
1,604 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickman Resort

Address: 26/7 Poruthata Road | AK. Schnakenberg, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: $115 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15 minutes drive from Colombo International Airport, a short stroll to the beach and boulevard, makes it the perfect retreat in the heart of the bustling Negombo Strip. This Adult Only private paradise features Nine exclusive and well-appointed rooms and suites around a charming Mango Garden and Eco swimming pool.Negombo is known for its tropical climate, wide beaches and fresh breeze, quality dining options and nightlife, which makes it the perfect place for a peaceful and relaxing dream holiday. You certainly will make new friends in the affordable luxury of "Adult Only Hotel" Dickman Resort in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dickman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing