We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms and location, staff almost non existent”
Review of Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angel Inn
Ranked #17 of 269 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This place was nice. The room was clean and spacious, and close to the beach and shops. Nothing negative to say but the staff were never available. They said they had breakfast available, but we were never offered, nor was anyone around to ask. They also claim to offer tours and drivers, etc but as noone is ever around to inquire, that service was not so useful. When we checked out they asked us where we were going and how we were getting there, ad when we said we had booked a tour through the pancake house they seemed upset we didn't book with them. Well, maybe if you had been available during our stay?
Good rooms, bad service.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrstobydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Modern, spacious and clean rooms with or without AC. Pillows were a bit smelly. Bathroom with hot water and shower with pressure. 100 m to the beach. Owner very friendly. Our flight was late at night. We could have a shower before leaving. Good service.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seiferts_Rhoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days on start of trip and liked it (and Negombo) so much we came back for a night on the way back. It's very close to the beach, ultra clean and fresh, simple, but it works.

If you need a good sized clean room, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It was my best hotel during my trip on the island. I stayed in it for 2 nights. The room and bathroom unit are spacious and clean. They really look like a picture. The staff is friendly and helpful, but I didn't use any additional services. Yes, breakfast at the hotel was out, but it's not a problem. Some good restaurants are nearby. The hotel is located 100 meters from a busy road with shops, cafes, other hotels and minihotels, but in a quiet street. The distance to the sea is also 100 meters. Nevertheless I can't recommend Negombo beach. It's very dirty, so I refused the Idea to swim there.
The hotel has a website.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days at the begining of my trip to Sri Lanka.I only planned on staying 5 days but Angel inn is very comfortable and Marcus the owner is very interesting to sit and talk to !
Wi fi is free and very good.
They don`t do breakfast but there are plenty of places just 5 minutes away that do.
The beds are very comfortable and are actually Ikea as Marcus` wife is Swedish.
Marcus is very knowledgeable about bus times and trains etc.
Book in advance as he is always busy.
He`s in the process of adding another 4 or 5 rooms.
Excellent value for money in Negombo.
Only 2 minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a guesthouse with a difference. Marcus, the owner, has travelled and knows what visitors want: cleanlyness, new airy rooms and bathrooms where everything works. All at a good price ($25 fan, $35 AC). 100 meters off the busy road, it is quiet and a good beach is 100 meters the other direction. Marcus was a tour guide before so is knowledgeable and helpful but does not try to sell you anything. He has 6 rooms (and currently is adding more) all is usually full so best to book ahead- calling his mobile is best.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kikoenmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights. Rooms are spacious and clean. Good bed, you do not often get a real matress but here you do! Hot shower and fan or A/C, free Wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.2 mi away
The Breeze Residence
The Breeze Residence
#27 of 44 in Negombo
36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 269 in Negombo
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suriya Arana
Suriya Arana
#12 of 269 in Negombo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel J
Hotel J
#25 of 269 in Negombo
487 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#11 of 269 in Negombo
127 reviews
1 mi away
Serendib Guest House
Serendib Guest House
#8 of 269 in Negombo
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Inn

Address: 189 Lewis Pl, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $28 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have clean and comfortable rooms for an affordable price with lots of facilities. Not only rooms we have open areas for enjoying your stay with some surrounding. Most of the rooms have balconies with sitting areas. Negombo have one of most attractive beach in Sri Lanka. It's just 30m to the beach from the hotel. Our staff is friendly and so helpful. You can have all the information from our help desk and we can also arrange tours for you. We have our own vehicle fleet and the owner of Angel Inn knows so much about the country. With his experiences our tour operating team can provide you a best service which you ever experienced. We have one day excursions as well as round tours. Tours can be arranged with your requirement and we're happy to assist you to make your vacation an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing