We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse with great food!”
Review of Seahouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seahouse
Ranked #63 of 258 Negombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are returning guests, since we liked it so much here on our first stay. The perfect place after arriving or before leaving from the airport. Clean, simple rooms, direct beach access, lovely crew and a very friendly owner make this place special.
Oh and make sure to try the tacos, they are just delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister_Zed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Simple, clean place right by the beach. The owner, Shanaka, is a cool guy who goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable. Rooms/ bathrooms are in good order. Some simple plastic beach chairs out back would top off the place. Great spot for a first or last night in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali-ahmed-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A small Guest house, in the front of the sea. The owner Shanaka take care of is client as it was is family and he is the cook and he know how to bring flavor to a dish very well. The room are clean and small but it is a place to hang out for coming in and out of the islands it not important. A good place in the shadow of the sun to get acclimate to this warm weather for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normand Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at seahouse for a week when I first arrived in Sri Lanka, and now I've come back for another week or so before I leave.

There are 3 rooms in an old fisherman's house (check out the huge hole in the kitchen floor where the fisherman used to keep his nets!), and the house is very solidly built so the rooms are very quiet. There are 3 rooms, all simply furnished but with some nice touches. The beds have posts with a nice quality mosquito net over the posts, which I find a lot more comfortable and easier to manage than the mosquito nets that are just attached to a single point in the ceiling and tend to drape all over me in the night. There is a little bedside table and also a clothes rack in the room, which is useful, and the fan works well and seems to cool the room down quickly.

The bathroom is nice and clean, with new tiling (I think). It's a cold water shower, but the pressure is OK.

The guys who run this place are lovely - so, so helpful and friendly. They cook fresh fish every night and it is delish.

This is definitely a backpacker kind of place - if you are used to hotels it might not suit you - but at the backpacker level of accommodation it is excellent. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I think the room I am in, which is the middle room, is probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friend and I spent in the guest house in the last days of our trip in Sri Lanka.
The room is simple and the price is fair for the room.
The owner is a very friendly man who can help you relax in the guest house.
We had a great time and will come back again in the future!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naluhiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Very nice place to arrive to after a long trip. Shanaka will come and pick you up and take you to its very relaxing guest house sitting on the beach.
He will cook for your excellent dinners with the freshest ingredients,all found from the local market, unfortunately for us, the fishermen were on strike so no fish on the menu, but very good shrimps instead.

If you are lucky, you might be able to attend an improvised concert/party with shanaka's friends.

I really recommend this place for all budget traveller that still want a good confort, they will not be disappointed.
Thhank you Beni, for this address and the chat there late in the night !!

Room Tip: The front room at the front is nice and spacious, but you can hear a bit the road which is at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poujouloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Basic guesthouse, well allocated on the beach where for sure you will find the most helpful and frienly guy in town.
At the end are the owners and Not the forniture who makes you have a better o worts stay in any place.
Great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locadeatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.0 mi away
Manik Home Stay
Manik Home Stay
#32 of 258 in Negombo
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Negombo Villa 7
Negombo Villa 7
#29 of 258 in Negombo
58 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#12 of 258 in Negombo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seetha's Hostel
Seetha's Hostel
#12 of 231 in Negombo
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
House of Dilly
House of Dilly
#43 of 258 in Negombo
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#21 of 258 in Negombo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahouse

Address: 121/2 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $12 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RATES: double room rate (no A/C, with fan, one double-sized bed for 2 persons) Rs.2000-Rs.2500/room Location: 121/2 Lewis Place Negombo, Sri Lanka Owner: Shanaka We will do our best to make your accommodation comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seahouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing