We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out and feel at home...”
Review of Gomez Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gomez Place
Ranked #18 of 272 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As a first time visitor to Gomez place, I can not recommend it enough. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bathrooms are huge and mine included a small outdoor shower area.

Breakfast is served at any time of the day and is amazing value, includes a fruit plate, toast and eggs, juice and coffee. The staff can also rustle you up a sandwich or order in food from some very good take away shops that they pick up and serve to you within 20 minutes. You have cold beer and soft drinks stocked in the fridge in your room and these priced at only slightly more than the supermarket.

The staff are amazing. They are helpful, kind and efficient. They can help you with anything you need, from a problem with your room to arranging transport for a trip. They work very hard and are grateful of a small tip should you offer it, but never expect anything from you.

Gomez is a great guy and is available every day to ask questions or get information from. He changes currency at the best rate that I found anywhere. He organised a 3 day trip for me to the South of the Island with a private car, driver and guide for a very good price. He asks you every day if everything is OK or if you need anything.

Overall for 30 Euro a night, I am very impressed with the standard of the place. I would love to stay again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Room 8 and 9 have outdoor shower rooms. The upstairs rooms are probably the quietest. Room 7 is righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roamingarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 176 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Coming to Gomez Place already many years and love to come back again every time :) Now the new rooms are finished, great style and the new rooms number 12+14 on the first floor of the new building have an almost private huge terrace. The staff is great and always smiling. A great place for gays and their friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

It is difficult for me to write a review about this gay guesthouse. I have stayed a few nights in Negombo because of its location, close to the airport. I also wanted to try a gay accomodation once in my life. Negombo to me is nothing special, busy, no nice environment, not as friendly as the Southwest coastal area. The ocean is brown or grey, hotels and bars popular with average mostly English tourists, who could have well spent their time in Spain. I really did not like Negombo as it has no exotic flair. It is not the beautiful Sri Lanka, rather practical Sri Lanka due to its location. People are also less friendly then more to the south.
The guesthouse was when I was there only frequented by gay people, some of them quite old and staying on a long term. They went from Thailand to Sri Lanka and back. That said one can imagine the kind of people to dinf here: a 70 year old fat man lying at the pool area caressing a very tiny handsome and sweet 18 year old Sri Lankan boy. It is maybe standard in Thailand but I always assumed Sri Lanka was still like an unspoilt gem, with no such tourists visiting the country. I was wrong. Until now though it is only possible in Negombo and hope it will not spread out further to the south. Staff were friendly, but more friendly to the repeaters and long term stayers. I had a standard room of a good size and clean, nothing fancy but had a wonderful sleep. Small pool is nice but always overlooked by other men looking for something ? I would never stay there if I would be straight or have kids....
Food was only available for breakfast otherwise staff would go to the Cinese take-out for you. I forgot my expensive swimming shorts in the room and when I came back a few weeks later they said they have found them but they thought I did not need it anymore and have it sold. ALthough they knew I was coming back later. So all in all a very mixed feeling and me especially being shocked of such a place in my beloved Sri Lanka. Opposite is the more expensive but very nice Dickman Resort, which is more private, luxurious and beautifully decorated with nice staff. Your choice, gay and on a budget then you take Gomez Place, if you have more to spend defenitely stay at Dickman Resort. If you do not like the view of sex tourists in Sri Lanka then don't visit these places and stay in the South, where the ocean is blue or green, beaches are exotic, nature is very beautiful and nice men wander around looking for honest friendships or love.

Room Tip: newer design rooms at the back of the small resort are more expensive. At the courtyard always busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
56  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was basic but adequate for a night. It was noisy as it opened off the courtyard. The towels were thin and old.
The staff were friendly and helpful if you could find anyone. It was all gay couples so we felt rather out of place. I wouldn't recommend it for a family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
52  Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

well,to start with-harry is innocent-it must have been his uncle eugene who bewitched this once lovely place-LOL
i will assume good intentions,but in the end its badly misfired.
the new constructed rooms have NO windows and to made matters worse-
the bathrooms are open on the roof,which leeds to a big mosquite-menace there !!!
so everytime you have to go to bathroom-you better hurry!its not only hot,but the mosquitoes
are after your blood !!!
maybe the architect comes from seattle,too-it isn't hot there and very few mosquitoes,too
but in a tropical climate such a construction is just foolish!!!
ok,one may try to book one of the old rooms,but even there the fun is very limited now!!
in order to fill all the new rooms,too,mr gomez takes now straight couples,families with kids,
anyone who pays
might be nice people,but in the few days they stay,they are looking puzzled at the few-
still coming regulars,while many of them already stay away!!!
once-one felt like at a family-place---
now its like staying in the waitingroom of a railway station !!!
gomezplace is not good anymore!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
76  Thank karl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My first trip to Sri Lanka was a nice trip. I arrived very late in Colombo Airport and got a pick-up at the airport as requested. Only 20 min. later I was at Gomezplace. I got a warm welcome by the smiling staff and help with my luggage. The room was clean and beautiful flower knobs had been spread all over the bed. Next morning my table, in front of my room in the garden, had been prepared for breakfast. I got a lovely omelette, with fresh coffe, mango juice (freshly pressed), toast and fresh fruit. The staff was very helpful, I got good advice and suggestions for my tours to see the beautiful country. I went around Negombo in a Tuk-tuk, got helpt to arrange a tour to Colombo and all the way to Kandy with a nice and helpful, English speaking driver. The swimming pool is clean and nice, the garden is beautiful and the location is excellent, only 5 min. walk from the main road with lots of restaurants, bars, all kinds of shops, ATM and tourist boutiques. I was there only for 5 days, but next time I will definitely stay longer. Thank you!
Gun.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

friendly, direct, spacious...good value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloandPhille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0 mi away
Dickman Resort
Dickman Resort
#1 of 43 in Negombo
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 43 in Negombo
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Amagi Aria
Amagi Aria
#16 of 43 in Negombo
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 43 in Negombo
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomez Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomez Place

Address: 22/6B, Poruthota Road | Ettukala, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: $57 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gomez Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gomez Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing