We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude waiters”

Serendib Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 167 Restaurants in Negombo
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“rude waiters”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

large venue with excellent music (Gorgeous DJ), service from most of the staff was good though we had a very rude guy who insisted on telling my local guests what they should eat, we only wanted snacks with our drinks but he wanted us to order the lobster!!!. Prices are very reasonable. Be aware of hangers-on and rude staff!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank InternationalAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendib1505, Public Relations Manager at Serendib Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that your visit to our restaurant was not entirely to your satisfaction. We always strive to give our best service to all our customers. We will discuss your comments with our staff and should you return to Serendib in the future we hope your experience would be more satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    183
    72
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromma, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good sea food !”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I picked this place for its previous ratings. It lived up to the reputation and served excellent sea food with a little unstructured service. But the will to serve was indeed precent all the time ! The lobster was great !

Helpful?
Thank Joachim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendib1505, Public Relations Manager at Serendib Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Among all the restaurants at Negombo's seafront claiming to serve fresh seafood, our dinner last night was the best we'we had. The crabs were simply gorgeous: absolutely fresh and grilled to perfection, with a delicious garlic sauce. For 900 Rs., it was a treat. Nice dry white wine and a friendly service right on the beach made it a perfect evening.

Helpful?
Thank LarsSipila
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
negombo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heaven on a stick.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This restaurant always comes up with the goods.The food is good ,the staff are extremely friendly like you have known them for years.Sujit the Manager keeps everyone on their toes to ensure cleanliness and efficient service.
If you want to dance the nite away you can, if you want a cosy evening with a loved one or friends the outside garden area is ideal and it is on the beach side. Cocktails or Mocktails are whipped up by Rumesh the international head barman, there is no drink he does not know.
All in all it is a worth while visit,if you are on your own they go out of their way to make you feel at home which is a big bonus to the solo traveller.
I wish them every success and it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kilted123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place for a night out”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Serendib is well located in the centre of Ettukala, Negombo. There is outside dining in the beach/garden area at the back, street-side drinking area at the front and in the middle- wow! The exotic barman Rumesh will mix you one of his exotic cocktails! the Disco lights and music will keep you entertained and there`s always a crowd of locals and tourists ready to rock the night away on the dance floor. The food is good, the staff are efficient and friendly, prices are average and the atmosphere is generally good. Ideally there is something to appeal to everyone, though at times, if the volume control isnt checked, extremely loud music can inhibit conversation. I`d certainly recommend Serendib for a good night out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendib Restaurant also viewed

Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 

Been to Serendib Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing