We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed just the one night before hitting the Golden Triangle . Only 20mins from airport so a plus , on first glance looks a bit soulless and unloved BUT the rooms are a delight , Large and Very well equipped . The staff are Charming and nothing is too much trouble , we ate in the hotel, whilst the food was not exceptional it was well cooked and served with a smile . Breakfast was great
Would stay here again !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 312 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is in a backstreet in Negombo.
Only a 20 minutes’ drive from the airport.
We had a room In the front building with a small kitchen. Nice room with efficient bathroom.
Clean rooms.
The hotel has a large swimming pool.
We dined in the hotel and the food was OK.
The breakfast was OK but only one cup of coffee was offered and I need a few to wake up.
Good hotel for one night if you are on an early flight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of our holiday in Sri Lanka. The hotel is perfectly situated near the beach and the main street of Negombo. Many shops and restaurants are nearby. The hotel has a trendy and cosy atmosphere. Our room was very clean, nicely decorated and with a brand new bathroom. Room was spacious. Breakfast was good. Staff delivered great service and are always happy to help you. Nice pool in between the room building and the reception area. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have only ever been a guest of the restaurant at Lachlan Hotel. But since it has opened my Sri Lankan family and I have eaten there about 100 times. And we have always enjoyed our meals there. It is always well presented,the washrooms and pool area are clean and the staff always polite and courteous. I do not drink alcohol so my bill is often modest yet Ive always received top service. The location is very convenient and you can eat indoors or out. I must recommend the Alaska Bombe or Chocolate brownies for dessert as well as the fish,crab dishs and the hamburgers/steak sandwich.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here on the first night or or Sril Lankan tour. The hotel is located down a bit of a scruffy little road in Negombo (there are far nicer places to visit in Sri Lanka but it is convenient for a bit of rest before or after a long flight). The room was nice, it could just have done with a lick of paint and a bit of TLC but was fine for our one night stay. The best part of the hotel is the Bar and Restaurant, we had a a few drinks as the sun set in the bar and a lovely curry in the restaurant which was very reasonably priced. Overall it is a nice little hotel but I would not really bother visiting Negombo again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A cosy boutiqe hotel next to the main road in Negombo.
Easy to find when you arrive and a smart stop the last night before your flight back home. Friendly and serviceminded staff allways trying to help you.
Located only thirty minutes taxidrive from The Bandaranaike Airport, few minutes from shopping and restaurants and the beach.
Nice and clean with charming service and good food. A small clean pool in the backyard with no wind, but some mosqitos. (Use mosqito protection here and everywhere in Sri Lanka!)
The chef is proud of his rear tunafish and we love it. Ask for the catch of the day or wait till next dinner.
The Wifi is ok and the rooms give you value for money. Sleep nice.
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites has a smile and a slow motion atmosphere, so do not rush or plan a thight scedule when you stay. Remeber you are on a holliday in Sri Lanka and enjoy.
Travellfalcon


Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Lars F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I personally don't like Negombo, but it's a good stop before or after your long flight to Sri Lanka, as it's very close to CMB airport. St Lachlan is small but nicely styled, set a block back from the beach, but with its own pool area. Restaurant is perfectly good for lunch, but you might prefer to eat out for dinner if you wanted something fancier. But it's incredibly good value to eat here.
Rooms are pleasant, but our curtains had to remain closed all the time to ensure privacy.

Room Tip: Not sure about that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
3.5 mi away
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
#14 of 44 in Negombo
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 44 in Negombo
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#16 of 44 in Negombo
1,126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#21 of 44 in Negombo
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites

Address: No 25 St, Anthony's Lane | Off Lewis Place, Poruthota Road, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: $44 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lachlan Hotel & Suites a small luxury boutique hotel with 16 rooms (6 Suites & 10 Deluxe) and all other facilities, located in Negombo Sri Lanka, 14Km away from the Bandaranayke International Airport have been serving tourists with excellent essential guest facilities for the last 5 years. We hold excellent comment from many guests during this period, concerning our service to them. We also have been awarded a certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor from the year 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lachlan Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing