We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, good restaurant and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great room, good restaurant and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

As this was our first night, following the flight from UK, we were not expecting anything other than a decent place to sleep but were pleasantly surprised! Upon arrival we were shown to a first floor suite (bedroom, luxury bathroom, kitchenette/lounge and balcony) which was beautifully clean and well furnished. Towel "swans" on the bed were a lovely touch.
The restaurant offerred a wide choice of Asian and European food and our choices were well presented, generous and good quality. very good service from the waiters and even a "how is everything" from the hotel manager during the meal. Breakfast the following morning was equally good.
This is an excellent place to stay upon arrival/before departure and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    119
    57
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
138
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for one night after an overnight flight - just to get our Sri Lanka bearings. So it was just meant to be a place to crash. It turned out to be great place to stay. Its small and friendly, the rooms are comfortable. The pool is pleasant and the situation just a few steps back from the main road means its quiet but with restaurants and bars to hand. The biggest surprise was the food. The fish curry and dal was maybe the best we had in 2 weeks and the English breakfast was excellent. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is our second year we have stayed at St Lachlan, the main reason being its closeness to the airport post early morning arrivals. As per last year its a pleasure to stay here in the comfortable, clean rooms, the staff cannot do enough for you and especially the kids, ours were often in the kitchen with the larger than life chef who they loved, especially his baked Alaska !! No hesitation in recommending this hotel. Real family atmosphere with staff who care.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We decided to spend our final two nights in Sri Lanka on the beach at Negombo and wasnted to splash out a little bit on a nice hotel. We were so impressed with St Lachlan. The standard room was perfect - spacious with super-comfortable bed and nice new bathrooom. The rain shower in particular was a treat. The location is excellent - just one minute walk from the centre of the main road along Negombo beach. There are plenty of good restaurants and bars within 5-10 minutes walk and the beach is about 5 minutes walk away as well. Breakfast was excellent - not a buffet but a decent choice of top quality, freshly-cooked food that was all very good. The pool was nice - a little small, but it's a small boutique hotel so that's understandable. But perhaps the best thing about the hotel is the staff, who were so friendly, professional and helpful. We really enjoyed this hotel and we felt it was absolutely worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidOg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our last night in Sri Lanka and this was the perfect place to stay. Great location for one last sight of the Indian ocean. Excellent restaurant - the food was some of the best we had had and the prices reasonable, if more expensive that inland. They organised transfer to the airport which is less than 15 mins away. Ideal but perhaps a bit limited for more than a night or two

Room Tip: the rooms in the main block are excellent but don't ignore the small suites in the reception bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found the location great, with restaurants just outside on the main street.

Room was quite large and comfortable. Complex was kept nice and clean and service was good.

We ate at the hotel and food was good. The chef also catered for a special request for dinner, which was good to see. Breakfast was okay as well, however not much of in terms of options.

Would definetly recommend as a place to stay a night or two if you're in Negombo.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeautifulMind000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have just completed my stay at the St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites. I could not ask for better service. Outstanding, friendly staff. Very accomodating. The restaurant cusine was outstanding. The rooms were clean and very nicely kept. The pool was crysal clear. Short walk to the beach. Highly recommend. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites

Property: St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
Address: No 25 St, Anthony's Lane | Off Lewis Place, Poruthota Road, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lachlan Hotel & Suites a small luxury boutique hotel with 16 rooms (6 Suites & 10 Deluxe) and all other facilities, located in Negombo Sri Lanka, 14Km away from the Bandaranayke International Airport have been serving tourists with excellent essential guest facilities for the last 5 years. We hold excellent comment from many guests during this period, concerning our service to them. We also have been awarded a certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor from the year 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lachlan Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing